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Child Care Center Inspections

• Original

• Renewal

• Interim

• Special Investigation
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License Types & Disciplinary Actions

• Original Provisional

– Effective for 6 months

• Regular

– Effective for 2 years

• Disciplinary Actions

– 1st/2nd/3rd/4th Provisional

• Effective for 6 months

– Revocation

– Summary Suspension 
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Laws and Rules that Apply to 

Child Care Centers

• Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116)

• Licensing Rules for Child Care Centers

• Other Laws:

– Child Protection Law

– Michigan Vehicle Code

– Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act 
(NREPA) - Pesticide Management

– American with Disabilities Act

– Children’s Product Safety Act

– Public Health Code
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Children’s Protective Services Requirements

Child Protection Law (1975 PA 238)

• Child care providers, including all employees and volunteers of 
a center, are mandated reporters. 

• If reasonable cause to suspect child abuse or neglect – it MUST 
be reported.

– Immediate oral report by calling (855) 444-3911.

– Written report within 72 hours after the oral report using 
the form DHS-3200.

• Resources at:
www.michigan.gov/mandatedreporter.
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Children’s Protective Services Requirements

The licensee must have a:

• Written plan to assure compliance with the 
mandated reporting requirement of the Child 
Protection Law.

• Statement signed by each staff and volunteer that 
she/he:
– Knows child abuse and neglect is against the law.

– Has been informed of the center’s policies on child abuse 
and neglect.

– Knows ALL staff and volunteers MUST immediately contact 
Children’s Protective Services when child abuse/neglect is 
suspected and follow-up in writing in 72 hours.
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8125 (11)-(12)
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Michigan Vehicle Code (1949 PA 300)

MCL 257.710d and 257.710e

• Requirements for use of child restraint devices, e.g., 

car seats/booster seats/seat belts.

• Child restraint devices are not required for children 

transported on a school bus, a multifunction school 

activity bus or any vehicle designed to carry 16 or 

more passengers, including the driver.

• Resources at www.michigansafekids.org.
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8740(1)-(2)

NRPEA - Pesticide Management (1994 PA 451)

MCL 324.8316

• Integrated Pest Management program must be 
developed and implemented when pesticide 
application will occur on the premises.

– Requires annual parent notification that pesticide 
application occurs. Annual notice must be sent in 
September.

– Advance notice prior to each application of pesticides.

– Indoor application only when rooms will be unoccupied for 
at least 4 hours.
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8380(9)

American with Disabilities Act

Americans with Disabilities Act

• Prevents discrimination and exclusion from 
programs.

• Requires programs to make reasonable modifications 
that don’t cause a fundamental alteration.

• Requires programs to offer services for effective 
communication that don’t cause an undue burden.

• Requires buildings be readily achievable or fully 
accessible.

• Resources at www.ada.gov.
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Children’s Product Safety Act

Children’s Product Safety Act (219 PA 2000)

• Prohibits use of recalled and unsafe children’s 

products.

• Requires list of recalled and unsafe products 

to be posted.

• MCCM has list available at 

www.michigan.gov/mccmatters.

• Resources at www.cpsc.gov.
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8173(1)-(2)

Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116) 

MCL 722.115e – Reportable Offenses

• Licensee must report to the department within 3 
business days after being arraigned on a “reportable” 
offense.

• An employee of a center must report to the center 
within 3 business days after being arraigned on a 
“reportable” offense (BCAL-1486 can be used).

• Arraigned means going to court and    having to 
plead “guilty” or “not guilty” to a criminal charge.

• When in doubt, notify your consultant.
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8110(1)(e)

Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116) 

MCL 722.115c – Fingerprints

12

– Fingerprinting required for 
licensee, licensee designee 
and all program directors.

– New fingerprint scans are 
not required at renewal.

8110(1)(c)
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Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116) 

MCL 722.113f – “High Risk” Investigation

• Notification to parents when there is a “high risk” 

investigation (child abuse or neglect allegations).

• DHHS (CPS) will provide you with written notification 

that you can share with parents.

• Licensing will verify that parents were notified. 
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Licensing Rules for Child Care Centers
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Licensee Responsibilities

Have in a place accessible and visible to parents:

• Current license and the letter extending the license 

beyond the expiration date, if applicable.

• Copy of the current Licensing Rules for Child Care 

Centers and any variances granted. 

• Notice stating that criminal history checks are 

required for employees and whether they are done 

on volunteers.
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8110(3)

Licensee Responsibilities

• Release children to anyone authorized by 

either parent and to either parent unless 

there is a court order on file at the center.

• Parents are able to visit the program for the 

purpose of observing their children during 

hours of operation.
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8110(6)-(7) 
8179(12)

Licensee Responsibilities

– Cooperate with any state or local department/agency

in connection to inspections and investigations 

related to the center license. 

• Assure information provided is accurate

and truthful.

– Provide access to all relevant records,

materials and staff.
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8110(9)

Licensing Notebook

All centers must maintain a licensing notebook. 

• It must include all licensing inspection reports, special 
investigation reports and all related corrective action 
plans (CAP). 

• It must also include a summary sheet outlining all the 
reports and CAPs. The Licensing Notebook Summary 
Sheet (BCAL-5052) may be used.

• It must include all reports issued and CAPs developed 
since May 28, 2010 until the license is closed.

• The notebook must be made available for review at all 
times during regular business hours.
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MCL 722.113g
8110(4)
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Licensee Responsibilities

All records must be retained for 2 years, except:

• The name, address and telephone number for each 

child enrolled and each employee for at least 2 years 

after they have left the center.

• Staff/volunteer health records and documentation of 

qualifications retained until that person has left the 

center.

• Licensing notebook maintained and retained until 

the license is closed.
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8110(11)

Definitions
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• Staff – Any compensated employee of the 
center, including the director, 
caregivers, drivers, kitchen
and maintenance personnel.

• Caregiver – Any person 18
years of age or older who 
provides direct care, education, 
supervision, and guidance of children.

• Volunteer – a person 16 years of age or older 
who is not a compensated employee of the 
center. A volunteer can be considered a 
caregiver if 18 years of age or older.

8101(c), (t) & (u)

Staff Requirements

• Before making an offer of employment, the center 
must perform an ICHAT criminal history check on the 
person (www.michigan.gov/ichat).

– Criminal history results may be shared between school 
districts and licensing.

– Documentation (on BCAL-5001) that fingerprints were 
completed on school employees can be used in lieu of 
ICHAT.

• If the individual has lived outside MI as an
adult within the past 10 years, a criminal 
history check must be requested for all 
states of previous residence during those 
10 years. 
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8125(4) & (9)
MCL 722.115d

Staff Requirements

If ICHAT reveals any of the following, the center 
must not make an offer of employment to 
that person:

• A “listed” offense (defined 1994 PA 295, MCL 

28.722).

• Child abuse or child neglect.

• A felony involving harm or threatened harm to an 

individual within the 10 years immediately preceding 

the date of hire.
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8125(5)
MCL 722.115d

Staff Requirements

• Staff must be of responsible character and 

suitable to meet the needs of children.

• Provide documentation before employment that 

the person has not been named as a perpetrator 

of child abuse/neglect.

• Central registry clearance from DHHS. 

• Resource: 

www.michigan.gov/canregistryclearance.
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8125(2) & (7)

Staff Requirements

Criminal history checks and central registry 

clearances for all staff and volunteers, if 

required, must be updated every 2 years at 

renewal and upon request by the department.

24

8125(10)
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Staff Requirements

Staff must have:

• Documentation of negative TB test - required 
only once.
– Dated within one year before employment.

• Physical - required only
once.
– Dated 6 months before 

or 30 days after the start
of employment.

– Not required for staff hired 
after 1/1/14.
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8128

Volunteer Requirements

• Written policy regarding supervision of volunteers, 
including when a volunteer cannot have 
unsupervised contact with children.

• Provide documentation before unsupervised contact 
with children that the volunteer has not been named 
as a perpetrator of child abuse/neglect.

– Must have central registry clearance from DHHS.

– Resource: www.michigan.gov/canregistryclearance. 
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8125(3)(b) & (8)

Volunteer Requirements

• Provide documentation before unsupervised contact 
with children that the volunteer has not been 
convicted of any of the following:

� Child abuse or neglect.

� A felony involving harm or threatened harm 
within the past 10 years.

� A “listed” offense (defined 1994 PA 295, MCL 
28.722).

• A self-certifying statement may be used.
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8125(6)

Volunteer Requirements

Volunteers who have contact with children for at 

least 4 hours per week for more than 2 

consecutive weeks must have documentation of: 

• Negative TB test - Required only once.

– Less than 1 year old.

• Physical evaluation- required only once.

– Less than 6 months old.

– Not required after 1/1/14.
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8128

Caregiver Professional Development

Develop a written, on-going professional 
development plan which includes the minimum 
training requirements established by:
• 8131(7) & (8) & MCL 722.112a(1) – First aid and CPR training.

• 8131(1) – Orientation.

• 8131(3) – Blood-borne pathogen training.

• 8125(11) – Child abuse and neglect reporting procedures.

• 8161 – Emergency procedures.

• 8131(6) – Shaken baby syndrome and safe sleep.

• 8131(4) – 16 clock hours of professional development. 

29

8131

Caregiver Professional Development

Develop a written, on-going professional development plan 
which includes training topics relevant to job 
responsibilities:
• Child development and learning.

• Teaching and learning.

• Interactions and guidance.

• Health, safety, nutrition.

• Family and community collaboration.

• Program management.

• Observation, documentation, assessment.

• Professionalism.

• Licensing rules.

30

8131
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Caregiver Professional Development

• 16 clock hours of annual professional development 

required for all program directors and caregiving 

staff. 

• Assessed by the calendar year.

• CPR and first aid training may count for up to 2 hours 

of the annual professional development hours in the 

year taken.

• Verification of all required training                            

must be on file.
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8131

Caregiver Professional Development

• Annual professional development hours may include:
– In-service trainings. 

– Sessions offered by community groups, faith-based 
organizations, provider associations.

– Workshops and courses offered by local or intermediate school 
districts or colleges.

– Trainings, workshops, seminars, and conferences offered by 
early childhood organizations.

– Online trainings and correspondence courses with an 
assessment of learning.

• The center may provide training to their caregivers.
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8131

Caregiver Professional Development
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• Blood-borne pathogen training required for all 
program directors and caregivers before 
unsupervised contact with children.

• All program directors, site supervisors, lead 
caregivers and at least 1 caregiver on duty at all 
times with current infant,
child & adult CPR and first aid.
* Infant CPR not required for

school-age only programs.

8131(3), (7) & (8) 

All Program Directors

– “Early childhood program director” means the program 

director of a center serving children of all ages.

– “School-age program director” means the program 

director of a center serving only school-age children.

– Be present in the center:

• Full-time for programs operating less than 6 continuous 

hours.

• 50% of time children in care for programs operating 

more than 6 continuous hours, but at least 6 hours.

– When absent, the program director must designate a staff 

member to be in charge.
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8113

All Program Directors

• Within 5 business days, the licensee must notify the 

department of the separation of a program director 

or central administrator and a plan for replacement 

of the program director or central administrator. 

• A substitute program director must be appointed if a 

program director leaves employment or has a 

temporary 

absence that exceeds 30 consecutive workdays. 
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8110(8) & 8113(7)

All Program Directors

• Before hiring a new program director, a center must 

submit the credentials of the proposed program 

director to the department for review and approval.

– Complete the Licensing Record Clearance Request 

(BCAL-1326-CC) and the Livescan Fingerprint 

Background Check Request (RI-030) .

– Submit credentials.

• The consultant will make sure person is 

qualified by credential review.

36

8113(2)
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All Program Directors

Responsibilities:

• Develop, implement and evaluate 
center policies and program.

• Administer day-to-day
operations, including being 
available to address parent, 
staff and child issues.

• Monitor and evaluate staff, 
including an annual evaluation 
of each staff member.

37

8113(4)

All Program Directors
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Requirements:

• At least 21 years of age.

• High school diploma or 

GED.

• Fingerprints. 

• Education requirements approved by 

licensing prior to hiring as program 

director.

8113

All Program Directors

• Education must include 2 semester hours or 3 CEUs 

in child care administration.

• Administrative course requirement for PD not 

required with verification that:

– The center has a central administrator responsible for 

developing, implementing and evaluating center 

policies, program and monitoring staff.

– The central administrator meets the administrative 

course requirement.
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8113(13) & (16)

Early Childhood Program Director

40

8113(9) & (13)

Early childhood program director must meet 1 of the following qualifications:

Education Coursework in Early Childhood 
Education or Child Development

Hours of 
Experience

(a) Bachelor’s degree or higher in 
early childhood education or child 

development

(b) Bachelor’s degree or higher in a 
child-related field with 

18 semester hours with 480 hours

(c) Associate’s degree in early child-
hood education or child 

development with 

18 semester hours with 480 hours

(d) Montessori credential with 18 semester hours with 960 hours

(e) Valid child development 
associate credential with 

18 semester hours with 960 hours

(f) 60 semester hours with 18 semester hours with 1920 hours

School-Age Program Director

41

8113

School-age program directors must meet 1 of the following qualifications:

Education Coursework in Child-Related Field Hours of 
Experience

(a) Bachelor’s degree or higher in 
child related field

(b) Associates degree in child-
related field with 

480 hours

(c) Montessori credential with 12 semester hours with 480 hours

(d) Valid Michigan school-age/youth 
development credential with 

12 semester hours with 480 hours

(e) Valid child development 
associate credential with 

12 semester hours with 480 hours

(f) 60 semester hours with 12 semester hours with 720 hours

(g) High school diploma/GED with 6 semester hours with 2880 hours

Lead Caregiver

Lead caregiver responsibilities:

• Oversee planning, implementation and 

evaluation of a classroom program and child 

assessment.

• Oversee caregiving staff for a specific group of 

children.

• Overall care and 

supervision of a group 

of children.
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8122
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Lead Caregiver

• At least 1 lead caregiver must be assigned to 
each group of children in self-contained or 
well-defined space.

• Lead caregiver not required for school-age 
children.

• Be present and providing care:
– Full time for programs operating less than 6 

continuous hours.

– At least 6 hours a day for programs operating 6 or 
more continuous hours.
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8122

Lead Caregiver

44

• Requirements:

– Be at least 19 years of age.

– High school diploma or GED.

• Infant & toddler lead 

caregivers must have 3 

semester hours or 4.5 

CEUs in infant/toddler

development and care 

practices.

8122

Lead Caregiver
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The qualifications of lead caregiver must also meet one of the following:

Education Coursework in early childhood education, 
child development or child-related field

Hours of 
Experience

(a) Bachelor’s degree or higher in 
early childhood education, child 

development or a child-related field

(b) Associate’s degree or higher in 
early childhood education or child 

development

(c) Montessori credential with 480 hours

(d) Valid child development 
associate credential with 

480 hours

(e) High school diploma/GED with 12 semester hours with 960 hours

(f) High school diploma/GED with Combination of: 12 semester hours and/or 
18 CEUs to equal 180 clock hours with

1920 hours

(g) High school diploma/GED with Combination of: 6 semester hours and/or 
9 CEUs to equal 90 clock hours with 

3840 hours

8122(6)

Lead Caregiver

• Individuals hired as or promoted to lead caregiver after 

January 1, 2014 can no longer be qualified under 

subrule (6)(g) with  a high school diploma/GED and a 

combination of 6 semester hours and/or 9 CEUs plus 

3,840 hours of experience.

• Lead caregivers hired prior to January 2, 2014 can 

remain qualified under subrule (6)(g) as long as they 

remain employed with the same licensee. 
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8122(7)

Lead Caregiver

• The lead caregiver’s qualifications are approved by 
the program director. 
– Note: Hours of experience must be serving the ages and 

developmental abilities of the children for which the lead 
caregiver will provide care.

• Program director must appoint a substitute for a lead 
caregiver who has left employment or who has a 
temporary absence that exceeds 30 consecutive 
workdays until the return or replacement of the lead 
caregiver.

• The substitute must meet the qualifications of the 
lead caregiver or be currently enrolled in relevant 
training.
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8122(10)

Children’s Records

48

• Complete Child Information Record.
– Updated when center aware information                   

has changed or at least 

annually.

• Immunization records.
• Immunizations must be 

reported to DHHS for all children

enrolled using the method 

established by DHHS by

October 1 of each year. 

Required by the Public Health

Code.

8143
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Children’s Records

• Within 30 days of initial attendance, a physical 
evaluation:

– Completed within past 3 months for infants.

– Completed within past 6 months for toddlers.

– Completed within past year for preschoolers.

• Physical evaluations updated:

– Yearly for infants and toddlers.

– Every 2 years for preschoolers.

49

8143

Children’s Records

• Written permission for non-routine                           

transportation trips prior

to each trip.

• Written permission for routine transportation 

annually.

• Parent notification before each field trip.
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8149 

Daily Attendance

• Must maintain accurate record of daily 

attendance. 

• Must include:

– Date.

– Arrival and departure times each time they arrive 

and leave the center.

– Child’s first and last name.
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8143(10)

Parent Information

Written information packet provided to parents. 

Written verification that parents have received the 

packet must be kept on file. Packet includes: 

• Admission/withdrawal criteria.

• Schedule of operation.

• Fees.

• Discipline policy for children.

• Food service policy.
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8146

Parent Information

Written information packet includes: 

• Program philosophy.

• Daily routine.

• Plan to notify parents of accidents, injuries, 

incidents, illnesses.

• Exclusion policy for child illnesses.

• Notification of the Licensing Notebook.
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8146

Parent Information

• Notification of the licensing notebook must include all of the 

following:

� The center maintains a licensing notebook of all licensing 
reports and all related corrective action plans.

� The notebook will be available to parents for review during 
regular business hours.

� Licensing inspection and special investigation reports from 
the past two years are available at 
www.michigan.gov/michildcare. (The website address 
must be in bold print.)

• May use the Parent Notification of the Licensing 

Notebook (BCAL-5053).

54

8146 
MCL 722.113g
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Parent Information

Parents of children with special needs may 
receive, upon request, a daily written record of:

• Food intake – time, type of food and amount eaten.

• Sleeping patterns – when & how long a child slept.

• Elimination patterns.

• Developmental milestones.

• Changes in a child’s usual behavior.
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8146

Hand Washing

• Hand washing:  Cleanse hands with soap and 

warm running water for at least 20 seconds.

• Specifies when hand washing is required for staff, 

volunteers and children. 

• When soap and running water are not available 

during an outing, hand sanitizers and/or single-

use wipes may be used.

8134

Hand Washing

• Hand washing guidelines 

must be posted in food                  preparation 

areas, toilet rooms and 

by all hand washing sinks.
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8134

Medication
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• Written permission required for all prescription 
and non-prescription medication.

• Must be administered by an 
adult caregiver and recorded.

• Topical, nonprescription medications 
(sunscreen, diaper rash ointment, bug spray, 
lotion) require annual parental authorization. 
Records of each application not required.

8152

Medication

• Prescription medication must be in the 
original container with the pharmacy label.

– Label must include physician’s name, child’s 
name, instructions, and name and strength 
of the medication

• All medication must be in original container, 
stored according to instructions, 

and clearly labeled for a named  
child.
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8152

Medication

• Medication must be returned to parent or destroyed 

when it is no longer needed or has expired.

• Label directions must be followed unless authorized 

in writing by physician.

• Medication may not be added to a bottle or food 

unless indicated on prescription label.

• If non-prescription medication label says to contact 

physician for dosage, written 

instructions from the physician is required.
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8152
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Child Illness, Accident, Injury

• The center must develop and implement a plan for 

notifying parents when: 

– Changes in the child’s health are observed.

– A child has an accident, injury or incident.

– When a child is too ill to remain in the group.

• A child too ill to remain in the 
group must be put in a separate 
area, cared for and supervised 
until parent arrives.
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8155

Staff, Volunteer, Child Illness

• All items and facilities used by an ill person cannot be 

used by another person until thoroughly cleaned and 

sanitized.

• If a staff member, volunteer, child in care contracts a 

communicable disease, parents must be notified of:

– The name of the disease.

– Symptoms of the disease.

• See Managing Communicable Diseases in Child Care 

Settings (BCAL-PUB 111).
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8155

Appropriate Care & Supervision

63

• The center must 

provide appropriate 

care and supervision 

of children at all times.

• Must have adequate 

staff during food 

preparation.

8125(1)
8330(5)

Discipline

64

• Written discipline policy required.

– Copy to staff.

– Copy to parents.

• Policy must specify age appropriate 

discipline.

8140 
8146

Discipline

65

Staff must use positive 

methods that encourage:

• Self-control.

• Self-direction.

• Self-esteem.

• Cooperation.

8140

Discipline

No:

• Hitting, spanking, shaking, biting, pinching, corporal punishment.

• Restricting child’s movement by binding or tying.

• Inflicting mental or emotional punishment, such as humiliating, 

shaming or threatening.

• Depriving a child of meals, snacks, rest, or toilet use.

• Confining a child in an enclosed area, such as a closet, locked room, 

box, or similar cubicle.

• Excluding a child from outdoor play or other gross motor activities.

• Excluding a child from daily learning experiences.

66

8140
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Capacity and Use Areas

The center must:

• Assure the number of children in care does 

not exceed the licensed capacity.

• Maintain age ranges.

• Only use child use areas approved by 

licensing.

67

8110(5) 
8167(3)

Capacity and Use Areas

68

• Obtain approval from licensing before making any 
changes in the terms of the license, including but 
not limited to:
– Adding use space.

– Changing age groups served.

– Changing program components.

– Changing the capacity of the center.

– Making changes to a room or well-defined space that 
will result in a change in capacity of the room or well-
defined space.

• Use the Request for Modification 
(BCAL-5054) form to request changes.

8110(10)
8167(3)

Ratios

69

Group Age Ratio

Infant and Toddler Birth until 30 months 1:4

Preschool 30 months until 3 years 1:8

Preschool 3 years 1:10

Preschool 4 years until school-age 1:12

School Age
Eligible to attend 

kindergarten until 13 years
1:18

8182

Ratios

• If there are children of mixed ages in the same room or well-
defined space, ratio and group size is determined by age of 
youngest child.

• At least 2 adults, 1 who is a caregiver, required when 3 or 
more children aged birth to 3 years are present. A second 
caregiver is required when needed to comply with caregiver-
to-child ratios.

• At least 2 adults, 1 who is a caregiver, required when 7 or 
more children are present. A second caregiver is required 
when needed to comply with caregiver-to-child ratios.

*Remember: These apply also when taking children off the 
premises.
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8182

Ratios

When developmentally appropriate and with written parental 

permission:

• Children who have reached 33 months of age may be enrolled 

in a 3-year-old classroom. 

• Children who have reached 45 months of age may, be 

enrolled in a 4-year-old classroom. 

• Children who have reached 57 months of age but who are not 

considered a school-ager may be enrolled in a school-age 

classroom. 

The ratios for the classroom age the child is enrolled in apply.
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8182

Group Size

72

Group Ages Group Size

Infants & 
Toddlers

Birth until 30 months 12

Preschoolers 30 months until 3 years 16

8182

Group size is the specified number of children 
assigned to a caregiver or team of caregivers 
occupying an individual classroom or well-
defined space for each group within a larger 
room.
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Group Size

� Well-defined space can be created by:
� Placement of moveable room dividers (fire safety 

approved).
� Equipment, shelves, floor coverings.

• Each well-defined space must:

– Meet the square footage requirements for the 
maximum number of children in the group.

– Have adequate equipment for the children using 
that space.
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8182

Indoor Space

• Center must have at least: 

– 50 sq. ft. per child aged birth until 30 months.

– 35 sq. ft. per child aged 30 months and older.

• Indoor space square footage does not include:

– Hallways.

– Bathrooms and kitchens.

– Storage areas and cloakrooms.

– Areas used exclusively for resting, sleeping or eating –
except for infants and toddlers.

• Floor plan of child use areas required.
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8167

Equipment

75

Equipment must be:

• Varied.

• Appropriate to the developmental needs and 

interests of children.

• Safe, clean and in good

repair.

• Child-sized or 

appropriately adapted

for a child’s use.

• Easily accessible.

8173

Equipment

The center must have:

• 3 playspaces per child in licensed capacity.

• 2 playspaces per child accessible at any one time.

A playspace is a piece or pieces of equipment that one child can 
use independently for 15 minutes.
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8173

Type of Equipment Number of Playspaces

3 puzzles 1 

2-4 small cars/trucks 1

3 books 1

Dramatic play area 2-4, depending on 

equipment and space

Board game 2-4

Sensory table 2-4

Equipment

Children must have access to equipment and materials 

in the following areas on a daily basis:

– Large and small muscle activity.

– Sensory exploration.

– Social interaction and dramatic play.

– Discovery and exploration.

– Early math and science experiences.

– Creative experiences through art, music and 

literature.

77

8173

Equipment

• A first aid kit must be readily accessible to staff in the 

center.

• Trampolines are prohibited.

78

8173
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Program 

• A typical daily routine must be posted in a place 

visible to parents.

• Program must include daily learning experiences 

appropriate to the developmental level of the 

children and designed to develop:

– Physical development.

– Social development.

– Emotional development.

– Cognitive development.

79

8179(2) & (6)

Program 

The program must be planned to provide a 

flexible balance of all of the following 

experiences:

• Quiet and active.

• Individual and groups.

• Large and small muscle.

• Child initiated and staff initiated.

80

8179(3)

Program 

Provide opportunities for children to:

• Feel successful and develop independence.

• Be creative.

• Practice social interaction 

skills.

• Learn new ideas and skills.

• Participate in imaginative play.

• Be physically active.

81

8179(4)

Program 

Provide opportunities for children to participate in 
developmentally appropriate language and literacy experiences, 
such as:

– Looking at books with children.

– Reading (individually, in groups, during story time, etc.).

– Felt board stories.

– Show and tell and circle time.

– Verbal interactions.

– Singing and other music experiences.

– Playing games.

– Writing activities.

– Dramatic play activities.

– Finger plays.

82

8179(4)

Program 

Provide opportunities for children to participate in 
early math and science experiences, such as:

• Counting.

• Sorting, classifying and sequencing.

• Baking/cooking activities.

• Setting the table, folding laundry.

• Matching games and puzzles.

• Water and sand play.

• Sensory activities.

• Exploring the outdoor environment.

83

8179(4)

Program 

84

In order to meet a child’s identified needs 

when caring for children with special needs, 

the center must work with:

• Parents.

• Medical personnel.

• Other professionals.

8179(11)
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Media Use

• Media, interactive media and non-interactive 

media are defined.

• Use of media is prohibited for children under 

2 years of age.

8179(1) & (8)

Media Use

When media are used with children 2 years of age and 

older:

• Use of non-interactive media must not exceed 2 hours per 

week per child.

• Interactive media must be used to support learning and to 

expand children’s access to content.

• Media must be suitable to the age of the child in 
terms of content and length of use per session.

• Media with violent/adult content are not permitted.

• Other activities must be available during media use.

8179(9)

Media Use

Exemptions to media requirements include:

• Use by school-age children for academic and 

educational 

purposes.

• Use by children who use 

assistive and adaptive 

technology.

8179(10)

Quiet/Nap Time 

• Children under 18 months must be allowed to sleep on 
demand.

• The center must provide naptime or quiet time when 
children under school-age are in attendance 5 or more 
continuous hours.

• The center must provide opportunities to rest for children 
under age 3 regardless of the number of hours in care.

• Quiet activities must be provided for children who do not 
fall asleep.

• Adequate soft lighting needed to allow the caregiver to 
assess children.

88

8188

Sleeping Equipment 

• Cots or mats and a sheet or blanket are required:
– For all toddlers and preschoolers under age 3 (unless a 

crib/porta-crib is used instead).

– For each child 3 years and older enrolled for 5 or more 
continuous hours.

– For any child who regularly naps.

– For any child upon a parent’s request.

• If in care for more than 1 hour
between the 11 pm and 6 am, 
a bed and mattress of appropriate size is required for 
each child in care.

89

8176
8191

Sleeping Equipment 

• All sleeping equipment and bedding must be washed, rinsed 
and sanitized:
– When soiled.
– Between uses by different children.
– At least weekly regardless of use by different children.

• When sleeping equipment and bedding are stored:

– Sleeping surfaces must not come in contact with other 
sleeping surfaces. Mats may be stacked only if they are 
sanitized prior to each use.

– Bedding must not come in contact with other bedding.

• Cots and mats must be spaced at least 18” apart to provide 
free and direct means of egress.

90

8176
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Program - Outdoor Play

Daily outdoor play required for children in care 

for more than 3 continuous hours, including 

infants, unless:

– Inclement weather.

– Other weather conditions           that could result 

in children 

becoming overheated or 

excessively chilled.

91

8170(3)

Outdoor Play Area

92

• At least 1,200 sq. feet required.

– More than 1,200 may be required if 

the area is not large enough    to 

accommodate the number      of 

children in the center.

• If outdoor play area is not available 

adjacent to the   center, an 

alternate location may be used 

with       department approval.

8170(4) & (5)

Outdoor Play Area

93

• Outdoor play area and equipment 

must be maintained in a safe condition 

and inspected daily.

• Outdoor play area must be protected 

from hazards, when necessary, by 

fence or natural barrier that is at least 

48” high.

8170

Outdoor Play Area

94

• Shaded areas available

to protect children from

excessive sun exposure,

when necessary.

• If used, there must be 

suitable surfaces for 

wheeled vehicles and pull toys.

• Equipment must be age-appropriate.

8170

Outdoor Play Area

For centers licensed after January 1, 2014 or any center 

that alters or adds equipment to an outdoor play area 

after January 1, 2014, the equipment & surfacing 

materials in the outdoor play area must comply with 

the guidelines of the 2010 Edition of the Handbook for 

Public Playground Safety. 

• Includes equipment for children under age 2.

• Can’t have residential climbing equipment for children 

under age 2.

8170

Playgrounds

Centers licensed prior to January 2, 2014:

• Were required to obtain documentation of compliance 

with the 1997 Edition of the Handbook for Public 

Playground Safety for equipment for children age 2 and 

older. 

• Can continue to use residential climbing equipment for 

children under the age of 2 but cannot add new 

residential climbing equipment for this age group.

8170
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Playgrounds

Compliance with this rule can be verified by:

• A written statement/certificate from the equipment 
manufacturer and installer.

• A report by a certified playground safety inspector.

• A written statement from the licensee that the 
equipment will not be used if verification of 
compliance with the handbook cannot be produced.

97

8170

Playground

• All pieces of playground equipment must be surrounded 

by a shock-absorbing surface. This material may be either 

unitary or the loose-fill type as defined by the CPSC’s 

2010 Edition of the Handbook for Public Playground 

Safety. (See chart in TA manual.)

• The depth of the loose-fill surface material must be 

restored to its required depth when it has moved or 

becomes otherwise compromised. 

• Loose-fill surfacing material must not be installed over 

concrete or asphalt. 

8170

Playground

• Natural playground defined:

– An outdoor play area that blends natural 

materials, features and vegetation.

• It may include items such as:

– Logs and stumps.

– Wood pieces, sticks.

– Trees, hills and grassy areas. 

– Gardens. 

8170

Playground

• Materials used on a natural playground must not be 

in the use zones for other playground equipment. 

• The elevated playing surface must not exceed 30 

inches. 

• Materials used with elevated playing surfaces must 

not be installed over concrete or asphalt. 

• Surfacing materials are not required under elevated 

playing surfaces. 

8170

Incident, Accident, Injury, Illness, 

Death, Fire Reporting
Verbal report to licensing within 24 hours and written report to 
licensing within 72 hours of the verbal report using Incident 
Report (BCAL-4605) if: 

• A child is lost or left unsupervised.

• An incident involving an allegation of inappropriate contact.

• The death of a child in care.

• A fire on the premises of the center that requires the use of fire 

suppression equipment or results

in loss of life or property.

• The center is evacuated for any reason (not including drills).

101

8158

Incident, Accident, Injury, Illness, 

Death, Fire Reporting

• Verbal report to licensing within 24 hours of 
notification by a parent that a child received medical 
treatment or was hospitalized for an injury, accident 
or medical condition that occurred while the child 
was in care.

• Written report to licensing within 72 hours of the 
verbal report using Incident Report (BCAL-4605).

102

8158
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Emergency Plans

103

Written procedures for:

• Fire.

• Tornado.

• Other natural or man-made 
disasters.

• Serious accident, illness or 
injury.

• Crisis management                      
(including intruders                         
and bomb threats).

8161

Emergency Plans

Written emergency procedures must:

• Include a plan for evacuating and safely moving 

children to a relocation site. 

• Include a method for contacting parents and 

reuniting families.

• Include a plan for how each child with special 

needs will be accommodated during each type of 

emergency. 

8161

Emergency Plans

• Fire, tornado, other natural and man-made 
disaster and serious accident/illness/injury 
plans must be posted in a place visible to staff 
and parents.

• Crisis management plans must be in a place 
known and easily accessible to staff.

105

8161

Emergency Plans

• Each staff must be trained on his or her duties 
for all emergency procedures at least twice a 
year.

• Drills:
– Fire drills quarterly.

– Two tornado drills between April – October.

• Maintain a written log of all drills.

• If cribs are used in evacuations, doors within 
means of egress must be wide enough to 
accommodate crib evacuation.

106

8161

Telephone

• A land-line telephone must be available, 

operable and accessible in the 

building during the hours the 

center is in operation.

• When open, the center must provide a 

telephone number “known to the public and 

available to parents” to provide immediate 

access to center.

107

8164

Fire Safety

108
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Fire Safety

• Plan review by the BCHS, Health Facilities 
Division, Engineering Section is required for 
proposed centers, additions, alterations, and 
remodeling.

• Projects with a total cost of $15,000 or more 
require sealed architectural plans.

109

8510

Fire Safety

110

• Fire inspections by a QFI required before issuance 
of original license and every 4 years thereafter
at renewal.

• Fuel-fired furnace and water heater   inspections 
required at original licensure and every 2 years at 
renewal.

• Boilers must have current certification from LARA.

• Electric water heaters and electric heat (baseboard 
or forced air) do not require an inspection at 
renewal. 

8510

Fire Safety

New (fuel-fired and electric) furnace and water 

heater installations must be inspected:

• By LARA or the local mechanical inspecting 

authorities at the time of installation.

• By a QFI or BFS to ensure continued 

compliance with appropriate fire safety 

provisions of these rules. 

8510

Exiting

• For infants and toddlers, the travel distance 

must be 50 feet or less from the door of the 

room 

to the exit.

• For preschoolers and 

school-agers, the travel distance must be 100 

feet or less from the door of the room to the 

exit.

112

8525(2)

Exiting

• Newly licensed centers with infant and 
toddlers must 
have exits with 
proper termination 
and within 30 inches
of grade or exits
properly ramped to 
grade.

113

8525(3)

Exiting

• When nighttime care is provided, the center 

must have exits with proper termination and 

within 30 inches of grade or exits properly 

ramped to grade.

114

8525(14)
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Exiting

115

• Exterior exits must be
identified with an exit sign.

• Exit signs must be:

– Distinctive in color.

– Have the word “EXIT” in letters at least 6 inches high 
on a background of contrasting color with strokes not 
less than ¾-inch wide.

• When nighttime care is provided, exit signs must 
be illuminated and emergency lighting provided 
at exits.

8525(13) & (15)

Hazard Areas

116

• The storage of combustible or flammable 
materials in a heating plant room or 
enclosure is prohibited.

• Combustible materials are items that will 
readily ignite when subjected to flame.

• Check TA manual for a list of combustible 
materials.

• Flammable gases, gasoline and gasoline-
fired equipment are prohibited in the 
center without substantial fire resistive 
separation.  

8530

Hazard Areas

• Dryer vents must be metal and vented 

completely to the exterior.

• All appliances and equipment must be 

installed and maintained to manufacturer’s 

specifications.

• Centers must be kept free of all conditions 

that constitute a fire safety hazard.

117

8530

Fire Safety

• If any fuel-fired heating system, carbon monoxide detectors are required 
on all levels approved for child use and in each use area covered by a 
different furnace zone .

• 2A – 10BC rated fire extinguishers:

– Required in or adjacent to the kitchen 
and heat plant room.

– Additional determined by BFS based on
size, capacity and other factors of the
center.

– Must be properly mounted, inspected 
and maintained.

– Must have a tag with the date of last 
inspection/service and initials of person performing
the service.

118

8540
8545

Fire Safety

119

• Electrical inspections may be required when 
warranted.

• Electrical outlets must be inaccessible to 
children under school age.

• Ground fault circuit interrupters required in 
outlets w/in 6 feet of sinks.

• If used, power strips must be equipped with 
surge protectors and must not be longer 
than 6 feet or be connected to another 
power strip.

8550

Fire Safety

• Combustible materials and decorations may be 

displayed on walls, not to exceed 20% of each wall 

in each room.

• Combustible materials and decorations suspended 

from or near the ceiling are prohibited.

• Does not include flame-proofed materials when 

documented with an affidavit. 

120

8520(14)
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Environmental Health

121

Inspections

Environmental health inspections by the local health 
department required: 

• Before issuance of original license and every 2 years 
thereafter at renewal if: 

– The center has private well or septic.

– The center provides food service where food is prepared 
AND served on-site.

• Prior to adding a food service program.

• Prior to adding an infant/toddler program.

• When requested by the department.

122

8305

Premises

• Stairs, walkways, ramps, landings, 

and porches:

– Must have barriers/handrails if 

elevated.

– Must be maintained in a safe 

condition.

• Stairway steps must be no more than 8” in height 

with a minimum tread depth of 9”.

• Ramps must have a minimum rise-to-run ratio of 1 to 

12.

123

8375

Heating & Temperature

• Indoor temp must be at least 65
o 

F 
in child use areas.

• Measures must be taken to cool 
the children when temps exceed 82

o
F:

– Air conditioning.

– Fans inaccessible to children.

– Open screened windows.

– Draw blinds/drapes.

– Use dehumidifiers to lower the relative humidity.

• Temperatures must be taken 2 feet from the 
ground/floor.

124

8365

Light, Ventilation, Screens

125

� Adequate lighting (artificial or 

natural).

� Screens (at least 16 mesh) on 

windows and doors 

used for ventilation.
� Not required for programs 

operating in school buildings.

8370

Hand Washing Sinks

126

• Hand washing sinks must be accessible to children 

either: 

– By platform.

– Installed at children’s level.

• Warm, running water at sinks accessible to children.

• Water must not exceed 120
o

F.

• Soap and single service towels or other approved 

hand drying devices are required.

8350
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Hand Washing Sinks

After 12/6/2006, separate hand washing sink is 

required in the kitchen for:

• New centers with food service component.

• Existing centers with food service that remodel 

the kitchen.

• Any center that add a food service component.

127

8350(3)

Hand Washing Sinks

• 1 toilet and 1 hand washing 
sink for every 15 children 
for full day programs.

• 1 toilet and 1 hand washing 
sink for every 20 children when children are in 
attendance for less than 5 continuous hours 
per day.

• Toilet rooms for school-age children must 
provide for privacy.

128

8350

Garbage and Refuse

129

� All garbage must be removed from the center 
daily.

� Garbage containers must be washed when 
soiled.

� Garbage stored outside must be in 
sealed plastic bags in watertight containers 
with tight-fitting covers 
or in a covered dumpster. 

� Outside garbage and refuse must be picked 
up or removed at a minimum of once a week. 

8360

Premises

• Premises must be maintained in a clean and safe 

condition and not pose a threat to health or safety.

• There must be no flaking or deteriorating paint on 

interior and exterior surfaces or equipment accessible 

to children.

• All of the following must be in sound condition and 

maintained in good repair:

– Roofs, exterior walls, doors, skylights, and windows.

– Floors, interior walls and ceilings.

130

8380

Premises

• Toilet room floor surfaces must be impervious 

to water, easily cleanable and maintained in 

good repair.

» Light fixtures, vent covers and  wall-

mounted fans must be easily 

cleanable and maintained in good 

repair.

131

8380

Maintenance of Premises

• Lead hazard risk assessment required on all licensed 

centers built prior to 1978.

• Any identified lead hazards must be corrected.

• Verification of lead hazard

risk assessment must remain

on file at the center.

• Go to www.michigan.gov/leadsafe for list of certified 

lead risk assessors.

132
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Food Preparation and Storage

133

Food Services & Nutrition

• If the majority of children are in care 2.5 hours more, food must be 

provided unless parents provide food.

– Written agreement if parents providing food.

– The center must provide an adequate amount of formula, milk or food if 

the parent does not.

• A child must served meals and snacks as follows:

– Two and a half hours to 4 hours of operation: a minimum of 1 snack.

– Four hours to 6 hours of operation: a minimum of 1 meal and 1 snack.

– Seven hours to 10 hours of operation: a minimum of 1 meal and 2 snacks 

or 2 meals and 1 snack.

– Eleven hours or more of operation: a minimum of 2 meals and 2 snacks.

134

8330

Food Services & Nutrition

• Snacks and meals must meet the minimum meal 
requirements of the Child and Adult Care Food 
Program if provided by the center.
– Resources at www.michigan.gov/cacfp. 

• Children must not be deprived of snacks or meals.

• Planned, dated menus must be posted.
– Substitutions noted the day the substitution occurs.

• Adequate staffing to assure food service activities do 
not detract from direct care and
supervision of children.

135

8330
8335

Food Services & Nutrition

• Beverages and food must be appropriate to each 
child’s individual nutritional requirements, 
developmental stages and specific dietary needs.

• A center must ensure a child with special dietary 

needs is provided with snacks and meals in 

accordance with the child’s needs and with the 

instructions of the child’s parent or licensed health 

care provider.

136

8330

Food Services & Nutrition –

Provided by Parents

• “Same-day supply” means for use during a single day.

• Formula and other beverages may be provided in a 

same-day supply by parents in either:

– A larger container that the center can pour into clean 

and sanitary bottles.

– Clean, sanitary, ready-to-feed bottles or beverage 

containers.

• Any food or beverages furnished in a same-day supply 

must be returned to the parent at the end of the day or 

discarded.

8340

Food Services & Nutrition –

Provided by Parents

• Breast milk, formula, milk, other beverages, and food 

furnished in a same-day supply must be covered and labeled 

with the child’s first and last name and the date.

• If a parent packages a child’s beverages and/or food for a 

single meal or snack in a larger container, such as a lunch 

bag, just the larger container has to be labeled with the 

child’s name and the date. Each individual item in the 

larger container does not have to be labeled with the 

child’s name and the date. 

– Beverages and food must be fed to the intended child.

8340
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Food Services & Nutrition –

Provided by Parents

• “Multi-day supply” means for use over a multiple day 
period, up to 7 days.

• Milk, other beverages and non-perishable food may 
be in a multi-day supply in unopened commercial 
containers.

• Milk and other beverages in a multi-day supply must 
be: 

– Labeled with child’s full name.

– Date of opening.

– Returned to parents or discarded within 7 days.

8340

Food Services & Nutrition –

Provided by Parents

• Breast milk, formula and milk must be 

refrigerated until used.

• Other perishable beverages and food items 

must be refrigerated or otherwise kept at a 

safe temperature until used.

8340

Food Services & Nutrition –

Generally

• If food, bottles or beverage containers are warmed, then 

the warming must be done in a safe, appropriate manner.

– Warming bottles and beverage containers in a microwave 

oven is prohibited. Bottles and beverage containers can be 

warmed: 

• Under running warm tap water.

• By placing the bottle in a container of water.

• In a bottle warmer made specifically for this purpose.

• Warmed food, bottles and beverage containers must 

shaken or stirred to distribute the heat and the 

temperature must be tested before feeding. 

141

8330

Food Services & Nutrition –

Generally

• Discard bottle or beverage 

container contents that:

– Appear unsanitary.

– Have been used for a feeding 

period exceeding 1 hour.

– Have been unrefrigerated for more than 1 hour.

• Formula and milk, including breast milk, left in a 

bottle or beverage container after a feeding must 

not be reused.

142

8330

Food Services & Nutrition –

Generally

• A center must make water available to drink 

throughout the day to children 1 year of age and 

older.

• Children are not allowed to have beverage 

containers or food while they are walking around 

or playing.

– This doesn’t prohibit the center from taking water 

bottles outside during outdoor play as long as 

children are standing still or sitting when they drink.

143

8330

Food Services & Nutrition –

Centers Provide Food

• Uneaten food that remains on a dish from which 

a child has been fed must be discarded.

• Food, already served and handled by the 

consumer of the food, may not be served again, 

unless it is in the original, unopened wrapper.

• Home canned products are prohibited.

144
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Food Services & Nutrition –

Centers Provide Food

• All fluid milk and fluid milk products must be pasteurized 

and meet the grade “A” quality standards.

• Milk may be served from commercially filled containers 

of 1 gallon or less or

from a bulk milk dispenser.

• Milk may be poured directly into 

a sanitized container for 

“family-style” meals.

• Milk must be labeled with 

date opened.

145

8335

Food Services & Nutrition –

Centers Provide Food

• Milk must be served within 7 days of opening. 

• Partially filled containers must not be combined.

• Milk must not be served if it appears unsanitary or 

has been unrefrigerated for a period exceeding 1 

hour.

• Contents of milk in single-service containers must 

be discarded after snacks or meals.

146

8335

Food Preparation Areas

• Food must be free from spoilage, filth or other 
contamination and be safe for human consumption.

• Carpeting prohibited in food prep areas.

• Food contact surfaces must be:

– Smooth.

– Nontoxic.

– Easily cleanable.

– Durable.

– Corrosion resistant.

– Non-absorbent.

147

8310

Food Preparation Areas

• Mechanical ventilation to the outside required 
for commercial cooking equipment.

• Residential hood ventilation system permitted 
when cooking equipment is limited to a 
residential stove and oven combination

• Deep fryers are prohibited.

• Live animals prohibited in food preparation 
and eating areas.

148

8310

Food & Equipment Storage

• Lighting fixtures near food areas must be 

properly shielded.

• Refrigerators must be maintained at 41
o

F or 

below.

• Accurate thermometer 

required in refrigerator.

149

8315

Food & Equipment Storage

• Unpackaged bulk foods must be:
– Stored in clean, covered containers.

– Dated.

– Labeled as to contents.

• Food not requiring further washing or cooking 
before serving must be stored so that it is 
protected from foods requiring washing or 
cooking.

• Packaged food must not be stored in contact 
with water or undrained ice.

150
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Food & Equipment Storage

• Food, food service equipment and utensils 

must not be:

– Located under exposed or unprotected sewer 

lines, open stairwells or other sources of 

contamination.

– Stored in toilet rooms.

• Food and utensils must be stored at least 6 

inches above the floor.

151

8315

Food & Equipment Storage

Meals that are transported must be:

• Prepared in commercial kitchens.

• Delivered in carriers approved 

by the local health department.

152

8315

Food Preparation

• Food must be prepared on food grade surfaces that 

have been washed, rinsed and sanitized. 

• Staff must minimize bare-hand contact with foods 

that will be cooked. 

• Ready to eat foods must not be prepared or served 

using bare hands.

153

8320

Food Preparation

• Raw fruits and vegetables must be thoroughly 
washed before cooked or served.

• Foods must be cooked to heat all parts to safe 
temperatures based on Michigan Food Code.

– Contact local Health Department and refer to 
TA manual.

• Accurate metal stem-type food thermometers 
are required to assure proper temperatures.

154

8320

Food Preparation

Methods to thaw potentially hazardous foods:

• In the refrigerator at a temperature not to exceed 
41

o
F.

• Under cold running water.

• In the microwave:

– Immediately transfer food to conventional 
cooking facilities as part of the continuous 
cooking process.

– For the entire cooking process.

• As part of the conventional cooking process.

155

8320

Food Preparation

• Except during preparation, potentially 
hazardous foods must be:

– 41
o

F or below.

– 135
o

F or above.

• Potentially hazardous foods that have been 
cooked and then refrigerated must be 
reheated rapidly to 165

o
F or higher 

throughout before serving or placing in a hot 
food storage facility.

156
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Food Preparation

On field trips:

• All foods must be protected from

contamination at all times as required by

8320(1) – (10).

• If proper hand washing facilities are not

available, sanitary disposable food service

gloves must be used by staff preparing and

serving food.

157

8320

Sanitization

• All dishes, utensils, food contact surfaces and food 

service equipment must be washed, rinsed and 

sanitized after each use.

• Multi-purpose tables must be thoroughly washed, 

rinsed and sanitized before and after they are used for 

meals or snacks.

• Enamelware utensils are prohibited.

• Single-service articles must not be reused.

• Sponges must not be used in a food service operation.

158

8325

Sanitization

Options for dishwashing:

• Commercial dishwasher.

• Domestic dishwasher with
sanitizing capability.

• 3-compartment sink with drain boards

– Wash, rinse, sanitize.

• 2-compartment sink with drain boards (wash
& rinse) and a third container for complete
submersion (sanitizing).

159

8325(4)

Sanitization

• Sanitizing options when manually washing

dishes:

– Immersion in clean, hot water (at least 170
o

F) for 

at least 30 seconds.

– Immersion in solution (50-100 parts per million of 

chlorine or comparable sanitizing agent) of at least 

75
o

F for at least 1 minute. Test strips must be

used. 

• Air dry after sanitizing.

160

8325(5)

Child Care Licensing Updates

Go to www.michigan.gov/michildcare for:

• Information for providers and parents.

• Child care center rules.

• Technical assistance manual. 
(It is recommended that this not
be printed out because it is updated
often.)

• Forms and publications.

• Resources.

• Sign up for electronic e-mail notifications via GovDelivery.

161

Infant/Toddler 

162
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Caregiver Training

• Infant Safe Sleep & Shaken Baby Syndrome 

training required for infant and toddler 

caregivers prior to caring for that age children.

• Training resources at 

www.michigan.gov/michildcare, including free 

online training on Infant Safe Sleep.

163

8131(2)

Primary Care

Primary caregiver means the caregiver to whom the 
care of a specific infant or toddler is assigned. The 
primary caregiver is responsible for:

• Direct care.

• Verbal and physical 
interactions.

• Primary responses to the 
child’s physical and emotional needs.

• Continued interaction with the child’s parents 

regarding the child’s experiences.

164

8185

Primary Care

165

• All infants and 

toddlers must have  a primary caregiver.

• No more than 4 primary caregivers allowed 

for a child in a week, excluding the first 

hour after the center opens and the hour 

before closing.

8182

Primary Care

• Child information must be shared daily 

between primary caregivers.

• Primary caregiver assignments must be 

documented and provided to parents.

166

8185

Confining Equipment

• When awake, use of confining equipment for 

infants must be minimized, not to exceed 30 

minutes at a time.

– Confining equipment means equipment used to 

assist in caring for infants and includes, but is not 

limited to, swings, stationary activity centers, 

infant seats, and molded seats.

167

8179(7)

Infant/Toddler 

Sleeping Requirements

168

8176

Many of the rules/guidelines for sleeping 
infants are: 

� Based on the American Academy of 
Pediatrics recommendations.

� In place to reduce the risk of infant 
death. 

� In 2013, 149* infants died in Michigan due to 
unsafe sleep environments.

� Several infants die each year in child care due 
to unsafe sleep environments. 

*Preliminary number



Child Care Center Rules Orientation

29

Infant/Toddler 

Sleeping Requirements

• Infants must sleep alone in approved cribs or 
porta-cribs.

• Toddlers must sleep alone in:

– Cribs or porta-cribs.

– Cots.

– Mats.

• Pack-n-plays or soft-sided portable cribs are 
not allowed for sleeping.

169

8176
8188 Infant/Toddler 

Sleeping Requirements
• Cribs must have:

– Firm, tight-fitting waterproof mattress, with tightly fitting 
sheet.

– Slats no more than 2 3/8” apart.

– No corner posts over 1/16” high.

– No cutout designs in headboard or footboard.

• All occupied cribs, porta-cribs, cots, and mats must be 
placed in such a manner that there is a free and direct 
means of egress and spaced as follows:

– Cribs and porta-cribs at least 2 feet apart. Cribs or porta-
cribs with solid-panel ends may be placed end-to-end.

– Cots and mats at least 18 inches apart.

170

8176
8188

Infant/Toddler 

Sleeping Requirements

Since June 28, 2011, all full-size and non-full-size baby cribs sold in 

the U.S. are required to be manufactured to comply with new 

federal standards.

• It is presumed that cribs manufactured on or after June 28, 2011 

comply with the new standards. Check the tracking label or 

registration form on the crib to ensure the crib was 

manufactured after June 28, 2011.

• If the crib was manufactured prior to June 28, 2011, a Children’s 

Product Certificate (CPC) or test report is needed. See the TA 

manual.

– If a CPC or test report is not available for a crib manufactured 
prior to June 28, 2011, the crib cannot be used for child care.

171

8176

Infant/Toddler 

Sleeping Requirements

172

8176

� Blankets must not be draped over 
cribs when in use.

� Soft objects, including pillows, 
comforters, blankets, bumper pads, 
and stuffed  toys are not permitted in 
cribs.

� Swaddle sacks and blankets (for 
infants two months or younger) and 
sleep sacks are permissible.

Infant/Toddler 

Sleeping Requirements

• Car seats, infant swings, bouncy seats, 

bassinets, and playpens are not               

approved sleeping equipment.

• Stacking cribs are 

prohibited.

173

8176

Infant/Toddler 

Sleeping Requirements

• Children under 18 months must be allowed to sleep 
on demand.

• Infants must be placed on their backs for sleep or 
rest.

• Infants unable to roll from their stomach to back and 
back to stomach must be placed on their backs when 
found face-down in their cribs.

• Infants who can roll over both ways must be initially 
placed on their back, but then allowed to adopt 
whatever position they prefer to sleep.

174

8188
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Infant/Toddler 

Sleeping Requirements

• An infant’s breathing, sleep position and 
bedding must be monitored frequently for 
possible signs of distress.

• Video surveillance equipment and baby 
monitors can supplement but not replace 
direct supervision.

175

8188

Seating

• Centers must support and accommodate 
breastfeeding.
– Have a designated place set

aside for breastfeeding mothers to use.

• A rocking chair or other comfortable, adult-
sized seating must be 
provided for 50% of the 
caregiving staff on duty who 
are providing infant and 
toddler care.

176

8173
8330

Infant/Toddler Feeding

Foods that may easily cause choking must not 

be served, these include:

– Popcorn.

– Seeds.

– Nuts.

– Hard candy.

– Uncut round foods (grapes, hot dogs, etc.)

177

8330

Infant/Toddler Feeding

• Infants and toddlers must be feed on demand.

• Caregivers must hold infants when feeding them a 

bottle unless the infant resists being held and can 

hold his/her own bottle.

• Bottle propping is prohibited.

• Bottles, beverage containers,

or food is not allowed in 

sleeping equipment.

178

8330

Infant/Toddler Feeding

Centers must foster a toddler’s independence, 

language 

development and social 

interactions by:

– Encouraging self-feeding.

– Serving appropriate portion sizes

– Sitting and eating with toddlers at meals.

179

8330(22)

Infant and Toddler Feeding - Center Provides 

Formula and Food

• Formula must be commercially prepared, ready-to-
feed.

• All containers of ready-to-feed formula, once 

opened, must be labeled with the date and time of 

opening, refrigerated and used within 48 hours or 

discarded.

• Prepared bottles and beverage containers of milk 

and formula must be refrigerated and labeled with 

the child’s name, date and time of preparation.

180

8335
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Infant and Toddler Feeding - Center Provides 

Formula and Food

• Contents of unused bottles of formula must be 

discarded, along with any bottle liners, after 48 

hours.

• All liners, nipples, formula, milk, and other materials 

used in bottle preparation must be prepared, 

handled and stored in a sanitary manner.

• Reusable nipples and bottles must be washed, rinsed 

and sanitized before reuse.

181

8335

Infant and Toddler Feeding - Center Provides 

Formula and Food

• Bottle liners and disposable nipples are for single use 

only, by an individual child and must be discarded 

with any remaining formula or milk after use.

• Commercially packaged baby food must be served 

from a dish, not directly from a factory-sealed 

container, unless the entire container will be served 

to only 1 child and will be discarded at the end of the 

feeding period.
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8335

Infant and Toddler Feeding - Center Provides 

Formula and Food

• Solid foods must be introduced to an infant according to 
the parent’s or licensed health care provider’s 
instructions. 

• Cereal may only be added to a bottle or beverage 
container with written parental permission.

• Infants must only be served formula to drink unless 
written authorization is provided by the child’s licensed 
health care provider.

• Children 12 months of age until 2 years of age must be 
served whole homogenized Vitamin D-fortified cow’s milk, 
except as provided in 
R 400.8330(4).

183

8335

Infant & Toddler Records

184

Parents must receive a daily 
written record of:

– Food intake – time, type of 
food and amount eaten.

– Sleeping patterns – when & 
how long a child slept.

– Elimination patterns.

– Developmental milestones.

– Changes in a child’s usual 
behavior.

8146(3)

Designated Diapering Area

• Physically separated from food 
preparation and service areas. 

• Close to a sink used 
exclusively for hand washing.

• Have a non-absorbent, easily cleanable 
surface in good repair.

• Be sturdy, with railings or barriers.

• Adult work surface height.

• Wash, rinsed and sanitized after each use.

185

8137

Diapering

Children 1 year of age and older may be difficult to 
lift onto a changing table so they may be changed 
in the bathroom and either be changed:

� Standing up. 
� On non-absorbent, easily cleaned and 

sanitized surface with a changing pad 
between the child and the surface. 

186

8137
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Diapering

• Single-use, disposable wipes or other  single-
use cleaning cloths must be used.

• Diapering not permitted on any sleep surface.

• Disposable gloves permitted but not required.

• Diapering guidelines must be               posted 
in diapering area.

• Rinsing cloth diapers/training               pants 
not permitted.

187

8137

Hand Washing Sinks

The diapering area with a readily accessible, 

designated hand washing sink was required 

after December 6, 2006 for any center that:

• Is new.

• Adds an infant/toddler component.

• Increases the licensed infant/toddler capacity.
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8350(2)

Toilet Learning

The following may be used for toilet learning:

• Adult-sized toilets with:

– Safe, easily cleaned modified toilet seats.

– Step aids.

• Child-sized toilets.

• Potty chairs provided they are:

– Easily cleaned and sanitized.

– Used only in a bathroom area.

– Used over surfaces impervious to moisture.

– Washed, rinsed and sanitized after each use.
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8137(11)

School-Age 

190

Multi-Site School-Age 

Program Director

A school-age program director with a bachelors degree 

in a child-related field may oversee up to 3 sites.

• Each program must operate less than 6 hours/day.

• The program director must be

available to the site supervisor

during all hours of operation.

• The program director must be 

at each site for at least 1 session/week.

191

8116

Multi-Site School-Age Programs

Each site must have a site supervisor with the following 

qualifications:

• 19 years old.

• High school diploma/GED.

• 480 hours (3 months full time) 

experience as a caregiver in a

school-age program.

• 15 clock hours, 1 semester hour or 1.5 CEUs of 

school-age training.

192

8119(2)
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Multi-Site School-Age Programs

• Site supervisor must be present at the site during all hours 

of operation.

• Site supervisors are responsible for the daily operation and 

implementation of the site program, supervision of the site 

staff and overall care and supervision of children.

• Site supervisors must assist the program director in:

– Developing, implementing and evaluating program and 

center policies.

– Administering day-to-day operations, including being 

available to address parent, child and staff issues.

– Monitoring and overseeing staff.

193

8119

School-Age Program

• A school-age program must supplement the 

areas of development not regularly    

provided for during the school 

day.

194

8179(5)

School-Age Health Records

Signed statement from parent at enrollment and 

annually thereafter:

• Child is in good health – restrictions noted.

• Immunizations are up-to-date.

• Immunization record or waiver 

is on file at the child’s school.

195

8143(8)

Transportation

196

Transportation

197

• When parents make private 

arrangements for 

transportation, these rules

do not apply.

• All of the transportation

rules apply when centers provide, 

contract or sponsor transportation.

8710

Transportation

When public or public school transportation is 

used only the following rules apply:

• R 400.8760 - Ratios.

• R 400.8770 - Time limit on child transit. 

• R 400.8149 - Parent permission for 

transportation.

198

8710



Child Care Center Rules Orientation

34

Transportation

• Volunteer vehicles are those
not owned by, leased by
or registered to:

– Child care center.

– Director of the child care center.

– Employee of the child care center.

– These rules apply to volunteer vehicles except 
as noted.

199

8701(h)

Motor Vehicles

• Vans with a seating capacity of 11 or more are 
prohibited.

• Motor vehicles must be in safe operating 
condition.

• Statement that vehicle complies with
MI vehicle code safety requirements must be 
on file.

200

8720

XYZ Child Care

Motor Vehicles

• All motor vehicles, except multifunction school activity 

buses and school buses, must be inspected annually by a 

licensed mechanic and the inspection on file. 

• Centers that use multifunction school activity buses and 

school buses must:

– Contact the MSP to determine if MSP will conduct an inspection 

under the Pupil Transportation Act. Keep the MSP inspection on 

file.

– If not, obtain an inspection by a licensed mechanic and keep the 

inspection on file.

• Inspections aren’t required for volunteer vehicles.

201

8720

Safety Equipment

All vehicles must have:

• 3 bi-directional reflective triangles properly cased 

and stored in the vehicle. 

• Volunteer vehicles are exempt from this requirement.

• A first aid kit securely stored in an accessible 

location in the driver compartment.

202

8730

Safety Equipment

Vehicles with a seating capacity of more than 10 must 
have the following in the driver’s compartment:

• 3 15-minute fusees (flares) or an approved battery 
operated substitute properly cased.

• Mounted fire extinguisher (at least 
2A-10BC).

203

8730

Restraint Devices

• Each child being transported must remain seated and 

properly restrained by a passenger restraint device in 

good working condition.

• Children transported on a school-bus or 

multifunction school activity bus are exempt from 

passenger restraint device requirements.

204

8740



Child Care Center Rules Orientation

35

Restraint Devices

• Michigan law requires that children up to age 8 or 

under 4’9” must be properly buckled in an age 

appropriate child safety seat/booster seat while 

riding in a motor vehicle.

• Check with the Michigan State Police department to 

verify the appropriate Child Safety Restraint System.

– Resources at www.michigan.gov/msp.

205

8740

Motor Vehicle Operator

206

Drivers must:

• Be at least 18 years old.

• Possess a valid operator or chauffeur’s license with the 

appropriate endorsement.

• Have less than 6 active points on driving record.

• Provide a copy of driving record obtained annually from 

the Secretary of State.

– Resources at www.michigan.gov/sos.

• Have proof of valid insurance and registration.

8750

Motor Vehicle Operator

• Documents must be on file at center.

• Self-certifying statement for         volunteer 

drivers is acceptable. 

– BCAL-5046 may be used.

207

8750 Transportation -

Ratios and Supervision

Transportation caregiver-to-child ratios:

• Infants and toddlers - 1:4. Driver does not count in 
the ratio. 

• Preschoolers under 3 - 1:8. Driver does not count in 
the ratio.

• 3 year olds - 1:10. Driver may count in the ratio.

• 4 year olds - 1:12. Driver may count in the ratio.

• School-agers - 1:18. Driver may count in the ratio. 

* Ratios do not apply to children not part of the center 
transported with center children by a school. 
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8760

Transportation -

Ratios and Supervision

209

To count in transportation ratio, additional 
staff or volunteers must be:

• At least 16 years old.

• Seated with the children.

• Responsible for the supervision of children.

8760(2)

Transportation -

Ratios and Supervision

• Children must be received from vehicle by a 
staff person, a parent or other person 
designated by the parent.

• Children must not be left unattended in a 
motor vehicle.

• Children under school-age 
must be carried or helped 
into and out of the vehicle.

210

8760(3)
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Time Limits on Transit

• Children under school age must not 

be in a motor vehicle for more than 1 

continuous hour.

• Rest breaks are not permitted as a way to 

comply with this rule.

211

8770

Parent Permission

• Written permission must be obtained annually 
for routine transportation.

• Written permission for any transportation not 
considered routine must be obtained prior to 
each trip. 

• Must be kept on file at 
the center.
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8146
8149

Child Care Licensing Updates

Go to www.michigan.gov/michildcare for:

• Information for providers and parents.

• Child care center rules. 

• Technical assistance manual.                               
(It is recommended that this not
be printed out because it is updated 
often.)

• Forms and publications.

• Resources.

• Sign up for electronic e-mail notifications via GovDelivery.
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