
MICHIGAN PERSONNEL AGENT (AGENCIES) LICENSING GUIDE 
 
1. How the Profession is Organized in Michigan  
2. Eligibility for Licensing  
3. Examinations  
4. Time and Costs  
5. Other Careers and Credentials 
6. Beyond Licensing  
7. Important links  
 
1. HOW THE PROFESSION IS ORGANIZED IN MICHIGAN 
 
OVERVIEW 

 
This guide looks at things that you as a foreign-educated personnel agent must do to 
become eligible for a personnel agent license in Michigan.  At the same time, it includes 
some background and tips on the larger personnel agency profession to give you an idea of 
the variety of opportunities available as you work to rebuild your career.  The personnel 
agency profession encompasses the following: 

 
• Personnel agency manager is the individual responsible for the operation of a 
personnel agency. 

 
 
REGULATION OF THE PERSONNEL AGENT (AGENCY) PROFESSION IN MICHIGAN 
 
The Bureau of Professional Licensing (BPL) within the Michigan Department of Licensing 
and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) regulates the personnel agency profession in Michigan.  
Before you can be eligible for licensure as a personnel agent, you must meet certain 
requirements and pass a state examination.  The examination is administered by PSI 
Services LLC (PSI) through testing centers in Michigan. 
 
 
2. ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING 
 

The process for obtaining a personnel agency manager license: 
 

• Has passed the examination approved by the department. 
• Is at least 18 years of age 
• Be of good moral character 
 

 
3. EXAMINATIONS 
 
Before being allowed to sit for the state board examination administered through PSI, you 
must submit a Personnel Agency Employment or Consulting Agent license application to our 
office along with the required $70 fee.  Upon receipt of the application, a determination will 
be made as to whether requirements for licensure have been satisfied.  If so, approval to sit 
for of the examination will be sent to you providing the instructions of how to apply for the 
state board examination.   
 
The state board examination is 75 minutes in length and contains 50 multiple-choice 
questions covering the following subject areas: 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_PA_LPE014_496545_7.pdf


• Personnel Agent Licensing Laws and Rules 
• Michigan Laws Governing Personnel Agents 
• Personnel Placement 
• Employment Consulting 
• Business Management 

 
The cost of the examination is $56.  In order to pass the exam, you must achieve a minimum 
score of 70%. 
 
4. TIME AND COSTS 
 
To be successfully licensed as a Personnel Agency Manager in Michigan depends on a 
number of factors, including: 

 
• Your performance on required examinations 
• Your free time and what you can afford to spend on licensing 

 
We provide two hypothetical scenarios to show just some of the variety of results that 
immigrant professionals may find when they seek to become licensed in Michigan. Please 
consider these scenarios as two examples out of many possibilities. Please understand that 
individual experiences may vary. 

 
HYPOTHETICAL SCENARIOS: 
 

Step More Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 

Less Efficient Scenario 
Approximate Time and Cost 

   

1 
Satisfaction of 
Requirements 

• Submit application with 
application fee 

• 1 month + $70 

• Submit application with 
application fee 

• 1 month + $70 

2 
Exams 

• Pass exam on first attempt 
• 1 month + $56 

• Have to retake the exam 
• Takes 6 months to retake 

the exam 
• 6 months + $112.00 

 More Efficient Total 
Approximately 2 months + 
$126. 

Less Efficient Total 
Approximately 7 months + 
$182. 

5. OTHER CAREERS AND CREDENTIALS  
 
A personnel agent must be employed by a personnel agency.  Both the agent and agency 
must be licensed prior to agency offering services.   
 
In order for a person to obtain a personnel agency license application must be submitted to 
our office with the required $350 fee and a surety bond in the amount of $10,000.  Before 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_PA_LPE013_496548_7.pdf


submitting the agency application to BPL, you will need to determine the type of agency you 
would like to apply for.   

A Type A agency assists clients seeking employment or making basic career decisions, and 
puts a client in direct contact with employers, and receives a fee from the client for the 
services rendered. 

A Type B agency assists or consults with a client to make basic career decisions and 
receives a fee from the client for the services rendered. The services of a Type B agency 
include: resume preparation, clearinghouse, personality evaluation testing, letter-writing 
services, providing lists of employers, or executive counseling. 

The cost to renew a personnel agency license is $125.00. 

6. BEYOND LICENSING

MAINTAINING LICENSURE 

Personnel agent licenses expire on December 31 every year.  Licensees will receive a 
renewal notice approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date. You must renew the 
license online and the cost to renew is $40.00.  If your license expires for longer than 60 
days, you will be required to apply for relicensure to reactivate your license. 

LICENSING MOBILITY (RECIPROCITY) 

Michigan does not have a reciprocal agreement with any other state.  However, a license 
may be granted to an applicant who has met substantially equal requirements in another 
state; otherwise, the applicant may have to obtain additional training or take an examination 
to meet requirements. 

7. IMPORTANT LINKS

LICENSING AND REGULATION 

• The Bureau of Professional Licensing is the state regulatory agency for the
Personnel Agency profession in Michigan. The website specifically for the personnel
agency profession is www.michigan.gov/personnelagencies, which includes links to
the personnel agency’s laws and administrative rules, applications, frequently asked
questions, etc.

• Contact information: Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, BPL-Licensing
Division, PO Box 30670, Lansing MI 48909.

• Telephone Number 517-241-9288; Fax: 517-373-7179 Email: bplhelp

TESTING 

• Candidate Information Bulletins are available on PSI’s website
at www.psiexams.com.

http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-72600---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/personnelagencies
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154--380409--,00.html
http://www.psiexams.com/
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