CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MICHIGAN PHARMACY TECHNICIANS

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended

This form is for information only.

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process for pharmacy technicians licensed to practice in Michigan.

Effective March 16, 2016, continuing education is required for Pharmacy Technicians. Beginning with the renewal cycle in 2019, and all renewal periods thereafter, licensees will be required to complete continuing education to qualify for renewal.

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules require every Pharmacy Technician to have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking.

Continuing education shall be earned as follows:

- For a license held for two years, the renewal applicant must complete 20 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board during the 2-year period prior to the date of renewal of the license or have completed a proficiency examination as specified by the administrative rules.
- For a license held for more than one year but less than two years, the renewal applicant must complete 10 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board, earned within the license cycle, or have completed a proficiency examination as specified by the administrative rules.

Continuing education or passing a proficiency exam is required as a condition of license renewal regardless if the Pharmacy Technician has been actively practicing in the profession.

For a license held for two years, the rules require the 20 hours of continuing education be earned in the following subjects:

- A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education must be earned in the area of pain and symptom management relating to the practice of pharmacy.
- **A minimum of** 1 hour of continuing education must be earned in the area of patient safety.
- **A minimum of** 1 hour of continuing education must be earned in the area of pharmacy law.
- A minimum of 17 hours of continuing education must be earned in any combination of the following subjects: medication or drug distribution; inventory control systems; mathematics and calculations; biology; pharmaceutical sciences; therapeutic issues; pharmacy operations; pharmacology, drug therapy or drug products; preparation of sterile products; prescription compounding; drug repackaging; patient interaction or interpersonal skills and communication.

- A minimum of 5 hours of continuing education must be earned by attending live courses, programs or activities that provide for direct interaction with instructors, peers, and participants, including but not limited to lectures, meetings, symposia, real-time teleconferences or webinars, and workshops.

No more than 12 hours of continuing education credit may be earned during a 24-hour period. Credit for a continuing education program or activity that is identical to one that the licensee has already earned credit for during the same renewal period shall not be granted.

For a license held for more than one year but less than two years, the rules require the 10 hours of continuing education be earned in the following subjects:

- A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education must be earned in the area of pain and symptom management relating to the practice of pharmacy.
- A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education must be earned in the area of patient safety.
- **A minimum of** 1 hour of continuing education must be earned in the area of pharmacy law.
- A minimum of 7 hours of continuing education must be earned in any combination of the following subjects: medication or drug distribution; inventory control systems; mathematics and calculations; biology; pharmaceutical sciences; therapeutic issues; pharmacy operations; pharmacology, drug therapy or drug products; preparation of sterile products; prescription compounding; drug repackaging; patient interaction or interpersonal skills and communication.
- A minimum of 5 hours of continuing education must be earned by attending live courses, programs or activities that provide for direct interaction with instructors, peers, and participants, including but not limited to lectures, meetings, symposia, real-time teleconferences or webinars, and workshops.

Board-approved continuing education programs include continuing education courses that are offered or approved by any of the following:

- A program approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE). (If audited, the licensee must submit an official certificate/letter from program sponsor/director.)
- A Board-approved pharmacy technician training program.
 (If audited, the licensee must submit official evidence of completion.)
- Another state board of pharmacy. (If audited, the licensee must submit an official certificate/letter from the sponsor indicating state board approval.)
- The Michigan Board of Pharmacy.
 (If audited, the licensee must submit an official certificate indicating the Michigan approval number.)

Approved sponsors are required to provide official certificates or letters of attendance that include the name of the sponsor, the name of the program, the name of attendee, date of program, accrediting organization and/or approval number, signature and title of person responsible for attendance monitoring, and number and type of activity attended. Further information about programs with accredited sponsorship may be obtained by contacting the accredited sponsor.

Alternatively, the renewal applicant can satisfy the continuing education requirement by passing one of the following examinations:

- The pharmacy technician examination administered by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).
- The pharmacy technician examination administered by the National Healthcareer Association (NHA).
- A nationally recognized pharmacy technician certification examination that has been approved by the Board.
- An employer-based training program examination that has been approved by the Board.

RENEWAL PROCEDURES

Except for the initial partial licensure cycle, pharmacy technician licenses are renewed every 2 years by June 30. Submission of the renewal application certifies that the continuing education requirements for renewal have been met.

DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS to our office unless requested. The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, will conduct an audit at the conclusion of each renewal period. Pharmacy Technicians chosen for audit through an automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the completion of continuing education activities. If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of certificates or letters of attendance that include the name of the sponsor, the name of the program, the name of attendee, date of program, the appropriate accreditation and/or approval number, signature and title of the person responsible for attendance monitoring, and the number and type of hours earned.

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF THE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS HAVE NOT BEEN MET.

A Pharmacy Technician who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in violation of the Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions: reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine.

Licenses can be renewed approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license after completion of continuing education requirements by submitting the online renewal application with the renewal fee. Licenses can be renewed during the sixty-day grace period after completion of continuing education requirements; a \$20.00 late fee will be applied in addition to the renewal payment.

If the license is not renewed prior to the end of the 60-day grace period, the license will lapse and reflect the June 30 expiration day. The applicant will be required to apply for relicensure in order to resume practice in Michigan. "Relicensure" means the granting of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within 60 days after the expiration date.

CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVERS

The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Pharmacy to waive the continuing education requirements for a license renewal applicant if, upon written application, the Board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required board-approved courses or programs was due to the licensee's disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the licensee which the board considers good and sufficient.

A written request for a waiver must be submitted by mail to the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Attn: Board of Pharmacy, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, MI 48909 or by email to <u>BPLHelp@michigan.gov</u> and shall include supporting documentation for the reason for the waiver. A waiver cannot be requested after an application for renewal has been submitted. The Board cannot prospectively waive continuing education requirements.

DISABILITY: The licensee's disability shall have been temporary in nature and the licensee's physician shall attest on the application that the disability no longer prevents the licensee from attending educational programs and engaging in the practice as a pharmacy technician without limitation.

MILITARY SERVICE: The licensee shall have been practicing as a pharmacy technician while in active service of the United States, shall have been licensed at the time of induction or entering into service, and shall have requested that his/her license be placed in military status to continue in effect without payment of the license renewal fee pursuant to Section 16196 of the Public HealthCode.

ABSENCE FROM THE UNITED STATES: The licensee shall establish that board-approved educational programs were not available within a reasonable distance from which the licensee was located and the licensee shall provide evidence of attendance at educational programs that substantially meet the requirements for approval by the Board.

OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND LICENSEE'S CONTROL: For circumstances, other than disability, military service, or absence from the continental United States, the licensee shall submit compelling evidence that the circumstances were good and sufficient for a waiver of the requirements.

SUMMARY

- * Pharmacy Technicians (licensed for a full two-year cycle) must have earned 20 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the board or have completed a proficiency examination during the 2-year period prior to the date of renewal of the license.
- * Pharmacy Technicians (licensed for more than one year but less than two years) must have earned 10 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board or have completed a proficiency examination during the licensure cycle prior to the date of renewal of the license.
- * Submission of the renewal application certifies that the continuing education requirements have been met.
- * Failure to complete the continuing education requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code.
- * Every pharmacy technician who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting the completion of continuing education. Those documents must be retained for 3 years from the date of applying for license renewal.

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the American's with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs know to this agency.