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HOW TO OBTAIN CLEARANCES FROM OTHER STATES

REQUIRED BY R 400.8125(9)

R 400.8125(9) requres the following:

If a staff person has resided outside of this state as an adult within the
10 years immediately preceding the date of hire, a criminal history
check equivalent to Michigan department of state police internet crimi-
nal history access tool (ICHAT) and the department of human services
central registry clearance shall be requested for all states of previous
residence during those 10 years. The out-of-state requests and any
responses shall be kept on file at the center.

For more information on how to comply with this rule, go the the Techni-
cal Assistance and Consultation Manual at
www.michigan.gov/michidcare-ta.

How to Obtain Clearances from Other States
Criminal history checks and abuse and neglect registry clearances can
be obtained from other states as outlined in the chart.

Note: Some states require that the clearances be requested by the
individual and some states allow the clearances to be obtained by the
individual or the child care center. The forms and instructions provided
by the state will indicate who can submit the request. Also, some of the
child abuse and neglect registry forms reference foster and adoption
agencies or the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act; child care
centers use the same form for child abuse and neglect clearances for

employment purposes.

State Criminal History Check Child Abuse and Neglect Registry
Alabama Go to http://background.alabama.gov/ Go to www.dhr.alabama.gov/
contact.htm or call (334) 353-1172. services/Child_Protective_Services/
CentralRegistryClearance.aspx or call (334)
242-9500.
Alaska Go to www.dps.state.ak.us/statewide/ Go to http://dhss.alaska.gov/ocs/Pages/
background/ or call (907) 269-5640. childprotection/default.aspx and go to the
Clearance Form link.
Arizona Arizona law prohibits the release of criminal | Email Colleen Nelson at
history information for employment nelsonc7@michigan.gov for the form.
purposes.
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State Criminal History Check Child Abuse and Neglect Registry

Arkansas Go to www.ark.org/criminal/index.php or call | Complete the form at
(501) 618-8500. http://humanservices.arkansas.gov/dccece/

licensing docs/PRLU%20Child%20
Maltreatment.pdf. For questions, call (501)
682-0405.

California California law prohibits the release of crimi- | California law prohibits the release of child
nal history information for employment abuse and neglect registry information for
purposes. employment purposes.

Colorado Go to www.chirecordscheck.com/Index.asp | Go to www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/
or call (303) 239-4300. CDHS-ExecDir/CBON/1251610438070 and

complete the Individual Inquiry form.

Connecticut Go to http://www.ct.gov/despp/cwp/ Go to www.ct.gov/dcf/cwp/view.
view.asp?a=42128&g=494530 or call (860) asp?a=2639&0=378544.

685-8480.
Delaware Go to www.state.de.us/dsp/shi.htm. Complete the form at http:/kids.
delaware.gov/pdfs/CPR_Request
FormV2.pdf.

Florida Go to https://web.fdle.state.fl.us/search/app/ | Florida law prohibits the release of child

default. abuse and neglect registry information for
employment purposes. Individuals can
obtain a clearances only if they believe they
are on the child abuse and neglect registry.
Email heather richardson@dcf.state.fl.us.

Georgia Go to www.ganet.org/gbi/crimhist.html or Georgia law prohibits the release of child
call (404) 244-2639. abuse and neglect registry information for

employment purposes.

Hawaii Go to https://ecrim.ehawaii.gov/ahewa/. Go to http://humanservices.hawaii.gov/ssd/

backgroundcheck/ and complete the DHS
Experimental Form.
Idaho Go to http://isp.idaho.gov/BCl/index.html or | Go to www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/
call (208) 884-7130. Portals/0/Children/AbuseNeglect/
Requests%20for%20Child%20Protection%
20Central%20Reqgistry%20Checks.pdf.
lllinois Go to www.isp.state.il.us/crimhistory/ Complete the form at www.illinois.gov/dcfs/
chri.cfm or call (815) 740-5216. aboutus/notices/Documents/
cfs 689 authorization for _background che
ck for programs not_licensed by dcfs %
28fillable%29.pdf.

Indiana Go to www.in.gov/dcs/2363.htm. Go to http://www.in.gov/dcs/2363.htm.

lowa Go to www.dps.state.ia.us/DCI/ Complete the form at https://dhs.iowa.gov/
supportoperations/crimhistory/ sites/default/files/470-3301.pdf.
obtain_records.shtml or call (515) 281-4776.

Kansas Go to /www.accesskansas.org/kbi/ Email Colleen Nelson at
criminalhistory/ or call (785) 296-8200. nelsonc7@michigan.gov for the form.
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State Criminal History Check Child Abuse and Neglect Registry
Kentucky Go to http://kentuckystatepolice.org/ Fax a written request on the child care
background_check_forms.htm or call (502) | center’s letterhead to (502) 564-9554. The
227-8713. request must state the a child abuse/neglect
clearance check is being requested and
must include the individual’s name, social
security number and date of birth.
Louisiana Go to https://ibc.dps.louisiana.gov/ or call Louisiana law prohibits the release of child
(225) 925-6095. abuse and neglect registry information for
employment purposes.
Maine Go to www10.informe.org/PCR/ or call (207) | Email Amber Casey at
624-7240. amber.casey@maine.gov or call (207) 626-
8626.
Maryland Go to www.dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/ | Go to the form at http://www.dhr.state.
bgchecks.shtml or call (888) 795-0011. md.us/blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/
bgclear.pdf.
Massachusetts | Go to www.mass.gov/chsb/ or call (617) Send:
660-4600. 1. A signed and notarized release from the
individual to be checked.
2. Include the individual's first and last
name, any maiden names or aliases, date of
birth, social security number, Massachusetts
address if known.
3. Indicate to whom the results are to be
sent and the address.
4. The release, along with a pre-posted, pre-
addressed return envelope, needs to be
sent to:
Department of Children and Families
600 Washington Street, 6th Floor
Boston, MA 02111
ATTN: CORI Unit
Minnesota Go to https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/ Email Colleen Nelson at
Pages/criminal-history-search.aspx. nelsonc7@michigan.gov for the form.
Mississippi Go to www.dps.state.ms.us/resources/ Call (601) 359-4120 for the required form.
support-services/criminal-information-
center/ or call (601) 933-2600.
Missouri Go to www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov or call Email Colleen Nelson at
(573) 751-3313. nelsonc7@michigan.gov for the form.
Montana Go to https://doj.mt.gov/enforcement/ Go to: www.dphhs.mt.gov/cfsd > Child
background-checks/ or call (406) 444-3625. | Protective Service Background Checks (on
left).
Nebraska Go to www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-limited- | Email Sherri Haber at
criminal/ or call (402) 471-4545. Sherri.Haber@nebraska.gov.
Nevada Nevada law prohibits the release of criminal | Email Colleen Nelson at

history information.

nelsonc7@michigan.gov for the form.
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State

Criminal History Check

Child Abuse and Neglect Registry

New Hampshire

Go to www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/
ssb/crimrecords/index.html or call (603)
271-2538.

Complete the form at www.nrcpfc.org/
downloads/NH CR 3rd person

T2202A.pdf.

recordreview.htm or call (518) 485-7675.

New Jersey Go to http://www.njsp.org/. Complete the form at www.nrcpfc.org/
downloads/NJ_Form.pdf. A copy of the
Child Care Center Licensing Rule
400.8125(9) must be included.

New Mexico Go to www.dps.nm.org/faq/ New Mexico law prohibits the release of

record_request.htm or call (505) 827-9181. | child abuse and neglect registry information

for employment purposes.

New York Go to http://criminaljustice.ny.gov/ojis/ Submit a written request on the child care

center’s letterhead to New York State Regis-
trar, PO BOX 4480, Albany, NY 12204-0480.
The request must state the a New York child
abuse/neglect clearance check is being
requested and must include the individual’s
name and date of birth. The names and
dates of birth of any of their household
members, if known, is helpful. A signed
statement from the individual authorizing the
center to obtain the clearance is required.

North Carolina

Go to www.123nc.com.

The required form can be found at
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/forms/dss/

dss-5268-ia.pdf.

North Dakota

Go to www.ag.state.nd.us/bci/chr/index.html

or call (701) 328-5500.

The required form can be found at
www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn00433.pdf.

public_records.aspx or (503) 378-3070 ext.
230.

Ohio If in Ohio, choose a vendor from the list at | Email Colleen Nelson at
www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/ nelsonc7@michigan.gov for the form.
Business/\WebCheck/\Webcheck-

Community-Listing and contact the vendor
for more information.

If not in Ohio, contact BCI at (877) 224-0043
for the required fingerprint cards to be
mailed to your address.

Oklahoma Go to www.ok.gov/osbi/Criminal_History/ Oklahoma law prohibits the release of child
Frequently Asked_Questions/ or call (405) | abuse and neglect registry information for
848-6724. employment purposes.

Oregon Go to www.oregon.gov/OSP/Pagesl/id/ Oregon law prohibits the release of child

abuse and neglect registry information for
employment purposes.

Pennsylvania

Go to www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/
server.pt?open=512&objlD=4451&PagelD=
458521&mode=2 or call (717) 783-5593.

Download the Pennsylvania Child Abuse
History Clearance Form (CY-113 UF) at
www.dpw.state.pa.us/findaform/
childabusehistoryclearanceforms/index.htm
and follow the instructions.
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State

Criminal History Check

Child Abuse and Neglect Registry

Rhode Island

Go to www.riag.ri.gov/bci/records.php or call
(401) 274-4400.

Submit a written request on the child care
center’s letterhead to DCYF, 101 Friendship
Street, Providence, RI 02903. The request
must state that a child abuse/neglect clear-
ance check is being requested and must
include the reason for the request, the indi-
vidual’'s name and date of birth. A signed
statement from the individual authorizing the
center to obtain the clearance is required.
There is a $10 fee for each clearance.
Checks must be made out to "General Trea-
surer, State of Rhode Island.” No personal
checks.

South Carolina

Go to www.sled.state.sc.us/default.htm or
call (803) 737-9000.

Complete the form at https://dss.sc.gov/
content/library/forms/files/3072.pdf.

South Dakota

Go to http://dci.sd.gov/operations/
identification.aspx or call (605) 773-3331.

Clearances are only done on an individual
who believes he/she is on the child abuse
and neglect registry. Requests can be
submitted to Division of Child Protection
Services, 700 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD
57501 and must include the individual’'s
name and date of birth.

call (360) 705-5100.

Tennessee Go to www.thi.state.tn.us/ or call (615) 744- | Tennessee law prohibits the release of child
4000. abuse and neglect registry information for

employment purposes.

Texas Go to www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/ | Go to Form 2970 at www.dfps.state.tx.us/
crime_records/pages/index.htm or call (512) | site_map/forms.asp. For more information,
424-2000. call the Centralized Background Check Unit

at 1-800-645-7549.

Utah Go to http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/ or call | The required form can be found at
(801) 965-4445. http://dcfs.utah.gov/forms/ in the Request a

Background Screening section.

Vermont Goto http://vcic.vermont.gov/record checks | Go to http://dcf.vermont.gov/child
and then click on Vermont Record Check, protection_registry.
then My Own Records.

Virginia Go to www.vsp.state.va.us/FormsPublica- | The required form can be found at
tions.shtm#CriminalHistory >Criminal www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/licensing/
History/Background section > Criminal background_index_childrens_facilities/
History/Sex Offender Name Search Forms | founded cps_complaints/032-02-0151-12-
(SP-167, SP-230, SP-266). eng.pdf.

Washington Go to https://fortress.wa.gov/wsp/watch/ or | Fax a written request on the child care

center’s letterhead to (206) 341-7930, Attn:
CAN History Check Unit. The request must
state the a child abuse/neglect clearance
check is being requested and must include
the individual’s name and date of birth. A
signed statement from the individual autho-
rizing the center to obtain the clearance is
required.
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State Criminal History Check Child Abuse and Neglect Registry
Washington DC | Go to http://mpdc.dc.gov/page/police- Complete the form at http://cfsa.dc.gov/
clearances-arrest-and-criminal-history- sites/default/files/dc/sites/cfsa/publication/
section or call (202) 727-1000. attachments/CPR%2520Request%2520
General%2520Application.pdf.
West Virginia Go to www.wvsp.gov/Criminal%20Records/ | Complete the Form - BCF-PSRC 6/2005 at
Pages/default.aspx or call (304) 746-2170. | www.wvdhhr.org/bcf/provider_resources/.
Wisconsin Go to www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/ Email a written request to
crimback.asp or call (608) 266-5764. CWBckgrdRequests@wisconsin.gov. The
written request must be the child care
center’s letterhead.The request must state
that a child abuse/neglect clearance check
is being requested for employment
purposes and the individual’'s name (includ-
ing middle initial), date of birth and social
security number. A signed statement from
the individual authorizing the center to
obtain the clearance is required. The
request must include the fax number or
email address where results should be sent.
Wyoming Go to http://attorneygeneral.state.wy.us/dci/ | Go to https://sites.google.com/a/wyo.gov/
chc.html or call (307) 777-7181. dfsweb/central-registry.
* If you find inaccurate or outdated information in this table, contact Colleen Nelson at
nelsonc7@michigan.gov.
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