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MICHIGAN OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST (OT) LICENSING GUIDE  

 
 

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST 
(Listed below are the minimum requirements needed to obtain an occupational therapist license.) 

 

APPLICATION AND FEES 
 

� The application for an Occupational Therapist license can be found by visiting 
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-27417_27529_27545---,00.html. Complete all fields and 
answer all questions. 
 
 

� Application Fee + 1 year license fee: 
  
OT by Exam and Endorsement: $102.70 
OT Relicensure: $122.70 
 
Must be paid by check or money order payable to the State of Michigan and submitted with completed 
application. 
 

THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS APPLY TO ALL APPLICANTS 
FOR AN OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST LICENSE 

 
� Criminal Background Check – Once the application is completed and submitted you will be mailed an 

Application Confirmation letter containing instructions to complete the Criminal Background Check (except 
those applicants seeking relicensure, if the license expired within the last three years). 

 
� Good Moral Character Questions – Documentation and explanation will be required if you answer “yes” to 

either question to show at the current time you have the ability to, and are likely to, serve the public in a fair, 
honest and open manner, that you are rehabilitated, or that the substance of the former offense is not 
reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which you are seeking a license. 

 
� Human Trafficking – Beginning October 19, 2022, completion of training to identify victims of human 

trafficking is required for initial licensure that meets the standards of Administrative Rule 338.1215.  This is 
a one-time training. 

 
� Social Security Number (SSN) – An individual applying for licensure is required to provide his or her social 

security number at the time of application.  If exempt under law from obtaining a SSN or do not have a SSN, 
the SSN affidavit form will be required to submitted with the application. 

 
� Verification/certification of Licensure – If you hold a current license or ever held a license as an occupational 

therapist, verification of licensure will be required to be submitted directly to this office by the licensing 
agency of any state of the United States in which you hold or ever held a license.  Verification can be emailed 
to bpldata@michigan.gov or mailed to Bureau of Professional Licensing, PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI  
48909. 
 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-27417_27529_27545---,00.html
mailto:bpldata@michigan.gov
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� Certification of a passing score on the Michigan jurisprudence examination submitted directly to this office 

from PSI within the 3 years preceding the date application is filed (initial licensure and relicensure). The 
passing score on the exam is 75%. The jurisprudence examination covers material that can be found in the 
Administrative Rules of the Michigan Board of Occupational Therapy, the Bureau of Professional Licensing 
General Administrative Rules and Article 1 (parts 11 and 12) and Article 15 (parts 161 and 183) of the 
Michigan Public Health Code. You may contact PSI to schedule your exam by visiting www.psiexams.com 
or by calling PSI at 800-733-9267.  

 
� Certification of a passing score on the occupational therapist certification examination administered by the 

National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT).  If applying by examination, this must be 
completed within the 3 years preceding the date the application is filed. 
 

� TOEFL – Applicants who’s educational program was taught in a language other than English shall submit a 
certified score on the TOEFL-IBT of not less than 89.  Results of the examination should be sent directly to 
this office from ETS.  You can visit their website at www.toefl.org.   
 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAM 

� Official transcripts confirming degree awarded and date conferred, submitted directly to our office, from an 
occupational therapy educational program that is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational 
Therapy Education (ACOTE) or approved by the World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT).  

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT  
 
An applicant applying by endorsement must meet either of the following requirements: 
 
� Has first been licensed in another state and actively engaged in the practice of occupational therapy for 

LESS than 5 years before the filing of an application and meet all requirements above. 
 

� Has first been licensed in another state and actively engaged in the practice of occupational therapy for 
MORE than 5 years before the filing of an application and has passed the NBCOT and Michigan 
Jurisprudence examination. 
 

REQUIREMENTS FOR THOSE APPLYING FOR RELICENSURE 

 
Applicants for an occupational therapist license by relicensure who’s license has been lapsed for LESS 
than 3 years at the time of application must submit the following: 

 
� Verification/certification of license to be submitted directly to this office by the licensing agency of any state 

or territory of the United States in which you hold a current license or ever held a license as an occupational 
therapist. Verification includes, but is not limited to, showing proof of any disciplinary action taken or pending 
disciplinary action imposed. 
 
 

http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.toefl.org/
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� Continuing Education (CE) Requirement:  During the 2 years preceding the application for relicensure, 

successful completion of 20 hours of continuing education that are approved by the board are required.  At 
least 1 hour of the continuing education shall be earned in the area of pain and symptom management.  
One-half of the required continuing education contact hours shall be completed in person using live 
synchronous contact.  On-line webinars are not accepted for this requirement. 

 
Applicants for an occupational therapist license by relicensure who’s license has been lapsed for 3 years 
or MORE at the time of application must submit the following: 
 
� Within 3 years preceding the application date for relicensure, take and pass the jurisprudence examination. 

The passing score on the exam is 75%. The jurisprudence examination covers material that can be found 
in the Administrative Rules of the Michigan Board of Occupational Therapy and the Michigan Public Health 
Code Article 1, parts 11 and 12 and Article 15, parts 161 and 183.  Licensure candidates must take the 
jurisprudence examination through PSI.  You may contact PSI to schedule your exam by visiting 
www.psiexams.com or by calling PSI at 800-733-9267. 
 

� Continuing Education (CE) Requirement:  During the 2 years preceding the application for relicensure, 
successful completion of 20 hours of continuing education that are approved by the board are required.  At 
least 1 hour of the continuing education shall be earned in the area of pain and symptom management.  
One-half of the required continuing education contact hours shall be completed in person using live 
synchronous contact.  On-line webinars are not accepted for this requirement. 
 

� Meet either of the following requirements: 
 
a. Certification of your NBCOT passing examination scores submitted directly to this office from the 

examination agency.  Examination must have been taken and passed within 3 years preceding the date 
of application for relicensure.  Contact the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy 
(NBCOT) to have the results sent directly to this office if you did not request that your scores be sent 
to Michigan when you took the exam. Contact the NBCOT at (301) 990-7979 or on their website 
www.nbcot.org AND meet the required supervised practice experience as outlined below. 
 

b. Verification that you have been an occupational therapist in another state during the 3-year period 
immediately preceding the application for relicensure.  Verification/certification of license to be 
submitted directly to this office by the licensing agency of any state or territory of the United States in 
which you hold a current license or ever held a license as an occupational therapist/therapist assistant. 
Verification includes, but is not limited to, showing proof of any disciplinary action taken or pending 
disciplinary action imposed. 

 
Applicants who meet requirement (a) above shall complete the following requirements: 
 
� Supervised practice experience that meets the requirements of R 338.1228:  

 
a. If license has been lapsed for at least 3 years but less than 7 years – applicant shall complete not less 

than 200 hours of supervised practice experience. 
b. If license has been lapsed for 7 years to 15 years – applicant shall complete not less than 400 hours of 

supervised practice experience. 
c. If license has been lapsed for more than 15 years – applicant shall complete not less than 600 hours of 

supervised practice experience. 
 

http://www.nbcot.org/
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� Verification/certification of license to be submitted directly to this office by the licensing agency of any state 

or territory of the United States in which you hold a current license or ever held a license as an occupational 
therapist. Verification includes, but is not limited to, showing proof of any disciplinary action taken or pending 
disciplinary action imposed. 

 
NOTE:   If an applicant for relicensure needs to complete the supervised practice experience, the Department 
may grant an applicant a limited license.  The limited license is valid for 1 year and may be renewed one time.  
You must submit your request, in writing, for a limited license at the time you apply for relicensure. 

 
 

RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST 
 

� Online Application for Occupational Therapy Renewal – Can be completed by visiting 
www.michigan.gov/elicense. 

 
� Renewal Application Fee: $162.20 (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, or Discover credit or debit card) 

 
� Renewal Cycle: 2 years 

 
 

� Good Moral Character Questions - Documentation and explanation will be required if you answer “yes” to 
either question to show at the current time you have the ability to, and are likely to, serve the public in a fair, 
honest and open manner, that you are rehabilitated, or that the substance of the former offense is not 
reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which you are seeking license renewal. 

 
� Disciplinary Question - Documentation will be required if you answer “yes” to having sanctions imposed 

against you by a similar licensure, registration, certification, or disciplinary board of another state or country 
you have not previously reported to the department. 

 
� Accept Renewal Attestation -  By accepting the renewal attestation you, as the licensee, are certifying that 

you have met the human trafficking requirements and the continuing education requirements during the 
renewal period. 

 
� Continuing Education (CE) Requirement: 

 
 During the 2 years preceding the application for renewal, successful completion of 20 hours of continuing 

education that are approved by the board. 
 Minimum of 1 hour of continuing education earned in the area of pain and symptom management. 
 One-half of the required continuing education contact hours shall be completed in person using live, 

sychronous contact. 
  

� Human Trafficking –  
 
 Beginning in 2020, and all renewals thereafter, licensees seeking renewal must have completed training 

in identifying victims of human trafficking that meets the standards in Administrative Rule 338.1215 prior 
to renewing their license. The training must only be completed one time. 

 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/elicense.
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HELPFUL RESOURCES AND FORMS 
 

� By visiting www.michigan.gov/healthlicense and clicking on the occupational therapy link you can access 
the following helpful resources and forms: 
 
Resources: 

� Public Health Code 
� Administrative Rules for Occupational Therapy 

 
Forms: 

� Application for licensure/relicensure 
� Work Experience Form 

 
 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

