## Application for Journeyman, Master Electrician, Fire Alarm Specialty Technician or Sign Specialist Examination and Licensure

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Construction Codes / Licensing Division P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909 Phone: 517-241-9316

Phone: 517-241-9316 lara-bcc-licensing@michigan.gov

Agency Use Only

Authority: 2016 PA 407 Penalty: Failure to provide	the information requested may resu	lt in denial of your request.,				am. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable dividuals with disabilities.		
						s under "honorable" or "general unde either a DD-214, and/or DD-215 to you		
	ne at https://aca3.accela.d	com/lara						
Or								
Mail completed application, required documents, and license fee to the address listed above. ☐ Veteran exemption.								
	/ and require an accom nal, doctor, psychologist		ne examination, p	olease sub	mit writte	en documentation from a professiona		
**** Any documentatio	n submitted with your ar	onlication becomes	nranarty of the St	tate of Mick	higan and	d will not be returned		
Please Check One:			erty of the State of Michigan and will not be returned.  On   Master Electrician Examination					
Please Check One:   Journeyman Electrician Examinati  Fire Alarm Specialty Technician				□Sign Specialist				
A!	<u>-</u>	cialty reconnician	1	⊔Sign	Specia	IIIST		
Applicant Informatio  NAME (First Name, Middle Initia						SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER		
(	,,							
ADDRESS		CITY				ICE REGISTRATION OR JOURNEYMAN LICENSE IF APPLYING FOR MASTER ELECTRICIAN EXAM		
					NOWBER	IF AFFLITING FOR IMASTER ELECTRICIAIN EXAM		
COUNTY		STATE	ZIP CODE			TELEPHONE NUMBER (Include Area Code)		
E-MAIL ADDRESS								
By checking this he	y you are cortifying t	hat you are at los	set 20 years of	aga for th	o iourn	eyman exam or 22 years of age		
for the master exar		riat you are at lea	ist 20 years or	age ioi ii	ie journ	eyman exam or 22 years or age		
TOT THE THASTET EXAL	п. ⊔							
Г	Day was a set leafe was a	-4: - :-			aa Ha	- Only Malidation		
Fee Payment Information  You will be notified by the third party testing agency (PSI)			\	For office Use Only - Validation				
with instructions on		)						
	e will be paid to PSI							
Pursuant to statute application.	of							
Sign Specialist License Fire Alarm Specialty Technician License		\$40.00 (104 \$40.00 \$50.00 \$50.00	)					
iviake your check o	r money order payab	ie to:						
STATE OF MICHIGAN – BCC								
And mail to the add	dress above							

## **EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS**

**Fire Alarm Specialty Technician** must be at least 20 years old and has certification by the national institute for certification in engineering technology as an associate engineering technician, level II, or the equivalent as determined by the board, in the field of fire alarm systems technology. Attach NICET certificate to this application

For the following - You must attach a notarized letter from your present and former employers documenting your experience.

**Journey Applicant** must be at least 20 years of age and must provide notarized documentation from present and former employers verifying the applicant has not less than 8,000 hours experience obtained over a period of at least 4 years related to electrical construction or maintenance of buildings, or electrical wiring or equipment under the direct supervision of an individual licensed pursuant to the act.

**Master Applicant** must be at least 22 years of age and must provide notarized documentation from present and former employers verifying the applicant has at least 12,000 hours of experience that was obtained over a period of 6 years or more, is related to electrical construction, the maintenance of buildings, or electrical wiring or equipment and was performed under the supervision of a master electrician and has held an electrical journeyman license for at least 2 years.

**Sign Specialist** must be at least 18 years old and provide notarized documentation from present and former employers verifying the applicant has at least 4,000 hours of experience that was obtained over a period of not less than 2 years, related to the manufacture, installation, maintenance, connection or repair of electric signs and related wiring, as verified by a contractor licensed under the act. Demonstrate the successful completion of a course concerning the installation, maintenance, connection, or repair of electric signs and related wiring as contained in the sign electricians workbook published by the American Technical Publishers, Inc. or any other course designed to address the installation, maintenance, connection, or repair of electric signs and related wiring, as approved by the board.

## **CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE**

I certify that I meet all of the requirements of 2016 pa 407 for the examination and license for which I am applying and that the statements in this application are true and correct. I am aware that obtaining a license fraudulently is grounds for disciplinary action.						
APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE	DATE					

BCC-341 (Rev. 10/18) Page 2 of 2