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BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED. 

MICHIGAN REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSING GUIDE 

 

ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING – LIMITED APPRAISER 
 

 Complete 75 hours of approved prelicensure appraiser education, including, 15 
hours in a National USPAP course.  A list of approved prelicensure courses may 
be found at www.michigan.gov/appraisers.  

 Submit an online application at www.michigan.gov/mylicense or submit the 
Limited Real Estate Appraiser License Application found at 
www.michigan.gov/appraisers.  

 Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and be of good moral 
character.  The fee due at the time of the application is $160. 

 

ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING – STATE LICENSED APPRAISER 
 

 Complete 150 hours of approved prelicensure appraiser education, including, 15 
hours in a National USPAP course, and possess 30 semester hours of college-
level education or an Associate degree from an accredited college, junior college, 
community college, or university.  A list of approved prelicensure courses may be 
found at www.michigan.gov/appraisers.   

 Complete 2,000 hours of experience over at least a 12-month period. 

 Submit an online application at www.michigan.gov/mylicense or submit the Real 
Estate Appraiser License Application found at www.michigan.gov/appraisers. 

 Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and be of good moral 
character.  The fee due at the time of the application is $35. 

 Pass the required examination administered by PSI Services, LLC (PSI).  The 
cost of the examination is $126. 

 Upon passing the examination, an additional fee of $175 will be required 
prior to issuance of the license. 
 

ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING – CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL APPRAISER 
 

 Complete 200 hours of approved prelicensure appraiser education, including, 15 
hours in a National USPAP course, and possess a Bachelor’s degree from an 
accredited college, junior college, community college, or university.  A list of 
approved prelicensure courses may be found at www.michigan.gov/appraisers.    

 Complete 2,500 hours of experience during not less than a 24-month period. 

 Submit an online application at www.michigan.gov/mylicense or submit the Real 
Estate Appraiser License Application found at www.michigan.gov/appraisers.  

 

1. When does this new pharmacy technician law come into effect? 
 

This new law is in effect beginning December 22, 2014. 
 

 

2. Am I required to be licensed as a pharmacy technician in order to engage in the 
practice of pharmacy in Michigan? 

 

Yes, the law requires that all pharmacy technicians have a Michigan license to engage in the 
practice of pharmacy in this state.  
   
 

3. Does the new law contain any prohibitions? 
 

If you are performing services cited in MCL 333.17739, then you must obtain a pharmacy technician license.  For more 

detailed information, please refer to the following link:  http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-333-17739-added 

 

4. When can I start the application process? 
 

December 22, 2014. Applications will be made available beginning on the effective date of the law.   

 

5. Where can I download application forms?     
 

Please visit our website link:  

http://michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35299_63294_63303---,00.html 

Under heading “Licensed Health Professions” click the drop down list and select “Pharmacy.”  Look for the Pharmacy 

Technician applications under the heading “Licensing Applications and Forms.”  

 

6. Is there a deadline when the pharmacy technicians are required to be licensed? 
 

Pharmacy Technicians are required to be licensed on the effective date of the legislation that 
is December 22, 2014.  The Department will work diligently to process applications as quickly 
as possible. 

 

 

7. What license types are available?  
 

http://www.michigan.gov/appraisers
http://www.michigan.gov/mylicense
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_LAP020_496295_7.pdf?20151021144709
http://www.michigan.gov/appraisers
http://www.michigan.gov/appraisers
http://www.michigan.gov/mylicense
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_real_estate_appraiser_license_application_LAP010_496298_7.pdf?20151021144709
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_real_estate_appraiser_license_application_LAP010_496298_7.pdf?20151021144709
http://www.michigan.gov/appraisers
http://www.michigan.gov/appraisers
http://www.michigan.gov/mylicense
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_real_estate_appraiser_license_application_LAP010_496298_7.pdf?20151021144709
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_real_estate_appraiser_license_application_LAP010_496298_7.pdf?20151021144709
http://www.michigan.gov/appraisers
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-333-17739-added
http://michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35299_63294_63303---,00.html
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 Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and be of good moral 
character.  The fee due at the time of the application is $35. 

 Pass the required examination administered by PSI Services, LLC (PSI).  The 
cost of the examination is $126. 

 Upon passing the examination, an additional fee of $175 will be required 
prior to issuance of the license. 

 

ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING – CERTIFIED GENERAL APPRAISER 
 

 Complete 300 hours of approved prelicensure appraiser education, including, 15 
hours in a National USPAP course, and possess a Bachelor’s degree or higher 
from an accredited college, junior college, community college, or university.  A list 
of approved prelicensure courses may be found at 
www.michigan.gov/appraisers. 

 Complete 3,000 hours of experience over a 30 month period of which 1,500 
hours must be in non-residential properties. 

 Submit an online application at www.michigan.gov/mylicense or submit the Real 
Estate Appraiser License Application found at www.michigan.gov/appraisers.   

 Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and be of good moral 
character.  The fee due at the time of the application is $35. 

 Pass the required examination administered by PSI Services, LLC (PSI).  The 
cost of the examination is $126. 

 Upon passing the examination, an additional fee of $175 will be required 
prior to issuance of the license. 

 

 

*Records unavailable from a foreign country in relation to education or experience shall 
be allowed upon submitting the following to the department: 
 
(a) A notarized affidavit approved stating the total number of years of education 
received, the name of the school or schools attended, the dates each school was 
attended, the degree obtained, the courses taken, the grades received, and the names 
of each former employer. 
(b) A notarized statement approved from a governmental official testifying to the 

unavailability of the necessary records. 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/appraisers
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_real_estate_appraiser_license_application_LAP010_496298_7.pdf?20151021144709
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_real_estate_appraiser_license_application_LAP010_496298_7.pdf?20151021144709
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