OVERVIEW:

The real estate salesperson license allows a licensee to be employed either directly or indirectly by a licensed real estate broker for compensation or valuable consideration.

NOTE: The content contained below is a general overview of licensing requirements. Links to access the Occupational Code and Administrative Rules for this profession can be found at the end of this guide.

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST

4 DDI 10 4 TION 4 NID TTTO

APPLICATION AND FEES	
Online Application for a Real Estate Salesperson License - Complete all fields, answer all questions, and upload any supporting documentation.	
Online applications can be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus	
3 year license fee: (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover credit or debit card) Real Estate Salesperson New Application: \$88.00	
THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS APPLY TO ALL APPLICANTS	
Good Moral Character Questions – I have the ability and will serve the public in a fair, honest, and open manner. If I have had a judgement of guilt in a criminal proceeding or a civil action against me, I am rehabilitated, or the substance of my former offense is not reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which I am seeking a license.	
Social Security Number (SSN) – An individual applying for licensure is required to provide his or her social security number at the time of application. If exempt under law from obtaining an SSN or you do not have an SSN, the SSN affidavit form will be required to be uploaded at the time the application is submitted.	
Consent to Service of Process - Non-Michigan residents must submit a completed Consent to Service of Process form.	

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE (This is in addition to the requirements stated above that apply to ALL Applicants) Must be at least 18 years of age. Qualifying Education - Complete 40 hours of approved prelicensure education courses which includes at least 4 hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity in housing. Examination – Proof of receiving a passing score on the Real Estate Salesperson examination administered by PSI. For exam related questions or to schedule your exam, contact PSI at www.psiexams.com or by calling 855-579-4635. After submitting your Michigan real estate salesperson application, you will receive an email providing you with your Exam Candidate ID number, which is required to register for your exam. Employing Broker Notification – You are required to have a licensed individual broker or broker company sponsor you to become licensed. After passing the Real Estate Salesperson exam, you will need to provide your employing broker information to complete the licensure process. This can be completed online by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus, select MiPlus Login, select "Modification" next to your application number and enter your employing brokers 10-digit license number. After the selected employing broker approves your request, your license will issue, and you will be notified via email. ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR THOSE APPLYING FOR RELICENSURE (These are in addition to the requirements stated above that apply to All Applicants) Online Application can be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus and selecting MiPLUS Login. Once logged in, click on the "Licenses" tab, select "Modification" next to your license number and then select "Relicensure." 3 year Application Fee: (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover credit or debit card) Real Estate Salesperson Relicensure: \$108.00 Disciplinary Question – If you have unsatisfied penalties or conditions imposed by disciplinary action in this state or any other jurisdiction you will be required to submit documentation from the State in which the sanction was imposed indicating the resolution. Applicants for relicensure whose license has been expired for less than 3 years after the expiration date of the license may relicense by completing at least 6 hours of real estate continuing education for each

year and partial year that have elapsed since the expiration of his or her last license. At least 2 hours per year must involve laws, rules, and court cases regarding real estate. At least 1 hour per year must involve

compliance with local, state, or federal fair housing laws.

Applicants for relicensure whose license has been expired for 3 years or more after the expiration date of the license must submit ONE of the following:		
	Examination – Proof of receiving a passing score on the Real Estate Salesperson examination administered by PSI.	
	After submitting your Michigan real estate salesperson application, you will receive an email providing you with your Exam Candidate ID number, which is required to register for your exam.	
	Qualifying Education – Submit a copy of an approved 40-hour prelicensure course completion certificate that was completed within the last 12 months.	
	Continuing Education – Submit proof of completion of 6 hours of real estate continuing education for each year and partial year missed. At least 2 hours per year must involve laws, rules, and court cases regarding real estate. At least 1 hour per year must involve compliance with local, state, or federal fair housing laws.	
	RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS CHECKLIST	
	Online Application for Real Estate Salesperson Renewal – Must be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus .	
	Real Estate Salesperson Renewal Application Fee – \$78.00 (Must be paid by Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover credit or debit card.)	
	Renewal Cycle: 3 years	
	Continuing Education – You MUST complete the continuing education requirements BEFORE completing the online renewal application. Within each 3-year cycle, a licensee must still complete at least 18 clock hours of CE courses that involve any subjects that are relevant to the management, operation, and practice of real estate or any other subject that contributes to the professional competence of a licensee.	
	A licensee must complete the following number of hours of eligible continuing education courses in each year of a license cycle:	
	Not less than 2 hours of courses that involve laws, rules, and court cases regarding real estate.	
	Not less than 1 hour of courses that involve compliance with local, state, or federal fair housing laws.	
	The remaining hours can be completed any time prior to renewing the license.	

Accept Renewal Attestation – If you have not met the continuing education requirements and cannot certify to the above statement at the time of your renewal application, you should not submit the online renewal application.
HELPFUL RESOURCES AND FORMS
By visiting www.michigan.gov/occupationallicense and clicking on the Real Estate Broker/Salesperson link you can access the following helpful resources and forms:
Resources:
 ☐ Michigan Occupational Code ☐ Administrative Rules for Real Estate Salespersons
Forms:
□ Consent to Service of Process
Track continuing education using CE Marketplace – The Bureau of Professional Licensing (BPL) has partnered with CE Marketplace to help licensed professionals keep track of their continuing education (CE) credits.