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(By authority conferred on the state plumbing board by section 13 of 2002 PA 733, MCL 
338.3523, and Executive Reorganization Order Nos. 1996-2, 2003-1, 2008-4 and 2011-4, 
MCL 445.2001, MCL 445.2011, MCL 445.2025 and MCL 445.20305 of Act No. 266 of 
the Public Acts of 1929, as amended, being S338.905 of the Michigan Compiled Laws) 
 
R 338.921, R 338.922, R 338.923, R 338.924, 338.925, R 338.926, R 338.927, R 338.928, R 
338.929, R 338.930 and R 338.931 of the Michigan Administrative Code are amended and R 
338.921a, R 338.924a, R 338.924b and R 338.931a are added as follows: 
 
R 338.921  Examination; qualifications. 
  Rule 1.  Any person who is 1918 years of age or over and who possesses the necessary 
qualifications may apply for examination for a journey plumber’s license.  Any person who 
is 2118 years of age or over, who possesses the necessary qualifications, and who can read 
and write English may apply for examination for a master plumber’s license. 
 
R 338.921a  Definitions. 
  Rule 1a.  The terms defined in the state plumbing act, 2002 PA 733, MCL 338.3511 to 
338.3569, have the same meaning when used in these rules.   
 
R 338.922  Application for journey plumber, master plumber, and plumbing contractor 
examinations. 
  Rule 2.  Application for examination for a journey plumber’s license, or for examination for 
a master plumber’s license, or a plumbing contractor’s license shall be made with a proper 
application blank which shall be furnished by the state plumbing boarddepartment.  The 
application for examination shall be made to the state plumbing boarddepartment at 
Lansing, Michigan, and shall be accompanied with the legal fee prescribed in the state 
plumbing act Act No. 266 of the Public Acts of 1929, as amended, being S338.901 et seq. of 
the Michigan Compiled Laws. 
 
R 338.923  Qualification of applicants for a journey plumber’s examination. 
  Rule 3.  (1)  To qualify for examination for a journey plumber’s license, the an applicant 
shall furnish, either on or with his or her application, a notarized statement from his or her 
present or former employers and master plumber to the effect that he or she has at least 
6,000 hours of experience gained over a period of not less than 3 years had not less than 3 
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years of experience as an a registered apprentice in the practical installation of plumbing 
under the supervision of a master plumber. 
  (2)  When evidence is produced to the effect that the an applicant is a graduate of, or is 
attending, a recognized trade school, proper credit will be given the applicant, but such credit 
shall not exceed 2,000 hours1 year of the required 6,000 hours3 years of practical 
experience as an a registered apprentice. 
  (3)  If the an applicant is unable to conform to any of the requirements in subrules (1) and 
(2) of this rule, he or she may, upon written request, appear before a quorum of the state 
plumbing board to present evidence as to his or her eligibility for examination. 
  (4)  A person who is licensed as a journey plumber in another state or country shallmay, 
upon written request, appear before a quorum of the state plumbing board to present evidence 
as to his or her possession of a journey plumber license and the licensing requirements 
from the licensing state or country.  Upon a determination of the state plumbing board that 
the journey plumber license was obtained by the person through substantially the same or 
equal requirements as those of the state of Michigan, the state plumbing board may allow that 
person to take the Michigan journey plumber examination.  The state plumbing board shall 
then determine if the individual will be allowed to take the Michigan journey plumber 
examination.  
 
R 338.924  Qualifications of applicants for master plumber’s examination. 
  Rule 4.  (1)  To qualify for examinations examination for a master plumber’s license, the 
an applicant shall be on record within the departmentstate plumbing board office as having 
gained 4,000 hours of experience as a licensed journey plumber over a period of not less 
than 2 years immediately preceding the date of his or her application.as having had not 
less than 2 years of experience as a state of Michigan licensed journey plumber immediately 
preceding the date of his or her application. 
  (2)  If thean applicant is unable to conform to the requirements of subrule (1) of this rule, he 
or she may, upon written request, appear before a quorum of the state plumbing board to 
present evidence as to his or her eligibility for examination. 
  (3)  A person who is licensed as a master plumber or equivalent in another state or country 
shallmay, upon written request, appear before a quorum of the state plumbing board to 
present evidence as to his or her possession of a master plumber license or equivalent and 
licensing requirements from the licensing state or country.  Upon a determination of the 
state plumbing board that the master plumber license was obtained by the person through 
substantially the same or equal requirements as those of the state of Michigan, the state 
plumbing board may allow that person to take the Michigan master plumber examination.  
The state plumbing board shall then determine if the individual will be allowed to take 
the Michigan master plumber examination.  
 
R 338.924a  Qualification of applicants for plumbing contractor examination. 
  Rule 4a.  (1)  To qualify for examination for a plumbing contractor license, the 
applicant shall provide his or her residence address, business address, or employment 
information for the past 5 years, and conviction history information on a form provided 
by the department with the appropriate nonrefundable examination fee.   
R 338.924b  Contractors proof of ownership. 
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  Rule 4b.  (1)  To qualify for licensure as a plumbing contractor, an applicant shall 
provide the address of the principal place of business and proof that he or she is an 
owner or officer of the business. 
  (2)  An applicant shall furnish documentation as determined acceptable by the 
department to verify the applicant’s current business structure.  Documentation 
includes, but are not limited to, the following: 
  (a)  For an application for a sole proprietor using an assumed name, a copy of the 
current filed certificate of persons conducting business under an assumed name issued 
by the county clerk or a notarized letter stating the applicant is a sole proprietor with 
the exact business name. 
  (b)  For an application for a partnership, a copy of the current filed certificate of 
limited partnership issued by the department or a copy of the current filed certificate of 
general partnership issued by the county clerk. 
  (c)  For an application for a limited liability company, a copy of the filed articles of 
organization, certificate of assumed name, if applicable, and current notarized 
operating agreement signed by each officer. 
  (d)  For an application for a corporation, a copy of the filed articles of incorporation, 
certificate of assumed name, if applicable, and current certificate of good standing. 
  (e)  For a foreign company,  a copy of the registration to transact business in this state. 
  (3)  An applicant shall provide any other documentation requested by the department 
to determine the applicant’s business structure and current authorization to do 
business in this state. 
 
R 338.925  Investigation of applicants. 
  Rule 5.  (1)  The character, experience, and fitness of the applicants shall also be taken into 
consideration.  The board and department reserves the right to may investigate any 
applicant, or application filed, and approve or disapprove the same. 
  (2)  Upon the acceptance, or rejection, of any an application the state plumbing board 
department will shall immediately notify the applicant at the address given in the 
application.  In the eventIf an application is rejected, the application examination fee will 
shall not be refunded. 
 
R 338.926  Time of examinationCode update courses; instructors’ standards. 
  Rule 6.  If the applications on file warrant, the state plumbing board will conduct 
examinations in the months of March, June, September, and December of each year in the 
Lower Peninsula at a place designated by the board.  If the applications on file warrant, the 
state plumbing board shall conduct an examination in the Upper Peninsula once each year at 
a place designated by the board.(1)  The board shall approve the instructor-provided code 
update course that is in compliance with the requirements of the act and these rules. 
  (2)  The course for master and journey licensees shall be of sufficient contact hours to 
address the design items established by the board in consideration of the number of 
code item changes or updates. 
  (3)  A certificate of completion shall be issued by a course provider to a person who 
has successfully completed the code update class by required attendance.  The 
certificate shall contain all of the following information: 
  (a)  A course approval number granted by the department. 
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  (b)  The name and address of the person, school, organization, or company who 
sponsors or administers the course. 
  (c)  The date the certificate was issued. 
  (d)  The student’s name and address. 
  (e)  The instructor’s signature certifying that the applicant completed the course as 
described in subrule (2) of this rule. 
 
R 338.927  Acceptance of applications Submission process and approval of code update 
course and instructor. 
Rule 7.  An application shall not be accepted, and an admission letter shall not be issued, for 
a scheduled examination unless the application has been on file in the Lansing plumbing 
division office for not less than 20 calendar days before the date of the next scheduled 
examination.  However, the application may be accepted, and the admission letter issued, if 
the applicant appears before a quorum of the board and presents a satisfactory explanation for 
his or her failure to file his or her application in accordance with the 20-day provision.  A 
letter of admission to any examination shall not be renewed, except in cases of illness.  The 
illness shall be confirmed by a statement from the attending physician.  The board may grant 
a renewal of an admission letter following a personal appearance of the applicant before a 
quorum of the board to make a satisfactory explanation of his or her absence from the 
scheduled examination.(1)  A provider of a code update course shall apply for approval 
by submitting information on an application provided by the department.  
  (2)  An application shall contain all of the following information: 
  (a)  The name and address of the applicant. 
  (b)  The name of the instructor and his or her license number where applicable. 
  (c)  A copy of the items established by the board from the department’s program 
outline. 
  (3)  Approval of the course shall be provided by the department through its licensing 
software system. 
  (4)  The department may withdraw the approval of a course if the approval was issued 
in error, if the approval was issued on the basis of incorrect information, or if the 
course is found to be in violation of these rules.  Notice of withdrawal of approval shall 
be in writing and shall state the reason for the withdrawal of approval.  An appeal of 
the withdrawal shall be processed pursuant to the provision of the administrative 
procedures act, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328. 
 
R 338.928  Notice of examination. 
  Rule 8.  Notice of the time and place of examination shall be provided to the 
department.mailed to those applicants whose applications have been accepted and are on 
file in the Lansing plumbing division office for not less than 20 calendar days before the date 
of the next scheduled examination.  This notice shall instruct the applicant as to the tools and 
materials which the applicant is required to furnish.  It shall also include an admission 
noticeletter which shall be presented to the examiners, by the applicant, at the time and place 
of the scheduled examination designated in the admission noticeletter.  The applicant shall 
present current picture identification, such as a driver’s license, to the examiners at the time 
of the examination. 
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R 338.929  Failure to appear for examination. 
  Rule 9.  If any an applicant fails to appear for the examination designated in the admission 
noticeletter, and fails to make a satisfactory explanation for his or her absence to the 
departmentstate plumbing board within 10 calendar days following the scheduled 
examination, his or her application will shall be cancelled and the application examination 
fee forfeited. 
 
R 338.930  Scope of examination. 
  Rule 10.  (1)  The examinations of all applicants for licenses shall be conducted by the 
department and state plumbing board. 
  (2)  The examination of applicants for journey plumber’s license shall consist of oral, 
written, and practical tests.  The written test shall cover the general theory and practice of 
plumbing and knowledge of the Michigan plumbing rules.  The practical test shall cover the 
applicant’s ability to perform such mechanical work connected with the trade of plumbing as 
the board deems necessary.The examination of an applicant for the plumbing contractor 
license shall consist of oral and written tests, but not be limited to questions designed to 
test an individual’s knowledge of the state plumbing act, 2002 PA 733, MCL 338.3511 to 
338.3569, the Stille-DeRossett-Hale single state construction code act, 1972 PA 230, 
MCL 125.1501 to 125.1531, and the administration and enforcement requirements of 
the Michigan plumbing code. 
  (3)  The examination of an applicant for a master plumber’s license shall consist of oral, 
written, and practical tests, as well as the interpretation of charts and blueprints.  The written 
test shall cover the general theory and practice of plumbing, knowledge of the Michigan 
plumbing rules, knowledge of the state laws governing plumbers and plumbing, and such 
other matters pertaining to the best interests of the general public through the practice of 
plumbing.  The practical test shall cover the applicant’s ability to perform such mechanical 
work connected with the plumbing trade as the board deems necessary.The examination of 
an applicant for the master plumber’s license shall consist of oral, written, and 
practical tests, as well as the interpretation of charts, material takeoffs, and blueprints.  
The written test shall cover the general theory and practice of plumbing, knowledge of 
the Michigan plumbing code, knowledge of the state’s laws governing plumbers and 
plumbing, and other matters pertaining to the best interests of the general public 
through the practice of plumbing.  The practical test shall cover an applicant’s ability 
to perform the mechanical work connected with the plumbing trade as the board 
considers necessary. 
  (4)  The examination of an applicant for the journey plumber’s license shall consist of 
oral, written, and practical tests.  The written test shall cover the general theory and 
practice of plumbing, knowledge of the Michigan plumbing code, state’s laws governing 
plumbers and plumbing, and other matters pertaining to the best interests of the 
general public through the practice of plumbing.  The practical test shall cover an 
applicant’s ability to perform the mechanical work connected with the plumbing trade 
as the board considers necessary, such as the interpretation of charts and piping 
projects. 
  (-4-5)  To qualify for a license, all an applicantapplicants shall be required to receive a 
minimum grade of 70% in each partphase of the examination.  Failure to achieve a 



 6 

minimum grade of 70% on each part of the examination shall result in an applicant 
having to retake the entire examination. 
 
R 338.931  Reexamination. 
  Rule 11.  If any an applicant for a contractor, master, or journey plumber’s license does 
not receive a passing grade, his or her application will shall be cancelled and fees forfeited.  
If any applicant for a master plumber’s license does not receive a passing grade, his or her 
application will be cancelled and fees forfeited.  Any An applicant who fails to pass his or 
her examination for a license as a plumbing contractor, master plumber, or journey plumber 
may be examined at the next scheduled examinationapply for reexamination. 
 
R 338.931a  License expiration. 
  Rule 11a.  A journey plumber license, apprentice registration, and plumbing affidavit 
shall expire on April 30 each year.  A plumbing contractor license and a master 
plumber license shall expire on a 3-year-cycle on April 30. 
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