## APPLICATION FOR PERFORMING ARTS AUTHORIZATION

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 530 W. ALLEGAN P. O. BOX 30476 LANSING, MI 48909-7976

TELEPHONE: (517) 284-7800 FACSIMILE: (517) 763-0110

Authority: 1978 PA 90, as amended, MCL 409.101, et seq.

Website: WWW.MICHIGAN.GOV/WAGEHOUR

e-mail: LEO-YESA-PERFORMING-ARTS-AUTHORIZATION@MICHIGAN.GOV

## FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Approval Date:

**Expiration Date:** 

Telephone#:

It is the policy of the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity

that no person on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin or ancestry,

## SUBMIT at least 10 business days PRIOR TO Rehearsal and/or Performance start date \*\*\*\*PLEASE NOTE: INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED\*\*\*\*

Completion: Mandatory Penalty: Misdemeanor and/or Felony		age, sex, heigh	t, weight, marital status any program, service, or a	, or disability sh	all be subjected to	
Authorization cannot be granted unless this form is date of the performance. To expedite approval, a signatures from the parent (guardian) and the edoctor's statement verifying the performance will n performances require the minor to be on tour during An application approved by the Department, is valid the minor is working. Authorization may be denied violation of the provisions of Act 90.	employe of be de the sch for the p	ed and returned all questions in ter. An application etrimental to the roool year, a state period indicated anded, or revoked	to the above address his application. Print must be made for eminor's health for a mile certified teacher must bove. Adult supervision	for review and a clearly or type. ach production i nor under six y accompany the on must be present it is determine	pproval prior to the  Be sure to obtain  n Michigan. Attach rears of age. When e school aged minor ent during the period	
Production / Movie Name:	Type of Production:					
Name of Business/Production Company:		Telephone #:				
Business Address:		City: State: ZIP:			IP:	
County: Business Email:			Feder	al ID#:		
Workers' Compensation Insurer:		Policy #:				
	EMPLO	OYER STATEM	1ENT			
The above employer/business requests appro-	val to e	mploy:				
Legal Name of Minor:	Last	st 4 Digits of Social Security#: Birth Date:				
Address:	City:		State:	ZIP:		
Description of role/activity to be performed:						
Location of Rehearsal or Performance Street Address City		Rehearsal Dates	Starting and Ending Times (i.e. 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.)	Performance Dates	Starting and Ending Times (i.e. 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.)	
Onsite Production/Business Company Name:		I	l	Fed Tax ID#:	l	

SEE OTHER SIDE FOR RESTRICTION INFORMATION, PARENTAL PERMISSION STATEMENT AND EMPLOYER CERTIFICATION

Onsite Address, City, State, ZIP Code:

Contact Person Name, Address:

## RESTRICTIONS FOR EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS BY PERFORMING ARTS ORGANIZATIONS

- 1. All minors shall have adult supervision at all times.
- No minor shall perform for more than 5 hours continuously without a documented uninterrupted meal or rest period of at least 30 minutes. An interval of less than 30 minutes shall not be considered to interrupt a continuous period of work.
- 3. All minors may not work for more than 6 days in 1 workweek.
- 4. All minors (from the age of 15 days old through 17 years of age) shall not be employed more than 48 hours in a workweek.
- 5. A minor under 16 years old may **not** be employed in establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold at retail **unless** the sale of food or other goods constitutes at least 50% of the total gross receipts. Minors **under 16 years old** cannot work in the part of the establishment where alcohol is consumed or sold for consumption on the premises.
- 6. Infants 15 days to 5 months old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 2 hours. Each 2-hour period shall consist of not more than 20 minutes of work. They shall not be employed between the hours of 4:30 p.m. and 9:30 a.m. Under no conditions shall they be exposed to light exceeding 100 foot-candles for more than 30 seconds at a time. A nurse must be present for each 3 or fewer infants aged 15 days to 5 weeks and for each 10 or fewer infants aged 6 weeks to 5 months. A parent or guardian must always be present.
- 7. Minors 6 months to 1 year old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 4 hours. Each 4-hour period shall consist of not more than 2 hours of work. They shall not be employed between the hours of 7:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.
- 8. Minors 2 years to 5 years old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 6 hours. Each 6-hour period shall consist of not more than 3 hours of work. They shall not be employed between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.
- 9. Minors 6 years to 8 years old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 8 hours. Each 8-hour period shall consist of not more than 4 hours of work. On days when a minor's school is not in session, work time may be increased to 6 hours. They shall not work between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 6:00 a.m., unless approved by the Department.
- 10. Minors 9 years to 13 years old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 9 hours. Each 9-hour period shall consist of not more than 5 hours of work. On days when a minor's school is not in session, work time may be increased to 7 hours. They shall not work between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 6:00 a.m., unless approved by the Department.
- 11. Minors 14 years to 15 years old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 10 hours. Each 10-hour period shall consist of not more than 10 hours of work. They shall not work between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. on days preceding school days and 12:30 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on days preceding non-school days, unless approved by the Department.
- 12. Minors 16 years to 17 years shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 10 hours. Each 10-hour period shall consist of not more than 10 hours of work. They shall not work more than 48 hours in a workweek. The minor shall not work between the hours of 11:30 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. on days preceding school days and 12:30 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on days preceding non-school days, unless approved by the Department.

The Director of the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity may revoke this approval; if the employment is determined to be detrimental to the health or personal well-being of the minor, or if the minor is not adequately supervised or the minor's education is neglected. The employer may request a hearing to review the denial, revocation or modification of a deviation. Approval by the department shall not excuse noncompliance with any other federal or state law or municipal ordinance establishing a more protective or restrictive standard.

		A				
PERM	IISSION STATEMENT OF PARENT OR	GUARDIAN				
give my permission for to work in the performance described on this application						
(na	me of minor)	·				
I acknowledge that I am aware of what my	child will be doing, the manner, time and	place in which the performance	will occur.			
g,	3,					
(Print or type name of parent orguardian)	(Signature of parentor guardian)	(Telephone number of parent	(Date signed)			
	,	or guardian)	, ,			
	EMPLOYER CERTIFICATION					
The undersigned certifies the employm		rimental to the health, safety or	r wall-			
being of the minor and that records will						
minor is employed.	be mamamed and made available for	inspection at the premises wit	ere ure			
minor is employed.						
(Print name of employer or representative)	(Signature of employer or representative)	(Title)	(Date signed)			

WHD-9407 Rev: 2/20