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MIOSHA Recordkeeping
MIOSHA recordkeeping rules have been in effect since the Michigan legislature created the modern MIOSHA program in 1975.  The rules were designed to help employers recognize where workplace hazards were occurring, and thereby be in a position to take corrective action to eliminate the hazards—by keeping track of work-related injuries and illnesses.

Recordkeeping is important to a company’s total safety and health management system.  Conscientious and detailed records are a valuable tool for the employer or employees in recognizing patterns of accidents or illnesses, and in taking preventative actions for a safer and healthier workplace.
 On September 11, 2014, federal OSHA announced new requirements for reporting severe injuries and updates for the list of industries exempt from recordkeeping requirements.  These new rules are effective in federal OSHA states on January 1, 2015.

States like Michigan operating their own OSHA program must promulgate standards which are at least as effective as the federal standards within six months of their publication in the Federal Register.  Michigan intends to adopt the new federal rules by reference. 
Beginning September 1, 2015, MIOSHA will implement the new injury reporting requirements in response to the changes federal OSHA made effective January 1, 2015. Effective September 1, 2015, employers in the state of Michigan will be required to report any work-related amputation, loss of an eye, or in-patient hospitalization of any employee, within 24 hours of the incident. Currently, employers must report the work-related in-patient hospitalization of three or more employees. 

Beginning September 1st, employers can go to the MIOSHA Recordkeeping website to report an in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye incident or call the new injury report line. This system should NOT be used for reporting work related fatalities. All work-related fatalities must be reported within eight hours to the current Fatality line of 1-800-858-0397. 

The previous reporting requirement classified as a catastrophe (in-patient hospitalization of 3 or more employees) is in the process of being removed from the Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Act (Act 154, of 1974). If the changes to Act 154 are not in effect by September 1, 2015, violations for not reporting in-patient hospitalizations of less than 3 employees will not be issued. Employers not reporting amputations or loss of eye injuries to MIOSHA within 24 hours would be in violation of the Part 11 standard. Updates will be provided on the status of Act 154 changes as information is made available.
 The new federal OSHA changes will require employers to file a detailed report within eight hours of fatal workplace accidents.  

Severe on-the-job injuries that do not result in death but require hospitalization must be reported within 24 hours, to the new Severe Injury Reporting 1-844-464-6742.   Such reports must be filed regardless of the size of the business.  

Currently, the regulations require such reports only if a worker was killed or three or more workers were hospitalized as a result of a workplace accident.  The new 24-hour reporting requirement includes all work-related hospitalizations, amputations or loss of an eye.  All employers, including those partially exempted by reason of company size or industry classification, will be required to comply with the new severe injury and illness reporting requirements.  

The new federal regulation maintains the current exemption for any employer with 10 or fewer workers from the requirement to maintain the 300 logs of worker injuries and illnesses.  The new rule also updates the list of employers partially exempt from OSHA recordkeeping requirements.  https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping/ppt1/RK1exempttable.html
The revised recordkeeping rules will require 25 new industries to keep illness and injury records: https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping2014/reporting_industries.html
The federal OSHA website offers  several resources for those new to illness and injury recordkeeping.  One such tool is a tutorial on how to complete the 300 logs.  https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping/tutorial.html
Highlights of Part 11
Occupational Illness/Injury  –   A work-related injury or illness must be recorded if it results in one or more of the following: death, days away from work, restricted work, transfer to another job, medical treatment beyond first aid, loss of consciousness, a significant injury/illness diagnosed by a physician or other licensed health care professional.


Employee Involvement – Requires employers to establish a procedure for employees to report injuries and illnesses and inform employees how to report.  


Working at Home  –  Injuries and illnesses that occur while an employee is working at home, including work in a home office, will be considered work-related if the injury or illness occurs while the employee is performing work for pay or compensation in the home, and the injury or illness is directly related to the performance of work 


Heart Attacks  –  Heart attacks at work that result in fatalities are to be reported.


Fatality/Catastrophe  –  An employer must report a fatality or any hospitalization of three or more employees within eight (8) hours.  A special “report line” is available 24 hours a day by calling:  800.858.0397.


Retention – Records shall be retained for five years, following the end of the year to which they relate.  The MIOSHA Form 300 must be transferred to the new owner, who must continue to maintain and update the log.

          Temporary Employees – You must record these injuries and illnesses if you supervise these employees on a day-to-day basis.

Travel Status – Injuries and illnesses that occur while an employee is in travel status are work-related if, at the time of the injury or illness, the employee was engaged in a work activity “in the interest” of the employer.

Counting Days Away from Work
Count calendar days away from work, including holidays and weekends – instead of workdays.  Do not count the first day, or the day the employee returns to work.  Employers may “cap” the total days away at 180 calendar days.

BLS Survey

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses is the primary source of statistical information concerning workplace injuries and illnesses.


If employers receive a BLS Survey, from BLS or a BLS designee (in Michigan it is the MIOSHA program), they must promptly complete the form and return it within 30 days.  (The same applies to the OSHA Occupational Injury and Illness Data Collection Form.)

Exempt Industries

Employers are not required to keep MIOSHA injury and illness records for any establishment classified in the following North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes, unless they are asked in writing to do so by OSHA, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), or a state agency operating under the authority of OSHA or the BLS. 

All employers, including those partially exempted by reason of company size or industry

classification, must report to MIOSHA any employee’s fatality, in-patient hospitalization,

amputation, or loss of an eye.
Recording Time

Employers must enter each recordable injury and illness on the MOSHA Forms 300 and 301 within seven calendar days of receiving the information that a recordable injury or illness has occurred.

Recording Location

An injury to an employee working at a different site than the employee’s regularly assigned location is recorded at the site where the injury occurred.

Certifying Records

A company executive must certify the MIOSHA Form 300A log.  A company executive is the owner, officer of the corporation, highest-ranking official working at the establishment or immediate supervisor of the highest-ranking company official working at the establishment.  The summary must be signed and dated by the employer or whoever is delegated responsibility.

Postings

The employer must post the Form 300A summary of the previous calendar year no later than February 1 and keep it in place until April 30.

Access to Records


Establishes time lines for providing copies of MIOSHA Form 300 log to employees, MIOSHA representatives, and authorized employee representatives.

Privacy Case


If the employer and/or employee has a privacy concern, the employer may choose not to enter the employee’s name on the MIOSHA Form 300.  (E.g., sexual assaults, HIV infections, mental illnesses, etc.)  If the employer has a privacy case, it must keep a separate, confidential list of the case numbers and employee names.

Medical Surveillance  


When an employee is medically removed under the medical surveillance requirements of a MIOSHA standard, the employer must record the case on the MIOSHA Form 300.

Conclusion

The important thing to remember is to record any case you feel might be recordable—afterwards you can seek clarification and assistance.  It is the employer’s responsibility to keep accurate records. We urge employers to become familiar with the record-keeping requirements.

For detailed information on the recordkeeping standard, forms or training—check the MIOSHA Recordkeeping Page on our website (www.michigan.gov/recordkeeping)

You can also call the MIOSHA Information Systems Section at 517-284-7788 for recordkeeping information and forms.  

For copies of the standard check the MIOSHA website or call the MIOSHA Standards Section at 517-284-7740.   

For information on the recordkeeping teleconferences, seminars, and other training opportunities you can also call the MIOSHA Consultation Education and Training Division at 517-284-7720.
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MIOSHA RECORDKEEPING GENERAL GUIDE FOR RECORDING

This summary of major recordkeeping concepts provides general information to aid in keeping records accurately.


FIRST AID (ALL INCLUSIVE)

· Using nonprescription medications at nonprescription strength (for medications available as both prescription and non-prescription drug, a recommendation by a physician or other licensed health care professional to use a non-prescription drug at prescription strength is considered medical treatment for recordkeeping purposes).

· Administering tetanus or diphtheria immunizations (other immunizations, such as Hepatitis B vaccine or rabies vaccine, are considered medical treatment).

· Using wound coverings such as bandages, Band-Aids, gauze pads, butterfly bandages, Steri-Strips, etc. (other wound-closing devices such as sutures, staples, etc., are considered medical treatment).

· Using hot or cold therapy.

· Using any non-rigid means of support such as elastics bandages, wraps, non-rigid back belts, etc. (devices with rigid stays or other systems designed to immobilize parts of the body are considered medical treatment for recordkeeping purposes).

· Using temporary immobilization devices while transporting an accident victim (e.g., splints, slings, neck collars, back boards, etc.).

· Drilling a fingernail or toenail to relieve pressure, or draining fluid from a blister.

· Using eye patches.

· Removing foreign bodies from the eye using only irrigation or a cotton swab.

· Removing splinters or foreign material from areas other than the eyes by irrigation tweezers, cotton swabs or other simple means.

· Using finger guards.

· Using non-therapeutic massages (physical therapy or chiropractic treatment are considered medical treatment for recordkeeping purposes).

· Drinking fluids for relief of heat disorders.

MEDICAL TREATMENT

· All treatment that does not fall into first aid as listed above.

· Using prescription medications or use of a non-prescription drug at prescription strength.

· Using wound-closing devices such as surgical glue, sutures, staples, etc.

· Using any devices with rigid stays or other systems designed to immobilize parts of the body.
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[Insert MIOSHA Log 300]

[Insert MIOSHA Log 300A]

[Insert MIOSHA Log 301]


Michigan Occupational Safety & Health Administration

Consultation Education & Training Division

Stevens T. Mason Building
530 W. Allegan Street

Lansing, Michigan 48933
        For further information or to request consultation, education and training services 

call (517) 284-7720
or

visit our website at www.michigan.gov/miosha

www.michigan.gov/lara
LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program.  Auxiliary aids, services and 
other reasonable accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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An injury or illness is considered work-related if it results from an event or exposure in the work environment.  The work environment is       primarily composed of:  (1) the establishment and (2) other locations where 1 or more employees are working or are present as a condition of their employment.  When an employee is off the employers’ premises, work relationship must be established; when on the premises, relationship is presumed unless an exception specifically applies.  In addition to physical locations, equipment or materials used in the course of an employee’s work are also considered part of the employee’s work environment. 


2.	All work-related fatalities are recordable.


All work-related injuries and illnesses are recordable if they require:  days away from work, restriction of work or transfer to another job, loss of consciousness, medical treatment beyond first aid, or if a significant injury of illness is diagnosed by a physician/licensed health care professional or identified by a positive medical test.





Reminder:  Work-related injuries requiring First Aid Treatment and that do not involve any of the conditions in Item 3 above are not recordable.  For further inquiries, contact MIOSHA, Management Information Systems Section 


(517) 284-7788.


 (517) 322-1848.
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