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Advisory Memorandum 
 
January 21, 2014 
 
TO:  All Licensed Journey and Master Plumbers  
 
CC:  All Plumbing Contractors 
 
FROM: Joseph Madziar, Chief, Plumbing Division 
   
SUBJECT: 2012 Plumbing Code Update Course  
 
The State Plumbing Act, 2002 PA 733, Sections 23 (2) and 25 (2) requires licensed master and 
journey plumbers to complete approved code update classes within 12 months after the plumbing 
code change.   The State Plumbing Board has determined that the course shall consist of not less than 
4 hours of instruction addressing the 2012 Michigan Plumbing Code and the State Plumbing Act.  
The code is required to be updated every three years.  The law requirement was enacted to insure 
that all licensees would have the most recent code information to operate in a safe manner while 
serving the public.      
 
The Michigan Plumbing Code, 2012 edition is effective January 17, 2014.  Therefore, all master 
and journey plumbers shall complete an approved course for the 2012 code by January 17, 
2015.  If this requirement is not met by the deadline, the license will be placed on hold.  
Licenses will continue on the same renewal time frames, one year for journey and three years for 
masters.  Journey plumbers are not required to complete the class for the 2014 renewal cycle.  
 
It is the responsibility of the course instructor to notify the Plumbing Division within 10 business 
days of course completion.  Once received, the Plumbing Division will process notifications as soon 
as possible.  Please do not call our office to make sure we have received notification.     
 
A list of approved course instructors is located on the Bureau website at www.michigan.gov/bcc.  
We will continue to add instructors as they are approved.  You may want to occasionally check the 
website for added instructors.  This division will not maintain individual course provider schedules 
for classes.  Course applications for potential instructors and attendance forms are also available on 
the website. 
  
Questions regarding this matter may be directed to the Plumbing Division at (517) 241-9330. 
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