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Bureau of Professional Licensing 

Professional Surveyor FAQs 
 

 
 

1. What are the deadlines to apply for the Fundamental of Surveying (FS) and the Principles 
and Practice of Surveying (PS) exam? 
 
You must contact the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) 
exam administration services at www.ncees.org.  
 
 

2. How do I register for the exam? 
 
You must visit the NCEES exam administration services website at www.ncees.org to register for 
the exam. 
 
 

3. When will I get my exam results? 
 
It takes approximately 2 months for NCEES Exam administration services to mail the exam results to 
you. The department receives notice of the exam results approximately the same time you do. The 
results cannot be given over the telephone.  
 
 

4. When and where will the exam be held? 
 
The exams are usually given in four different locations within the state. The locations are usually 
Warren, Grand Rapids, Lansing, and Houghton.  Please refer to the NCEES exam administration 
services website at www.ncees.org for exact dates and locations of the exam. 
 
The Michigan Part IIB exam is administered by PSI Services, LLC and your approval letter will 
provide instructions for contacting them to register for the exam. 
 
 

5. What type of calculator is allowed in the exam room. 
 
Refer to NCEES's website at www.ncees.org. 
 
 

6. Does the State Of Michigan proctor exams in other states? 
 
No. 
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7. Once licensed, where can I get my seal that is required by the licensing statute? 
 
You can contact any printer. 
 
 

8. What numbers need to be on my seal? 
 
You can use the whole 10-digit license number or the last 5 digits of the license number. 
 
  

9. How do I change my address on my license? 
 
Address changes may be made by email to the Bureau of Professional Licensing by email at 
BPLHelp@michigan.gov, or in writing to the Licensing Division, PO BOX 30670, Lansing, MI 
48909.  A new license is not required; however, if you want the license to be re-issued, there is a 
$10.00 fee. If you want the license to be re-issued, please state this in your correspondence and 
include a check or money order for $10.00, payable to the State Of Michigan or submit the 
Request for Name And/Or Address Update form. 
 
 

10. How long does it take for my license to arrive? 
 
Please allow 7-10 days to receive your license in the mail once all requirements for licensure have 
been met. 
 

 
11. How do I notify the Department of a name change? 

 
Name changes must be made in writing. You may submit the Request for Name and/or Address 
Update form along with the $10.00 required reprint fee. Make the check or money order payable to 
the State Of Michigan. 
 

 
12. I lost my license. How do I request a duplicate license?  

 
All requests for duplicate licenses must be made in writing. You may submit the Request for 
Duplicate License form along with the $10.00 required reprint fee. Make the check or money order 
payable to the State Of Michigan. 

 
 

13. When is my license up for renewal? 
 
Professional Surveyor licenses expire October 31. Renewals are required to be completed online.  A 
renewal notifications will be sent to you via email and postcard by mail, approximately three months 
prior to this date.  
 
 
 

FAQ FAQ 

mailto:BPLHelp@michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_LCL013_496537_7.pdf?20150924115811
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_LCL013_496537_7.pdf?20150924115811
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_LCL013_496537_7.pdf?20150924115811
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_LCE013_496534_7.pdf?20150924115811
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_LCE013_496534_7.pdf?20150924115811


 

Updated 10/18/16  Page 3 of 3 
 

FAQ 
 
 

 
 

14. How do I apply for relicensure? 
 
Please complete and submit the Application for Relicensure form. 
 
 

15. How can I verify a person's license status? 
 
You may verify an individual's license on Check A License website. 
 
 

16. How do I file a complaint against a professional surveyor licensed by the Department? 
 
Complete and submit the Statement of Complaint form. 
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