

BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

Social Work FAQs

1. How long are initial licenses/registrations valid? Can I renew my license/registration early? How will I know when I need to renew?

Limited licenses are valid for one year from the date of issuance. Full licenses are valid for three years from the date of issuance. Licenses are eligible for renewal 90 days prior to the expiration date. Renewal notifications are sent by email and by postal mail to the address on record. Failure to receive the renewal notification, or to notify the Department of an address change within 30 days of the date of change, does not exempt a licensee from renewing their license/registration on time. Licensees can update their contact information at any time through their MIPLUS account.

2. How many times can I renew my limited license?

Per R 338.2939 and R 338.2947 of the general rules for social work professionals, a limited license is for the purpose of accumulating supervised work experience hours under the supervision of a licensed master social worker. Limited licenses are issued for 1 year and may be renewed not more than 6 times. Relicensure of this limited license is counted the same as renewal. You should only apply for or renew the limited license to gain experience towards the full license.

There are no provisions in the statute that allow for an extension of the 6 renewals/relicensures allowable under R 338.2939 and R 338.2947.

3. How much time do I have to meet all the requirements for licensure/relicensure?

MCL 333.16307(3) states in-relevant part:

All requirements for licensure or registration shall be completed within 2 years after receipt of the application by the department. If the requirements are not completed within the 2-year period, the fees paid shall be forfeited to the department and the application shall be void. An individual whose application has been determined void under this subsection shall submit a new application and fees and shall meet the standards in effect on the date of receipt of the new application.

Documents received with a previous application will not be included as part of a new application.

4. I am a Social Service Technician. Am I required to complete Continuing Education?

Yes. Anyone licensed under the Michigan Public Health Code must complete 1 hour of implicit bias training for each year of the license or registration cycle, in compliance with R 338.7004.

5. I am a Limited Licensee. Am I required to complete Continuing Education?

Yes. Anyone licensed under the Michigan Public Health Code must complete 1 hour of implicit bias training for each year of the license or registration cycle, in compliance with R 338.7004.

6. How will the State know how many Continuing Education credits I have earned?

At the time of renewal, an applicant must certify they have completed the required CE. Licensees shall retain documentation of meeting the requirements for a period of 5 years from the date of applying for license renewal. If selected for audit, a licensee is required to submit proof of CE completion to the Department upon request. Implicit bias certificates of completion must be kept for 6 years after the date of application for licensure, registration, relicensure or renewal.

7. What are the requirements for Identifying Victims of Human Trafficking?

MCL 333.16148 requires all health care professionals to complete training in identifying victims of human trafficking.

Effective December 22, 2021, individuals seeking initial licensure must have completed a training in human trafficking prior to obtaining a license. The training must comply with R 338.2929 of the general rules for social work professionals.

Effective March 31, 2021, <u>Rule 338.2961(4)</u> of the general rules for social work professionals, states at least 2 of the 45 continuing education hours in each renewal cycle must be in human trafficking.

8. How do I earn work experience for a full Bachelor or Master Social Worker license when applying by examination?

Per R 338.2941 and R 338.2949 of the general rules for social work professionals, work experience must have been earned while holding a Michigan limited master or Michigan limited bachelor social worker license.

If your limited license was issued on or after March 31, 2021, your work experience must be completed under the supervision of a Michigan-licensed master social worker.

If your limited license was issued prior to March 31, 2021, and then expired, and you are now applying for relicensure, your work experience must be completed under the supervision of a Michigan licensed master social worker.

9. What exams are accepted in the State of Michigan?

Michigan accepts the ASWB Bachelor's exam, the ASWB Advanced Generalist exam and the ASWB Clinical exam.

10. How do I file a complaint against a health care professional?

Information on how to file an allegation against a health care professional can be found on the Bureau of Professional Licensing Website at www.michigan.gov/bpl under File a Complaint.

11. Where can I find a copy of the Administrative Rules and Public Health Code pertaining to social workers?

You may view the current Administrative Rules and the Public Health Code by visiting www.michigan.gov/bpl and selecting Laws, Rules & Other Resources.

12. When did the Implicit Bias training go into effect?

Effective June 1, 2022, Implicit Bias training will be required for any renewal or new application that is completed on or after that date.

13. How many hours of Implicit Bias training do I need?

<u>New applicants</u> for licensure or registration are required to have completed 2 hours of Implicit Bias training within the 5 years immediately preceding issuance of their license or registration.

<u>Renewal applicants</u> and registrants are required to complete 1 hour of implicit bias training for each year of their license or registration cycle. Example: If your license is issued for 3 years, then you must complete 3 hours of implicit bias training during each renewal cycle.

14. Can I count Implicit Bias training towards my continuing education requirements?

Yes, effective March 23, 2023, Implicit Bias training can be used to satisfy continuing education requirements.

15. Can I complete the Implicit Bias Training online?

Acceptable modalities include a teleconference or webinar that allows live synchronous interaction, a live presentation or an asynchronous teleconference or webinar. More information regarding the Implicit Bias Training can be found on the Implicit Bias FAQ document.

16. How do I submit my 4,000 hours of supervision for exam eligibility?

Once you have accrued 4,000 hours of acceptable supervision while holding your limited master social worker license, submit the completed Supervisor's Verification of Social Work Experience for Master's Social Worker License form(s) to bpldata@michigan.gov and please put "SW Exam Eligibility" in the email subject line.

The completed Supervisor's Verification of Social Work Experience for Bachelor's Social Worker License form(s) showing completion of 4,000 hours of acceptable supervision can be submitted with your application, as you are made eligible for the bachelor exam upon issuance of your limited bachelor social worker license.

The forms can be found on our website at www.michigan.gov/socialworker under the section "Licensing Applications and Forms."