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1. HOW THE PROFESSION IS ORGANIZED IN MICHIGAN

OVERVIEW 

This guide looks at things that you as a foreign-educated real estate professional 
must do to become eligible for a real estate license in Michigan.  At the same 
time, it includes some background and tips on the larger real estate profession to 
give you an idea of the variety of opportunities available as you work to rebuild 
your career.  The real estate profession encompasses the following: 

• Real Estate Brokers are licensed to manage their own businesses.
Brokers, as independent business people, often sell real estate owned by 
others.  In addition to helping clients buy and sell properties, they may help 
rent or manage properties for a fee.  Many operate a real estate office, 
handling business details and overseeing the work of salespeople. 

• Real Estate Salesperson must work with a broker.  Sales agents often
work for brokers on a contract basis, earning a portion of the commission 
from each property they sell. 

REGULATION OF THE REAL ESTATE PROFESSION IN MICHIGAN 

The Bureau of Professional Licensing (BPL) within the Michigan Department of 
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) regulates the real estate profession in 
Michigan.  Before you can be eligible for licensure, you must meet certain 
training requirements and pass a state examination.  The examination is 
administered by PSI Services LLC (PSI) through testing centers in Michigan. 

2. ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING

I. The process for obtaining a salesperson license: 

• 40 hours of approved prelicensure education courses which
includes 4 hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity in housing.



• Be at least 18 years of age 
• Be of good moral character 
• Submit any required documentation requested by the Department 
• Pass the required examination. 
 

The process for obtaining a Real Estate Broker license: 
 

• 90 hours of approved prelicensure education courses which 
includes 4 hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity in housing. 

• 3 years of real estate related experience 
• Be at least 18 years of age 
• Be of good moral character 
• Submit any required documentation requested by the Department 
• Pass the required examination. 
 

 
II. Prelicensure 

 
Salesperson 
An applicant for a Real Estate Salesperson license must complete 40 
hours of approved prelicensure education prior to taking the examination 
or submitting a license application to the Department.  The 40 hours of 
approved prelicensure courses must include at least 4 hours on civil rights 
law and equality opportunity in housing.   

 
Broker 
An applicant for a Real Estate Broker license must complete 90 hours of 
approved prelicensure education prior to taking the examination or 
submitting a license application to the Department.  The 90 hours of 
approved prelicensure courses must include at least 9 hours on civil rights 
law and equality opportunity in housing.   
 
All prelicensure education courses must be approved by the Department.  
A list of approved prelicensure education courses is available on the Real 
Estate website at www.michigan.gov/realestate.  Courses are still being 
developed; therefore, please continue to visit the Real Estate website for 
updated information.     

 
III. Apply for Real Estate License 

 
Salesperson 
After you have completed the 40 hour prelicensure education requirement, 
you may apply for a real estate salesperson license online 
at www.michigan.gov/icola.  If you list your employing brokers permanent 
identification number when applying, you need to inform your employer 
that you have submitted your license application in order for the employer 

http://www.michigan.gov/icola


to approve the employment relationship.  You do not need an employing 
broker at the time you submit the license application, and broker 
information may be supplied to the State of Michigan at a later time using 
the Employing broker Notification form. 

 
You must meet all requirements for licensure before receiving approval by 
the Department to take the examination that is required to obtain a Real 
Estate Salesperson license.  Once you receive an authorization to test 
(ATT) letter, you may contact PSI Services LLC, the exam provider, at 1-
800-733-9267, or go to the website at www.psiexams.com, to register for 
the examination.   The ATT letter will contain a six-digit exam candidate 
“MIRE” (Michigan Real Estate) number and complete examination 
registration instructions. 

 
Once you have passed the examination and an employing broker has 
approved sponsorship, a license will be issued as a Real Estate 
Salesperson.  Licenses are mailed to the employing broker who employs 
the Real Estate Salesperson, and they will retain custody of the 
salesperson’s certificate of license and deliver the pocket card to the 
salesperson. 
 
Broker 
After you have completed the 90 hour prelicensure education requirement, 
you may obtain a Real Estate Broker License Application on the Real 
Estate website at www.michigan.gov/realestate.    

 
 
3. EXAMINATIONS 
 
Salesperson 
Using the contact information contained in your “ATT” email, you may provide 
PSI with your MIRE number, then schedule and pay for your exam.  To 
determine what is covered on the examinations, please visit PSI’s website 
at www.psiexams.com to download the appropriate Candidate Information 
Bulletin (CIB).  The CIB provides helpful information regarding the examination, 
such as an outline of the examination, suggested reference list, etc. 
 
The cost for examination is $76.00 and requires a passing score of 70%.  The 
cost to retake the exam is $76.00. 
 
Broker 
Prior to applying for the Real Estate Brokers license you must successfully pass 
the exam for Real Estate Brokers. To determine what is covered on the 
examinations, please visit PSI’s website at www.psiexams.com to download the 
appropriate Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB). The CIB provides helpful 

http://www.psiexams.com/


information regarding the examination, such as an outline of the examination, 
suggested reference list, etc. 

The cost to take the examination is $76.00 and requires a passing score of 75%. 
The cost to retake the exam is $76.00. 

4. TIME AND COSTS

To be successfully licensed as a Real Estate Salesperson or Broker in Michigan 
depends on a number of factors, including: 

• Your completion of the prelicensure requirements
• Your performance on required examinations
• Your free time and what you can afford to spend on licensing

We provide two hypothetical scenarios to show just some of the variety of results 
that immigrant professionals may find when they seek to become licensed in 
Michigan. Please consider these scenarios as two examples out of many 
possibilities. Please understand that individual experiences may vary. 

SALESPERSON HYPOTHETICAL SCENARIOS: 

Step More Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 

Less Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 

1 
Prelicensure 

• You complete the 40 hour
prelicensure requirement within
one week.

• 1 weeks + $189.00

NOTE:  The Bureau of Professional 
Licensing does not regulate the 
cost of the approved educational 
courses so the cost may vary with 
each course. 

• You complete the 40 hour
prelicensure requirement in 6
months.

• 6 months + $189.00

NOTE:  The Bureau of Professional 
Licensing does not regulate the 
cost of the approved educational 
courses so the cost may vary with 
each course. 

2 
Satisfaction of 
Requirements 

• Submit application with
application fee

• Included copies of certificates
confirming the completion of
prelicensure requirements

• Employing broker confirms
sponsorship.

• 1 week + application fee

• Submit application with
application fee

• Included copies of certificates
confirming completion of
prelicensure requirements

• Did not have employing broker
confirm sponsorship.

• 3 months + application fee

3 
Exams 

• Pass exam on first attempt • Have to retake the exam



Step More Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 

Less Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 

• 1 week + $76.00 • Takes 6 months to retake the 
exam 

• 6 months + $76.00 

 • More Efficient Total 
Approximately 1 week + 
$189.00 prelicensure fee + 
application fee + $76.00 exam 
fee. 

• Less Efficient Total 
Approximately 9 months + 
$189.00 prelicensure fee + 
application fee + $152.00 exam 
fee. 

BROKER HYPOTHETICAL SCENARIOS: 

Step More Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 

Less Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 

1 
Prelicensure 

• You complete the 90 hour 
prelicensure requirement within 
two weeks. 

• 2 weeks + $650.00 

NOTE:  The Bureau of Professional 
Licensing does not regulate the 
cost of the approved educational 
courses so the cost may vary with 
each course. 

• You complete the 60 hour 
prelicensure requirement in 6 
months. 

• 6 months + $650.00 

NOTE:  The Bureau of Professional 
Licensing does not regulate the 
cost of the approved educational 
courses so the cost may vary with 
each course. 

2 
Satisfaction of 
Requirements 

• Submit application with 
application fee 

• Complete application showing 3 
years of experience 

• 2 weeks + application fee 

• Submit application with 
application fee 

• Did not have 3 years of 
experience 

• Did not respond immediately to 
Notice of Incomplete 
Application by providing 
experience 

• 3 months + application fee 

3 
Exams 

• Pass exam on first attempt 
• 2 weeks + $76.00 

• Have to retake exam 
• Takes 6 months to pass the 

exam 
• 6 months + $650.00 

prelicensure education + 



Step More Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 

Less Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 
$152.00 exam fee 

 • More Efficient Total 
Approximately 2 weeks + 
$650.00 prelicensure education 
+ $76.00 exam fee + application 
fee 

• Less Efficient Total 
Approximately 6 months + 
$650.00 prelicensure education 
+ $152.00 exam fee + 
application fee 

 

4. OTHER CAREERS AND CREDENTIALS  
 
A Branch Office is a separate office location for a licensed Real Estate Broker.  If 
a Broker Company is operating out of more than one location, the second 
location must be licensed as a Branch Office.   
 
A licensed Real Estate broker may obtain a Branch Office license application on 
the Real Estate website at www.michigan.gov/realestate. 

5. BEYOND LICENSING 

MAINTAINING LICENSURE 

Real Estate licenses expire on October 31 every three years.  Licensees will 
receive a renewal notice approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date. You 
must renew the license online and the cost to renew is $78.00 for a salesperson, 
and $108.00 for a broker.  If your license expires for longer than 60 days, you will 
be required to apply for relicensure to reactivate your license. 

As a condition of renewal, you must have successfully completed at least 18 
hours continuing education during a 3 year license cycle.  Each calendar year, at 
least 2 hours of the required 18 hours must be regarding laws, rules, and court 
cases in real estate.   

LICENSING MOBILITY (RECIPROCITY) 

Michigan does not have a reciprocal agreement with any other state. 

6. IMPORTANT LINKS 

LICENSING AND REGULATION 



• The Bureau of Professional Licensing is the state regulatory agency for
the real estate profession in Michigan. The Bureau’s website is
www.michigan.gov/bpl. The website specifically for the real estate
profession is www.michigan.gov/realestate, which includes links to the real
estate profession’s laws and administrative rules, applications, frequently
asked questions, etc.

• Contact information: Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs,
BPL-Licensing Division, PO Box 30018, Lansing MI 48909.

• Telephone Number 517-241-9288; Fax: 517-373-7179 
Email: bplhelp

TESTING 

• Candidate Information Bulletins are available on PSI’s website
at www.psiexams.com or you may click one of the links below:

Exam bulletin for Real Estate Salesperson

Exam bulletin for Real Estate Broker

http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154--380409--,00.html
http://www.psiexams.com/
https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=209&bulletinurl=.pdf
https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=209&bulletinurl=.pdf
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