

FAQ

Bureau of Professional Licensing Podiatric Medicine & Surgery FAQ

1. How do I verify my Michigan DPM license to another state?

Send a written request for license verification that provides this office with the name and address of the Board you wish to receive the documentation. This request should include your name, license number and signature and must be accompanied by the required \$15.00 fee made payable to the State of Michigan. The verification process generally takes 20-30 business days from the time the request is received by the Department. The request should be mailed to:

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Professional Licensing Licensing Division P.O. Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909

2. How do I file a complaint against a health care professional?

Information on how to <u>File a Complaint Against a Health Care Licensee</u> can be located on the Bureau of Professional Licensing's website at <u>www.michigan.gov/bpl</u>.

3. Do I need to complete continuing education?

Yes. You can find the laws and rules containing the CE requirements at <u>www.michigan.gov/bpl</u> by selecting Laws, Rules & Other Resources. The Board does not maintain a record of continuing education earned. You are required to maintain your own records and keep documentation for a period of 4 years from the date of applying for license renewal.

4. Do I have to send in proof of completing the continuing education (CE) requirements with my renewal application?

An applicant for renewal is not required to submit proof of completion of their CE hours. However, an applicant for renewal shall retain documentation of meeting the requirements for a period of 4 years from the date of applying for license renewal. If selected for audit, a licensee is required to submit copies of their documentation confirming the completion of the CE requirements.





5. How long is the DPM license issued for?

An initial license is valid until the next license expiration date of the profession unless the license is issued less than 120 days prior to the expiration date and then it will carry to the following year. After your first renewal, your license will be valid for 3 years. Educational Limited licenses are renewed annually and may not be renewed for more than 5 years.

6. My renewal date is coming up soon. I know that the license/registration will be valid until the expiration date after I renew. Since I will be moving next year, I only want to renew it for 1 year. Can I do that?

No. When you renew your license/registration, it can only be renewed for the full 3-year renewal cycle.

7. When can I renew my license? How do I renew my license?

Licensees can begin to renew their licenses approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of their current license.

Licensees will be mailed a renewal notification to their address on record approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license. Remember to notify the Department in writing of any address change. It's a licensee's responsibility to renew his or her license on time. Failure to receive the renewal notification, or to notify the Department of an address change, does not exempt a licensee from renewing their license on time.

Licensees are required to renew their license(s) by using the online renewal system at <u>www.michigan.gov/elicense</u> using a debit or credit card containing a MasterCard, Visa or Discover logo or by electronic check.

8. Can I submit the renewal application for my controlled substance license before submitting the renewal for my professional license?

Regardless of when you submit your renewal, the professional license will have to be renewed first. If we receive the controlled substance renewal but not the professional license renewal, neither license will be renewed. The professional license renewal must be submitted before the process can begin.

9. Can I change my licensure status from an educational limited to a fully licensed DPM during renewal time?

Licensees cannot upgrade licensure during the renewal period. You must file a new application for a full license and meet current requirements set forth by the rules and regulations.



10. How can I change my name or address?

Name changes must be submitted in writing by downloading the Data Change/Duplicate License Request Form. Address changes and duplicate license requests can be submitted online at <u>www.michigan.gov/elicense</u> or in writing by downloading the Data Change/Duplicate License Request Form.

New licenses are not automatically issued for name and/or address changes. To receive a license with your new name and/or address, you must mail your request along with \$10.00 per license to the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Licensing Division, PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI 48909. The Data Change/Duplicate License Request Form can be emailed or mailed with no fee to the Bureau if a new license is not being requested.

11. What happens if my license or registration expires?

If your license or registration is not renewed within 60 days after your expiration date, your license or registration will lapse. The expiration date will reflect the original expiration date -- it will not include the grace period. For example: If your license expires March 1, you have until midnight April 30 to pay your renewal fee. If you do **not** pay by midnight April 30, your license is considered lapsed as of March 1. You will need to check with the agencies that provide reimbursement for your services to see if they honor the grace period.

When your license or registration lapses, you can no longer practice your profession nor can you identify yourself as a licensed or registered individual. Practicing without a valid license or registration is a felony under the Public Health Code and can result in legal proceedings as well as disciplinary actions.

It is **your responsibility** to make sure your license or registration is current and valid. We send renewal information to the last address on file approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date. If we have an incorrect address, you are still responsible for making sure your license has been renewed in a timely manner.

12. How long will you keep my licensure application on file?

For most professions, your application and fee are valid for two years. If you fail to meet the licensure/registration requirements within that time period, your file and fees are no longer valid and will be retained for one additional year after the fee date expires.



13. The application asks for the state(s) I have been licensed in, but what if I'm licensed in more than one state? Do you need verification from all states I have ever held a license in?

FAQ

Yes, we need verification from all states you have ever held a license (active or inactive). This is to ensure you have not had any disciplinary actions or suspensions and to ensure that your current license is in good standing.

14. I need to change my program on my Educational Limited license. How can I do that?

You will need to have the hospital fill out a new Certificate of Appointment to a Michigan Training Hospital form signed by the Director of Medical Education.

15. What license types are available?

- **Doctor of Podiatric Medicine & Surgery** This is a full license for a person qualified to engage in the practice of podiatric medicine & surgery.
- Educational Limited This is a license granted to a qualified individual to practice as a postgraduate student and requires the individual to confine their practice and training to a hospital or institution approved by the board for the training. The hospital or institution is responsible for the training.

16. Is everything in my file complete? How can I find out what is missing?

You will be sent a letter from the Department informing you of any missing information. You can easily track your file by checking the online checklist at <u>www.michigan.gov/appstatus</u>. Use your customer number and instructions that you will receive approximately 3 weeks after receipt of your application.

17. How long does it take to process my application?

Applications are processed as quickly as possible. We process applications in the order they are received.

18. How long does it take for your office to receive my correspondence?

It takes approximately 7-10 days from the mail date for our office to receive outside mail.

19. I work in more than one location. How can I have my license on display in all of my work areas?

You may make photocopies of your professional license to display in other work sites.

Updated 12/07/2018



20. Do I need a controlled substance license for every location in which I practice?

Effective December 2, 2004 you are no longer required to have a separate controlled substance license for each location in which you prescribe controlled substances. You only need one controlled substance license to prescribe controlled substances in Michigan regardless of the number of locations where you prescribe.

A separate controlled substance license is required for each physical location where you are receiving, storing, administering or dispensing controlled substances.

If you dispense any prescription drugs to patients other than complimentary starter dose drugs (samples), a drug control license is required for each physical location. This includes controlled substances as well as non-controlled drugs. A drug control license is not required if the dispensing occurs in the emergency department, emergency room, or trauma center of a licensed hospital.

21. Can you give me the information on my DEA license or how to get a DEA license?

The State of Michigan and the DEA are two separate entities. We are State and the DEA is Federal. If you have any questions concerning your DEA license, you can call them directly at 1-800-882-9539. You may also access the DEA website at <u>www.dea.gov</u>.

22. Do I have to renew my controlled substance (CS) license if I am not currently living in Michigan and my professional license is active? Can I renew my CS license later if I move back to Michigan?

You do not have to renew your controlled substance license unless you are currently prescribing or dispensing controlled substances in Michigan. You can reapply for your controlled substance license at a later time as long as your professional license is active in Michigan. You can find a controlled substance application to download by visiting www.michigan.gov/healthlicense and selecting Podiatric Medicine and Surgery.

23. There have been changes to the Public Health Code and Administrative Rules that require licensees and individuals seeking licensure to complete training for identifying victims of human trafficking. When does this take effect?

Administrative Rule R 338.8102 requires an individual licensed or seeking licensure to complete training to identify victims of human trafficking. This is a one-time training that is separate from continuing education (CE). Licensees who renewed in 2017 must complete training by renewal in 2020; renewals completed in 2018 must complete training by renewal in 2021; and renewals for 2019 by 2022. Beginning January 6, 2022, completion of training is a requirement for initial license issuance.

The department may select and audit a sample of individuals and request documentation of proof of completion of training.

Updated 12/07/2018

Page **5** of **6**



24. How can I meet the requirements for the completion of training in identifying victims of human trafficking?

The one-time human trafficking training may be done through: a teleconference or a webinar, online presentation, live presentation, or printed or electronic media. Refer to the Administrative Rules for more information.

The training must cover all of the following: understanding the types and venues of human trafficking in the United States; identifying victims of human trafficking in health care settings; identifying the warnings signs of human trafficking in health care settings for adults and minors; and identifying resources for reporting the suspected victims of human trafficking.

The training may be acquired through any of the following:

FAQ

- 1) A nationally recognized or state recognized, health related organization.
- 2) By or in conjunction with a state or federal agency.
- 3) An educational program that has been approved by the board for initial licensure, or by a college or university.
- 4) Reading an article related to the identification of victims of human trafficking as indicated above, and is published in a peer review journal, health care journal, or professional or scientific journal.

If audited, licensees shall provide acceptable proof of completion.

25. Is the jurisprudence exam required for licensure? Where do I schedule and take the exam?

All applicants for podiatry licensure must take and pass the jurisprudence examination before licensure can be issued. The passing score on the exam is 75%. The jurisprudence examination covers material that can be found in the Administrative Rules of the Michigan Board of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery, the Bureau of Professional Licensing General Administrative Rules and Article 1, Article 15, parts 161, 177 and 180 of the Michigan Public Health Code.

You may contact PSI to schedule your exam by visiting www.psiexams.com or by calling PSI at 800-733-9267.

CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED.