Application for Journeyman or Master Electrician Examination or Re-examination
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Construction Codes / Electrical Division
P.O. Box 30254, Lansing, Ml 48909 -
Phone: 517-241-9320 | Print_[| Clear

This form can be completed by

tabbing to each field and typing www.michigan.gov/bcc Agency Use Only

in the required information.

Authority: 1956 PA 217 LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable
Penalty: Failure to provide the information requested may result in denial of your request., | accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

Note: In accordance with 2012 PA 313, any veteran providing satisfactory proof of separation from the armed forces of the United States
under “honorable” or “general under honorable conditions” is exempt from registration, licensing and examination fees. For consider-
ation, please attach a copy of either a DD-214, and/or DD-215 to your application. You may email your application and documentation to

bccelec@michigan.gov if you are requesting a veterans exemption only.

NOTICE: ONCE YOUR APPLICATION IS APPROVED YOU WILL BE NOTIFIED BY A THIRD PARTY TESTING AGENCY (PSI) WITH
INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO SCHEDULE YOUR EXAMINATION. ALL EXAMINATION FEES WILL BE PAID TO PSI AT THAT TIME.
PLEASE DO NOT SEND PAYMENT TO THE STATE OF MICHIGAN.

General Instructions
* Mail completed application and required documents to the address listed above.

Important Information

Upon achieving a minimum passing score of 75% or higher, the applicant will be billed $40.00 for the journeyman electrician license or
$50.00 for the master electrician license prior to issuance of the license. Failure of examination 2 times within 2 years requires a 1 year
waiting period from the date of the second failure and proof of successful completion of a course on code, electrical fundamentals or
theory to be eligible for reexamination.

|:| Request for veterans exemption (Copy of DD-214 or DD-215 enclosed)

Please Check One:  [_|Journeyman Electrician Examination [ IMaster Electrician Examination
Applicant Information
NAME (Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial) LAST 4 DIGITS OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
XXX-XX-
ADDRESS CITY APPRENTICE REGISTRATION OR JOURNEYMAN LICENSE

NUMBER IF APPLICABLE

COUNTY STATE ZIP CODE TELEPHONE NUMBER (Include Area Code)

E-MAIL ADDRESS

By checking this box you are certifying that you are at least 20 years of age for the journeyman exam or 22 years of age
for the master exam. []

Have you previously taken this examination? [IYes [CNo If yes, when?

If you have a disability and require an accommodation to take the examination, please submit written documentation from a
professional (education professional, doctor, psychologist, psychiatrist) to certify that your disabling condition requires the requested
test accommodation.
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Examination Eligibility of Applicants From Other States or Countries

A person who is licensed as a journeyman or master electrician in another state or country may qualify for examination upon determination
by the department that the license was obtained by the person through substantially the same or equal requirements as those of the
state of Michigan.

JOURNEYMAN ELECTRICIAN EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

» Applicant must not be less than 20 years of age.

» Applicant must provide notarized documentation from present and former employers verifying the applicant has not less
than 8,000 hours of practical experience obtained over a period of not less than 4 years related to electrical construction or electrical
maintenance of buildings under the direct supervision of a person licensed pursuant to the act. Documentation must include the
beginning (month, day, year) to the ending (month, day, year) dates of employment and signed by the qualified master electrician.

Note: The 8,000 hours of practical work experience over 4 years must be attained prior to submitting the examination
application.

MASTER ELECTRICIAN EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

+ Applicant must not be less than 22 years of age.

 Applicant must provide notarized documentation from present and former employers verifying the attainment of 4,000 hours in
not less than 2 years of practical experience under the direct supervision of a master electrician, subsequent to initial journeyman
issue date.

« If the journeyman license was not issued by the State of Michigan, provide a copy of the license that was issued by the municipality
providing the licensing pursuant to the provisions of Section 6 of the act or a statement from the licensing authority that verifies the
license issued date.

Note: A separate license is required for an electrical contractor.

Certification and Signature

| certify the information provided is true and accurate to the best of my ability. | further understand falsification of any statement is cause
for rejection of application or revocation of license, if issued.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE DATE
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