

# Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Health Care Services Board of Optometry PO Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909 (517) 335-0918

www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

# **OPTOMETRIST ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION PACKET**

# **INCLUDED IN THIS PACKET:**

1.	Mailing Information & Contents	Pages 1-2
2.	Licensure Instructions	Pages 3-4
3.	Application	Pages 5-7
4.	Management and Emergency Plan	Page 8
5.	Verification of Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents (TPA) Training	Page 9
6.	Verification of Diagnostic Pharmaceutical Agents (DPA) Training	Page 10
7.	Michigan Laws and Rules Examination	Pages 11-17
8.	Printing Instructions	Page 18
9.	Application Checklist	Page 19
10	). Top Things Applicants Should Know	Page 20
11	I. Glossary/Definition of Terms	Page 21
12	2. Frequently Asked Questions	Page 22
13	3. Websites & Links	Page 23



# Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Health Care Services

# **Board of Optometry**

PO Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909 (517) 335-0918 www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

# OPTOMETRIST BY ENDORSEMENT INSTRUCTIONS

\* Please read application instructions carefully and answer all questions completely. Failure to do so may cause a delay in your application process.\*

# If you have been licensed in another state for AT LEAST 5 years, you must submit:

- 1. You must complete and submit the application for licensure with the appropriate fee, as well as arrange for supporting documents to be sent to the Michigan Board of Optometry.
- 2. Applicants for an optometrist license in Michigan are required to undergo a Criminal Background Check (CBC) and provide evidence of fingerprint processing from an authorized agency. Fingerprints must be taken using the Customer ID number and instructions provided in the Application Confirmation letter that will be sent when your license application and fee are processed. Do not have your fingerprints taken prior to receiving your Customer ID number.
- 3. A controlled substance license is required for every person who manufactures, distributes, prescribes, or dispenses any controlled substance in Michigan. A separate controlled substance license is required for each business location from which you manufacture, distribute, or dispense controlled substances. If you just prescribe controlled substances at more than one location, you only need one controlled substance license.
- 4. Arrange for a verification and/or certification of your license status to be sent directly to the Michigan Board of Optometry from any state or province where you currently hold or have ever held a permanent license or registration. Copies of licenses are not acceptable.
- 5. All applicants for optometry licensure must take and pass the 32-question jurisprudence examination. The passing score on the exam is 75% (24/32). The jurisprudence examination is included in the application packet and must be completed and returned with your application and fee. The jurisprudence examination covers material that can be found in the Administrative Rules of the Michigan Board of Optometry and in Article 15, parts 161 and 174 of the Michigan Public Health Code.

#### If you have been licensed in another state for less than 5 years, you must submit:

- 1. You must complete and submit the application for licensure with the appropriate fee, as well as arrange for supporting documents to be sent to the Michigan Board of Optometry.
- 2. Applicants for an optometrist license in Michigan are required to undergo a Criminal Background Check (CBC) and provide evidence of fingerprint processing from an authorized agency. Fingerprints must be taken using the Customer ID number and instructions provided in the Application Confirmation letter that will be sent when your license application and fee are processed. Do not have your fingerprints taken prior to receiving your Customer ID number.

#### OPTOMETRIST BY ENDORSEMENT INSTRUCTIONS CONTINUED

- 3. A controlled substance license is required for every person who manufactures, distributes, prescribes, or dispenses any controlled substance in Michigan. A separate controlled substance license is required for each business location from which you manufacture, distribute, or dispense controlled substances. If you just prescribe controlled substances at more than one location, you only need one controlled substance license.
- 4. Arrange for a verification and/or certification of your license status to be sent directly to the Michigan Board of Optometry from any state or province where you currently hold or have ever held a permanent license or registration. **Copies of licenses are not acceptable.**
- 5. Arrange for final, official transcripts that show your doctor of optometry degree and the date it was conferred, to be submitted directly to the Board office from your school.
- 6. Overall passing scores on Parts I, II and III of the National Boards must be sent directly from NBEO (www.optometry.org).
- 7. All applicants for optometry licensure must take and pass the 32-question jurisprudence examination. The passing score on the exam is 75% (24/32). The jurisprudence examination is included in the application packet and must be completed and returned with your application and fee. The jurisprudence examination covers material that can be found in the Administrative Rules of the Michigan Board of Optometry and in Article 15, parts 161 and 174 of the Michigan Public Health Code.

# <u>APPLICANTS SEEKING DIAGNOSTIC PHARMACEUTICAL AGENTS (DPA) AND THERAPEUTIC PHARMACEUTICAL AGENTS (TPA) CERTIFICATION MUST SUBMIT:</u>

- 1. A copy of your current certificate showing successful completion of a course in advanced cardiac life support or a course in basic life support.
- 2. The completed Management and Emergency Plan form. Be sure to make a photocopy of this form to keep permanently in your office. Submit the ORIGINAL, signed plan with the application.
- The Verification of Diagnostic Pharmaceutical Agents (DPA) Training Form. Section I of the form must be completed and returned to this office by the Director of the DPA educational program or the Registrar of the institution where the training was completed.
- 4. The Verification of Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents (TPA) Training Form. Section I of the form must be completed and returned to this office by the Director of the TPA educational program or the Registrar of the institution where the training was completed. **YOU MUST HAVE DPA CERTIFICATION TO OBTAIN TPA CERTIFICATION.**

#### Please Note:

An application submitted with the appropriate fee is valid for two years from the date it is received. If an applicant fails to
complete the requirements for licensure within the two year period following the date of application, the application will
become invalid.



Bureau of Professional Licensing PO Box 30670 ● Lansing, MI 48909 Telephone: (517) 335-0918

> www.michigan.gov/bpl BPLHelp@michigan.gov

#### APPLICATION FOR ENDORSEMENT

Please select the license you are applying for from the list below:

Optometrist by Endorsement Fee: \$121.20 [ 71-4901-09 ]

Optometrist with DPA Fee: \$121.20 [71-4901-09] \$75.75 [71-4901-11] Total Fee: \$196.95

Optometrist with DPA & TPA Certification Fee: \$121.20 [ 71-4901-09 ] \$75.75 [ 71-4901-11 ] \$75.75 [ 71-4901-11 ] Total

Fee: \$272.70

Optometrist with DPA & TPA Certification & Controlled Substance Fee: \$121.20 [71-4901-09] \$75.75 [71-4901-11]

\$75.75 [71-4901-11 ]\$85.85 [ 71-5315-3757] Total Fee: \$358.55

Your check or money order drawn on a U.S. financial institution and made payable to the **STATE OF MICHIGAN** must accompany this application. DO NOT SEND CASH. Fees are deposited upon receipt and can only be refunded under refund rules by the Department.

1. Demographic Information						
First Name:	Middle	Name:		Last N	ame:	
U.S. Social Security #:			Birth Date:			
Street Address:				Apt/E	Bldg #:	
City:	S	tate:			Zip Code:	
Country:						
Phone Number:		Email A	Address:			
Have you ever held a health professiona	ıl liconed	in any profes	ssion in Michigan	2		Yes
Trave you ever held a health professiona	ii iicerise	in any profes	ssion in Michigan	:		No
If yes, list your Permanent I.D./License I	Number:					
Expiration Date:						
						Yes
Have you ever been known under any or	ther nam	ne?				No
If yes, list name(s):						Yes
Will documents be received under any o	ther nam	ne?				No
If yes, list name(s):						

. Personal Data Questions	
Have you ever been convicted of a felony?	Yes
	No
yes, please explain	
Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for a maximum term of	Yes
2 years?	No
yes, please explain	
Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor involving the illegal delivery, possession, or use of	Yes
alcohol or a controlled substance (including motor vehicle violations)?	No
yes, please explain	110
Have you had 3 or more malpractice settlements, awards, or judgments in any consecutive	Yes
5 year period?	No
yes, please explain	
Have you had one or more malpractice settlements, awards, or judgments totaling \$200,000 in any	V
consecutive 5 year period?	Yes
yes, please explain	No
. Have you ever been fined, denied, revoked, suspended, reprimanded, placed on probation,	
otherwise disciplined, or the subject of a final adverse action by a licensure, registration,	Yes
disciplinary or certification board as a holder of or applicant for, a license or registration	No
regulated by this state, another state or territory of the United States, the United States military, the federal government, or another country?	No
yes, please explain	
you, ploade orpiain	
. Have you ever been censured, or requested to withdraw from a health care facility's staff or had your	
health care staff privileges involuntarily modified?	Yes
	No
yes, please explain	
. Have you ever been treated for substance abuse in the past 2 years?	Yes
	No
yes, please explain	

Note: If you answered "yes" to any of the questions in Section 2 (questions 1-8), you must provide a detailed explanation with copies of all available official and/or court documents related to your explanation along with your application. If you do not provide the explanation, your application will be deemed incomplete and processing will be delayed.

Full Name:					
3. Professiona  Name of	Institution	Address Institutio		Graduation Date	Certificate/Diploma/Degree Granted
3. License(s) i	in Other State(s) ar	nd/or Province	e(s)		
registration in any s registration number (either examination	e you ever held a permane state or province? If yes, list, the date issued and how or endorsement). <b>DO NO</b> heets if necessary.)	st each state or pro the license was ol	ovince, the license btained	e or	Yes No
Permanent Licen Registration Numl				ars Expiration Date	How Obtained (Exam or Endorsement)
4. CERTIFICA	TION				
process. I authorize	is the policy of this agency this agency to use the inf ntral Records Division of ton.	formation provided	in this application	n to obtain a crimi	inal conviction history file
	the release of information on, or specialty certificatio another country.				
made on this applic	his application are true an ation. In signing this appli dication or revocation of m	cation, I am aware	that a false state	ement or dishones	st answer may be grounds
Signature of Appl	icant			Date	

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency.

# Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

# **Board of Optometry**

PO Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909 (517) 335-0918

www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

#### MANAGEMENT AND EMERGENCY PLAN

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended.

If this form is not completed, certification will not be issued.

First Name: Middl			/liddle Name:			Last Name:		
Street Address:					Apt/E	Bldg #:		
City:		State:				Zip Code:		
Permanent I.D. Number:			Date of Pla	an Completio	n			
REFERRALS: List the names and address in Michigan to whom you will refer patients diagnosis or treatment of the eye (board eli care physician in the plan, but shall not sub specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of	with a gible o stitute	dverse dr or certified the patie	ug reactions d ophthalmo ent's primary	s. Be sure at le logist). An opto	east one ometrist	is skilled or specializes in the may include the patient's primary		
Name of Ophthalmologist					Teleph	one Number		
Street Address				City, State Zip	Code			
Name of Second Referral					Teleph	one Number		
Street Address		City, State Zip C		Code				
Name of Third Referral					Teleph	one Number		
Street Address		City, State Zip Code						
PLAN: The following management plan v	vill be	in opera	tion in my	office:				
1. I will refer patients with an advers	e drug	reaction	to appropria	ite medical sp	ecialists	or facilities.		
2. I will routinely advise each patient, and so note in their record, to contact me if the patient experiences an adverse drug reaction.					patient experiences an adverse			
<ol><li>I will place information in each patient's permanent record describing any adverse drug reaction experienced by the patient, and the date and time any referral was made.</li></ol>								
4. A COPY OF THIS MANAGEMEN	4. A COPY OF THIS MANAGEMENT AND EMERGENCY PLAN WILL BE KEPT IN MY OFFICE.							
Signature of Applicant					Dat	re		
The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you make your needs known to this agency.								

Page 8 of 23

LARA/END-020 (09/16)

# Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

# **Board of Optometry**

PO Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909 (517) 335-0918

www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

## VERIFICATION OF THERAPEUTIC PHARMACEUTICAL AGENTS (TPA) TRAINING

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended. If this form is not completed, certification will not be issued.

#### **SECTION I - APPLICANT INFORMATION**

Applicant Instructions: Please complete the information in Section I and mail this form to the school of Optometry where you trained in the didactic and clinical use of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA's).

-							
First Name:	Middle Name:	1iddle Name:		Last Na	Last Name:		
U.S. Social Security #:			Birth Date:				
Street Address:				Apt/E	Bldg #:	:	
City:	State:				Zip Code:		
Michigan Permanent I.D./License Number	er:			Expiration	n Date	<b>:</b> :	
All Previous Names and/or Birth Names (if applicable)	Used			-			
Signature of Applicant				Dat	te		
SECTION II - VERIFICATION OF TRAIN School of Optometry The applicant listed all and the certification below concerning training at the address shown above.	above is seeking cer			omplete, n	nail it d	lirectly to the Board of Optometry	
Name of School				Telephor	ne Nur	mber	
Street Address							
City	State					Zip Code	
Dates of Training From:			To:				
	CERT	IFICA					
I certify that the applicant named above has comp study, in courses relating to the didactic and clinic							
Authorized Signature (Dean, Registrar, etc.)			Date				
Type or Print Name and Title				(SCH	OOL S	EAL)	

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency.

LARA/END-020 (09/16) Page 9 of 23

# Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

# **Board of Optometry**

PO Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909 (517) 335-0918

www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

## **VERIFICATION OF DIAGNOSTIC PHARMACEUTICAL AGENTS (DPA) TRAINING**

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended. If this form is not completed, certification will not be issued.

#### **SECTION I - APPLICANT INFORMATION**

Applicant Instructions: Please complete the information in Section I and mail this form to the school of Optometry where you trained in the use of topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents (DPA's).

the deep of topical could diagnostic pharma	oodiioai agoino (5: 7: 7	<i>-</i> ,.				
First Name:	Middle Name:		Last Na	Last Name:		
U.S. Social Security #:		Birth Date:				
Street Address:			Apt/Blo	dg #:		
City:		2	Zip Code:			
Michigan Permanent I.D./License Number	er:		Expiration	Date:		
All Previous Names and/or Birth Names (if applicable)	Used					
Signature of Applicant			Date	)		
SECTION II - VERIFICATION OF TRAIN topical ocular DPA's in Michigan. Please complete form is complete, mail it directly to the Board of O	Section II and the cert	ification below conce	rning training	received by the applicant.		
Name of School			Telephone	Number		
Street Address						
City	State			Zip Code		
Dates of Training From:		To:				
	CERTIFI	CATION				
I certify that the applicant named above has comp than 30 of the 60 classroom hours being allocated ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents, including t	l to ocular pharmacolog	y and emphasizing tl	he systemic e	effects of, and reactions to,		
The doctor named above has also successfully co- optometry, with particular emphasis on the use of to of any adverse reactions that may occur.						
Authorized Signature (Dean, Registrar, etc.)		Date			_	
Type or Print Name and Title	-	(SCHO	OL SEAL)			

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency.

LARA/END-020 (09/16) Page 10 of 23

# **OPTOMETRY LAWS & RULES EXAMINATION**

Name		SSN
questic	on. Be si	print your name and Social Security Number in the above spaces. Circle your answers for each test ure to read the statement at the end of the examination and sign your name on the last page before Board Office along with your application. The passing score is 75% (24/32).
1.	The gov	verning body for licensed optometrists in Michigan is the
	b. I c. <i>A</i>	Michigan Board of Optometry. Michigan Optometric Association. American Optometric Association. Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.
2.	After ini	tial licensure renewal, an optometrist's license MUST be renewed every year(s).
	a. 1 b. 2 c. 3 d. 4	<u>2</u> 3
3.	Ethical	conduct of an optometrist is defined as
	p	advising the patient whenever consultation with an optometric colleague or referral to other professional care seems advisable.
		verifying frame specifications and power of all lenses processed from his/her prescriptions to protect the patient against errors.
	c. a	avoiding holding himself/herself forth in such a manner as to carry the slightest intimation of naving superior skill or equipment or being superior to other optometrists.
	d. a	all of the above
4.	Patient	records must be retained by an optometrist for at least
		3 years.
		5 years.
		7 years. 0 years.

- 5. If an optometrist has made a false representation of material fact when applying for a license,
  - a. the optometrist may be denied licensure.
  - b. no action will be taken until the license is renewed.
  - c. the optometrist may not supervise any employees.
  - d. the optometrist will be required to attend additional continuing education courses in ethics.
- 6. Which of the following is **INCORRECT** regarding "supervision" as defined in the Public Health Code? The supervisor
  - a. must be physically present at the practice location at all times.
  - b. must review the work of the supervised individual on a regularly scheduled basis.
  - c. must further educate the supervised individual in the performance of the individual's assigned duties.
  - d. must be continuously available for direct communication, either personally or by radio, telephone, or telecommunication.
- 7. According to the Michigan Public Health Code, Karen Murray, a licensed optometrist practicing in Michigan, may use all of the following titles EXCEPT
  - a. Dr. Karen Murray.
  - b. Karen Murray, O.D.
  - c. Dr. Karen Murray, Optometrist.
  - d. Karen Murray, Doctor of Optometry.
- 8. By law, a certificate of licensure for an optometrist
  - a. does not have to be displayed.
  - b. must be kept on file in the office personnel files.
  - c. does not have to contain any notification of any limitation.
  - d. shall be displayed in a prominent place visible to the public.
- 9. Which of the following shall be considered board-approved continuing education?
  - a. COPE approved programs
  - b. Courses or programs from approved optometry schools
  - c. Continuing education programs that have been granted approval by another state board of optometry.
  - d. All of the above

10.	•	tometrist who has DPA/TPA certification may administer certain prescription drugs in the gement of patients who
	a. b. c. d.	need a dilated fundus examination. require Schedule 4 pain medication. have chronic open-angle glaucoma. all of the above
11.	In Mic	higan, the scope of practice for optometrists is determined by
	a. b. c. d.	Michigan state law. the Michigan Board of Optometry. the Michigan Optometric Association. the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.
12.		er for an optometrist to receive continuing education credits, all continuing education ams <b>MUST</b>
	a. b. c. d.	be held in the state of Michigan. assess the competency of those in attendance. be sponsored by the Michigan Optometric Association. be approved by the Michigan Board of Optometry.
13.		ne or address change for a licensed optometrist must be reported to the Michigan Board cometry, not more than days after it occurs.
	a. b. c. d.	10 30 60 90
14.	An em	nergency treatment plan
	a.	requires that the optometrist refer a patient to at least two physicians or clinics for emergency treatment.
	b.	is used to refer patients who present with a medical condition that is not within the optometrist's scope of practice.
	C.	must be approved by the Board of Optometry in order to become certified to administer topical ocular diagnostic or therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.
	d.	must be submitted to the Board of Optometry within one year after the DPA/TPA certificates are issued.

- 15. Sanctions may be levied against an optometrist for which of the following situations?
  - a. Substance abuse
  - b. Physical inability to practice in a safe manner
  - c. Prescribing drugs for other than optometric treatment purposes
  - d. All of the above are correct
- 16. How many total hours of continuing education credits are required to renew an optometrist's license in Michigan?
  - a. 12 hours within 1 year
  - b. 30 hours within 2 years
  - c. 40 hours within 2 years
  - d. 50 hours within 3 years
- 17. The emergency treatment plan for management and referral of patients who experience adverse drug reactions requires an optometrist to
  - a. routinely advise each patient to immediately contact the optometrist if the patient experiences an adverse drug reaction.
  - b. refer patients who notify the optometrist of an adverse drug reaction to appropriate medical specialists or facilities.
  - c. place information in the patient's permanent record that describes any adverse drug reaction and the date and time that any referral was made.
  - d. all of the above
- 18. Which of the following statements is true? A licensed optometrist
  - a. must report to the department any licensed health care professional that they believe is impaired.
  - b. is liable in a civil action for damages resulting from failure to report to the department any licensed health care professional that they believe is impaired.
  - c. is only required to report a licensed health professional that they believe is impaired to the department if the health professional is also a licensed optometrist.
  - d. who fails to report any licensed health care professional that they believe is impaired to the department is not subject to any administrative disciplinary action.
- 19. The ultimate purpose of the Michigan Board of Optometry is to
  - a. collect licensing fees.
  - b. protect the public's health, safety and welfare.
  - c. meet with members of other health care professions.
  - d. report occupational infractions to the Bureau of Health Professions.

20.	obta	der to renew a Michigan optometrist license, an optometrist who is DPA/TPA certified must in how many hours of continuing education credits specifically in pharmacological agement of ocular conditions?
	a.	10
	b.	12
	C.	15
	d.	20
21.	While	e treating a patient, an employed optometrist is
	a.	solely liable for any act of negligence.
	b.	concurrently liable with the employer for any act of negligence.
	C.	completely relieved from responsibility for any act of negligence.
	d.	automatically insured against any liability for any act of negligence.
22.		ptometrist may receive a maximum of how many hours in board approved continuing ation relating to self-evaluation journal tests and multimedia and online education?
	a.	10
	b.	18
	C.	20
	d.	24
23.	Patie	ent records must contain which of the following?
	a.	The name of the examining optometrist.
	b.	The chief complaint or reason for the examination.
	C.	The management disposition.
	d.	All of the above
24.	or ou	rson who practices optometry under a suspended, revoked, or fraudulently obtained license, itside the provisions of a limited license, or uses the license of another person as his or her is guilty of
	a.	a felony.
	b.	malpractice.
	C.	a misdemeanor.
	d.	impersonation.

25.	An optometrist shall retain documentation of meeting continuing education requirements foryears from the date of applying for license renewal.								
	a.	2							
	b.	4							
	C.	5							
	d.	7							
26.		otometrist may receive a maximum of how many hours of approved continuing ation relating to practice management?							
	a.	4							
	b.	9							
	C.	12							
	d.	15							
27.		h of the following is an invasive procedure that an optometrist is prohibited from rming in Michigan?							
	a.	The use of therapeutic ultrasound							
	b.	The use of lasers other than for observation							
	C.	The administration of medication by injection							
	d.	All of the above							
28.	An op	otometrist who has had a license revoked may							
	a.	not practice optometry.							
	b.	practice only in a state hospital.							
	C.	may apply for reinstatement after one year.							
	d.	practice optometry under the direct supervision of another optometrist.							
29.		mployee under the direct supervision of an optometrist performs negligent treatment. s situation, which of the following statements is <b>TRUE</b> ?							
	a.	The employee is not responsible.							
	b.	The supervising optometrist is not responsible.							
	C.	The supervising optometrist is liable for sanction.							
	d.	No disciplinary action can be taken in this situation.							

	Signa	ture of Applicant Date					
	nature	fy that the answers provided on this examination are mine alone. Due to the confidential e of this examination, I will not copy or retain examination questions, or transmit them in orm to any other person.					
	a. b. c. d.	0 6 12 18					
32.	had to Watso	Tatson is an optometrist who was first licensed in Michigan in July 2007. The first date he or renew his license was June 30, 2008. Between July 2007 and June 30, 2008, Dr. on needed to accumulate hours of continuing education in order to renew his see for the first time.					
	a. b. c. d.	submission of the appropriate application and fees. taking and passing the Board's jurisprudence examination. submission of 40 hours of board-approved continuing education that were earned in the 2 years prior to the date of the application. both a and c are correct.					
31.	•	tometrist whose license has been lapsed (not active or renewed) for <u>less</u> than three years be re-licensed by					
	a. b. c. d.	the responsibility of writing a prescription. selected tasks performed under the licensed optometrist's supervision. tasks that allow the unlicensed individual to work independently without supervision. tasks that demand the same level of education, skill and judgment as required of a licensed optometrist.					
30.	According to the Michigan Public Health Code, a licensed optometrist can delegate certain tasks to an unlicensed individual. Tasks that can be delegated include						

Please print out the Application (pages 5-7), the Management and Emergency Plan form (if applicable, page 8) the Verification of Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents form (TPA) Training (if applicable, page 9), the Verification of Diagnostic Pharmaceutical Agents (DPA) Training form (if applicable, page 10) and the Michigan Laws and Rules Examination (pages 11-17). Sign and date your application, and submit the application along with your check or money order made payable to the "State of Michigan" to:

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Health Care Services
Board of Optometry
PO Box 30670
Lansing, MI 48909

# **APPLICATION CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS**

All information should be typed or printed clearly. It is your responsibility to submit the required forms to our office.  Application Fee: Submit a check or money order drawn on a U.S. financial institution and made payable to the STATE OF MICHIGAN.
☐ 1. Demographic Information: Social Security Number: Please list only a United States Social Security number.
<b>Name:</b> List your full name: first, middle and last name. If your name changes after you apply, you must submit a name change to the Bureau of Health Care Services in writing along with legal documentation within 30 days.
Birth Date: Provide the month, day and year of your birth.
<b>Address:</b> List the address we should use to send any information about your license. Be sure to include the city, state, zip code, and country. This will be your permanent address with the Bureau of Health Care Services. If your address changes, you must notify us in writing within 30 days.
Phone: Enter a telephone number where you can be reached in case we have questions about your application.
<b>E-mail:</b> Enter your e-mail address. E-mail is a quick way our office can communicate with you about your application.
Other Name(s): Indicate whether you have been known by any other names.
☐ 2. Personal Data Questions: All applicants must answer the same personal data questions. If you answer "yes" to any questions in this section, you must submit a detailed explanation in the space provided on your application. If you do not provide this information, your application will be deemed incomplete and processing will be delayed.
☐ 3. Professional Education: List your current or completed professional school. Indicate degree/certificate/diploma earned. List graduation and/or anticipated graduation date.
☐ 4. License in Other State(s) and/or Province(s): List all states/provinces where you have held an optometrist license or registration. Indicate method of licensure - examination or endorsement.
☐ 5. Certification: You must sign and date your application for it to be valid. By signing the application you are indicating that you have read and understood the certification section.

# TOP THINGS APPLICANTS SHOULD KNOW

- 1. NOTE: If you have ever been licensed in another state and you have a current disciplinary sanction on that license (even if the license is inactive), you are not eligible for licensure in Michigan according to the Public Health Code, PA 368, as amended, Section 333.16174 (2). Sanctions include probation, limitation, suspension, revocation, or fine. Upon resolution of the sanction and verification that the license is active with no disciplinary action in effect, you can proceed with the filing of an application for a Michigan license or registration.
- 2. Applications and mail are processed as quickly as possible in date-received order.
- 3. Please allow time to process your application before you call or email our office to check on the status. Applications may take up to 2 weeks to reach our office. Applications with fees are first processed through our central mailroom then through our payment processing office.
- 4. Mail, including mail sent overnight, is first received by our central mailroom prior to reaching the Board.
- 5. Supporting documentation will not be accepted if faxed into our office.
- 6. REFUND POLICY: If you wish to withdraw your application, you must notify the Michigan Board of Optometry in writing to request a partial refund.
- 7. If your name and/or address changes please notify the Board of Optometry in writing within 30 days. To change a name or address, you can download the Data Change/Duplicate License Request Form from our website at <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/healthlicense">www.michigan.gov/healthlicense</a> and fax it to (517) 335-2044 ATTN: Applications Section or mail the form to: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services, Board of Optometry, Application Section, PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI 48909. Telephone calls are NOT accepted for these changes. After your license is issued, you can change your address online at <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/elicense">www.michigan.gov/elicense</a>.

# GLOSSARY/DEFINITION OF TERMS

CONTACT HOUR/CREDIT A continuing education credit or contact hour is equivalent to

50-60 minutes of program participation in a board approved

program.

CONTINUING EDUCATION UNIT

(CEU)

A CEU is a continuing education unit, which consists of ten

continuing education credits/hours.

ENDORSEMENT Application made by an individual who holds an original

license in another state with licensure requirements substantially equivalent to Michigan requirements.

EXAMINATION Application made by an individual who must take and pass

an examination in order to become licensed in Michigan.

LAPSED LICENSE A lapsed license is a license that is no longer active. A

license becomes inactive when it is not renewed upon the

expiration date printed on the license.

RECIPROCITY Process by which an individual could possibly become

licensed in Michigan through a reciprocity agreement with another state board. Michigan does not have a reciprocity

agreement with any other state.

REINSTATEMENT The process in which a disciplinary, suspended or revoked

license that has not lapsed is reactivated by the Board.

RELICENSURE The application process in which a licensee must apply to

reactivate a lapsed or lapsed suspended license.

RENEWAL Process to maintain active licensure status at the end of each

renewal cycle.

# FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

## Q. How long will it take to process my application?

Applications and mail are processed as quickly as possible in date-received order. Applications with fees are first processed through our central mailroom then through our payment processing office.

# Q. What do I do if I forgot to include my payment with my application?

Please submit the fee along with a copy of your application and/or a letter indicating that you failed to submit the required payment with your previous application. Mail to: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services Health Professions Licensing Division Board of Optometry, PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI 48909.

## Q. How do I check on the status of my application?

Within approximately three weeks of mailing your application to our office, you should receive an Application Confirmation letter containing your customer number. You may use your customer number to check the status of your application at <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/appstatus">www.michigan.gov/appstatus</a>.

## Q. If I have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor will it stop me from being licensed?

We ask that you submit your application, fee and information regarding the occurrence. The Michigan Board of Optometry will review your file and make a decision at that time. Please keep in mind that we do take into consideration the type of conviction, the age that you were when the incident occurred and the time that has elapsed since the conviction.

## Q. How long is my license valid?

The initial license is good for a partial licensure cycle and will expire on the upcoming June 30 renewal date. Each subsequent license will cover a full two-year cycle.

## Q. Do I have to earn continuing education for this first license?

Since the initial license is valid for a partial licensure cycle you will not be required to earn continuing education. However, after the first renewal, a Michigan optometrist must earn at least 40 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board with at least one of those hours in pain management. If an applicant holds certification to administer topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents or certification to administer and prescribe therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, or both, shall accumulate at least 20 hours of Board-approved continuing education in pharmacological management of ocular conditions. The Michigan Board does not receive attendance reports or track your education for you. You should maintain copies of your continuing education certificates for at least a four year period in case you are audited by the Michigan Board.

# Q. How do I renew my license?

You will be mailed a renewal notice approximately six to eight weeks prior to the expiration date of your license. The notice will include instructions on how to renew your license online.

# **WEBSITES AND LINKS**

# **WEBSITES:**

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/lara">www.michigan.gov/lara</a>

Bureau of Health Care Services <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/bhcs">www.michigan.gov/bhcs</a>

Health Professions Division www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

Michigan Board of Optometry Rules <u>www.michigan.gov/healthlicense</u>

Michigan Public Health Code <u>www.michigan.gov/healthlicense</u>

Application Status <u>www.michigan.gov/appstatus</u>

Renewal Website www.michigan.gov/elicense

# LINKS:

National Board of Examiners in Optometry <u>www.optometry.org</u>

Identogo <u>www.identogo.com</u>