

MICHIGAN NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR LICENSING GUIDE

- 1. How the Profession Is Organized in Michigan
- 2. Eligibility for Licensing
- 3. Tests
- 4. Time and Costs
- 5. Other Careers and Credentials
- 6. Beyond Licensing
- 7. Important Links

1. HOW THE PROFESSION IS ORGANIZED IN MICHIGAN

OVERVIEW

This guide looks at things that you as a foreign-educated nursing home administrator must do to become eligible for licensing as a nursing home administrator in Michigan. At the same time, it includes some background and tips to give you an idea of the variety of opportunities available as you work to rebuild your career.

REGULATION OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS IN MICHIGAN

As a nursing home administrator, you must be licensed to practice in the State of Michigan. The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) regulates the profession. They give Michigan licenses to first time licensees and to nursing home administrators who are eligible to practice in other states (by endorsement).

The National (NHA) and the Michigan (State-Based) examinations developed and scored by the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB) are the qualifying examinations for a Michigan nursing home administrator license. However, this is the last step in a longer process of education and experience international nursing home administrators must complete to practice in the state.

This guide assumes you are an international nursing home administrator who is beginning to build your career in the U.S. Therefore, the guide will include steps that come before the final state licensing process, including: education, exams, and work experience.

Updated 10/21/2016



2. ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING

This section explains important steps you must complete before you can be licensed as a nursing home administrator in Michigan. The steps to licensing are as follows:

- I. Complete a course of instruction and training accredited by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) that includes a minimum of 9 semester credits or 144 clock hours of instruction. The instruction provided must include all of the following subjects:
 - (i) Administrative management of a nursing home.
 - (ii) Human resources or personnel management in a nursing home.
 - (iii) Financial management of a nursing home.
 - (iv) State and federal laws governing the operation of a nursing home and the protection of patients in a nursing home.
 - (v) Gerontology or the aging process.
 - (vi) Patient care.
 - (vii) Services provided in a nursing home.
 - (viii) Infection control.
 - (ix) Environmental issues.
 - (x) Emergency preparedness.

In lieu of completing a course of instruction and training as described, you must have been employed as a chief executive or administrative officer at a state licensed hospital for not less than 5 of the 7 years immediately preceding the date of applying for a nursing home administrator license.

II. Apply for a Michigan Nursing Home Administrator License

Once you have completed Step I, you may apply for a Michigan Nursing Home Administrator license

(http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Nursing_Home_Admin_Endorsement_485343_7.pdf)

Fees: \$75.75



The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs determines exam eligibility. Once you have met the requirements for examination, you will be sent information about how to register online to take the examinations.

III. Successfully pass the National (NHA) and the Michigan (State-Based) examinations developed and scored by the <u>National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards</u> (NAB).

The National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards administers the NHA Examination for Nursing Home Administrators and the Michigan (State-Based) examinations http://www.nabweb.org/nha-exam.

3. TESTS

Michigan requires the National (NHA) and the Michigan (State-Based) examinations to become a licensed Nursing Home Administrator. It does not require additional tests.

NHA EXAMINATION FOR NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

The examination covers five subject areas listed below. These areas as well as the percentage of questions per area are determined using a job analysis study. The goal of the study is to determine the daily tasks of the administrator.

- Resident Centered Care and Quality of Life (38%)
- Human Resources (13%)
- Finance (13%)
- Environment (15%)
- Leadership & Management (21%)

There are a total of 150 questions on the examination, which are broken down as follows:

- Resident Centered Care and Quality of Life (57 questions)
- Human Resources (20 questions)
- Finance (19 questions)
- Environment (22 questions)
- Leadership & Management (32 questions)

Fees: \$375

Updated 10/21/2016



Your main point of contact for exams will be the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB)

4. TIME AND COSTS

Successful licensing as a Nursing Home Administrator in Michigan depends on many factors. Just some of these include:

- The completeness of your educational and professional records
- Your performance on tests

We provide two sample scenarios below to show some outcomes that immigrant professionals may experience when they seek a Nursing Home Administrator license in Michigan. Please do not consider them as minimum or maximum scenarios, only as two reference points out of many. Your experience will vary.

Two Hypothetical Scenarios for Nursing Home Administrator Licensing:

Step	More Efficient Scenario Approximate Time and Cost	Less Efficient Scenario Approximate Time and Cost
1. Education	 Your foreign credentials are well-organized and in English. You complete all program requirements and are made eligible for the examinations. 1 year + \$1,500 	 Problems with your documentation incur increased costs including visitation to your educational institute and translating documentation. 2 years + \$3,000
2. Exams	 You apply with NAB and pass your exams on your first attempt 9 months + \$575 	 You apply with NAB and fail your exams on your first attempt. You reapply and pass your exams on your second attempt. 1½ years + \$1,150
3.NHA License by Exam	 Your application is completed and supporting documentation is in order. You undergo the Criminal Background Check 	Your application is incomplete and supporting documentation is not in order. You had your exam scores sent to the wrong licensing jurisdiction and have to pay for an

Updated 10/21/2016



Step	More Efficient Scenario Approximate Time and Cost	Less Efficient Scenario Approximate Time and Cost
Application + CBC	immediately after receiving instructions to do so. • 3 months + \$75.75 + \$65	official score transfer. You waited to undergo the Criminal Background Check. • 6 months + \$75.75 + \$65 + \$63
•	More Efficient Total 2 years + \$2,215.75	Less Efficient Total 4 years + \$4,353.75

5. OTHER CAREERS AND CREDENTIALS

LOWER-LEVEL JOB OPPORTUNITIES

You may want to consider whether taking a lower-level job in healthcare in the short-term can help you meet longer-term goals of licensing as an Nursing Home Administrator. Working in healthcare in a different capacity and with fewer responsibilities may offer you some advantages:

- Your employer may pay for some costs associated with licensing
- You can focus more energy on studying
- You will have a chance to adapt to the U.S. healthcare system and workplace culture in a lower-pressure environment
- An opportunity to network with U.S. healthcare professionals, which may prove more useful when gathering Letters of Recommendation for your application

You may immediately qualify for staff positions which require little or no additional training, such as a Certified Nurse Aide. A Certified Nurse Aide a person who assists professional nurses in a hospital or other medical facility by performing routine tasks, such a making beds and serving meals, that require little or no formal training Some immigrant professionals find jobs as healthcare educators, or use language skills as interpreters.

You should be honest with your employer about your long-term plans and be sure that they have benefits such as paying for your tuition or schedule flexibility that will support your goals.



6. BEYOND LICENSING

MAINTAINING LICENSURE

Your Michigan Nursing Home Administrator license must be renewed every two years through the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing. Your license will expire on October 31. You are responsible for renewing your license even if you do not receive a notice from the Department. You must renew online. The cost to renew on time is \$121.20. You will have sixty days after the expiration date in which you may continue to practice without a lapse in your license as long as you renew within that sixty-day grace period. If you do not renew during that grace period, the expiration date of your license will revert to October 31. If you continue to practice after your license has expired (lapsed), you could have disciplinary action taken against you. If your license does expire, you will be required to apply for relicensure to reactivate your license.

LICENSING MOBILITY (ENDORSEMENT)

The State of Michigan grants licensing to Nursing Home Administrators either by examination (the process described in this topic) or by endorsement. A Nursing Home Administrator licensed in another state, who wants to practice in Michigan, must independently meet all Michigan requirements for licensing. If you become licensed in Michigan and want to practice in another state, you will need to research the legal requirements for that state.

7. IMPORTANT LINKS

MICHIGAN LICENSING

- The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs website includes general licensing information regarding practicing Nursing Home Administration in Michigan www.michigan.gov/healthlicense
- The Public Health Code that regulates licensing for all health professions can be read at http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(zdzgdxnz3wbaxqcasxud5nzw))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-368-1978-15
- The administrative rules governing the practice of nursing home administrators in Michigan can be located at: http://w3.lara.state.mi.us/orr/Files/AdminCode/1516_2015-019LR_AdminCode.pdf



Department contact information: Bureau of Professional Licensing, PO Box 30670, Lansing, Michigan 48909; Telephone Number 517-335-0918; Fax Number 517-335-2044; email bplhelp@michigan.gov

THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF LONG TERM CARE ADMINISTRATOR BOARDS

- Register for NHA <u>here</u>.
- The Practice Exams simulate the actual examination experience. These 75item exams are constructed from exam items that have been written by NAB item writers. The time allocation and exam specifications mirror the actual licensure exam experience. However, no items on these exams will ever appear on an actual licensure examination. You may take a practice exam for \$75.00, or take two practice exams for \$125.00.

Register for the NHA Practice Exam.