APPLICATION TO CORRECT or CHANGE A MICHIGAN BIRTH RECORD
(FOR A CHILD LESS THAN ONE YEAR OLD)

PLEASE READ AND FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS MAIL APPLICATION AND PROPER FEE TO:
For additional information: Vital Records Changes
Vital Records Changes P.O. Box 30721
(517) 335-8660 Mon-Fri 8:00 am - 5:00 pm ET Lansing MI 48909
PERSON REQUESTING CORRECTION OR CHANGE PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY AND LEGIBLY

Please provide your name and complete mailing address to mail the new record to you and a phone number to contact
you if there are questions regarding this request.

Person Requesting Correction or Change:

Mailing Address:

City/State/Zip:

Daytime phone to contact you: Area Code & Number - -

ELIGIBILITY

To beeligibleto correct or change a child’s birth record, you must be a parent named on the record, or alegal guardian
or legal representative of the person named on the record. Legal guardians must include a copy of the court guardianship
documents. Legal representatives must provide information on official letterhead, documenting that he/she represents the
person named on the record.

9 Parent named on the record
9 Legal guardian of the person named on the record
9 Legal representative of the person named on the record

DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE IS “NOT” REQUIRED FOR THE FOLLOWING CHANGES:

1. Correct, add or change the first or middle name of the child.

2. Correct the spelling of the child’s last name.

3. Add a parent’s first or middle name if originally omitted.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

Any other changes than those items listed above require documentary evidence. Some examples might be hospital
records, medical records, statement from attendant at birth, baptismal records, insurance documents, etc. If you need more
information or have specific questions, you may call the Changes Unit at (517) 335-8660.

Please list below the documentary evidence you are submitting to make the change requested:

1.

2.

Documentation will be returned to you when the request has been completed.




CHANGES REQUESTED: ITEM IN ERROR

INFORMATION AS IT SHOULD APPEAR

If any birth information is unknown, please indicate “unknown” in the appropriate space.

INFO TO CHILD’'S CHILD'S
LOCATE NAME DATE
CHILD’S BIRTH AT OF
RECORD BIRTH: BIRTH
First Middle Last Mo Day Year

GENDER CHILD’'S

O Male PLACE
OF

9 Female BIRTH: Hospital (If recent birth) City County

MOTHER’S NAME

BEFORE FIRST MARRIED: First Middle

Mother’s State of Birth
(Or country, if not U.S.)

Last

FATHER’'S NAME: First Middle

Father’s State of Birth
(Or country, if not U.S.)

Last

CHANGE A CHILD’'S NAME.

A SIGNATURE IS REQUIRED TO PROCESS THE APPLICATION.
WHEN TWO PARENTS ARE NAMED ON THE RECORD, BOTH PARENTS’ SIGNATURES ARE REQUIRED TO CORRECT, ADD OR

K Signature of Person
Requesting Change:

Date:

K Other Signature:

Date:

OFFICE USE ONLY - DO NOT WRITE IN THIS AREA

PENALTIES: Any person who willfully and knowingly makes false
application to change a Michigan birth record may be fined not
more than $1,000 and/or imprisoned not more than one (1) year.
MCL 333.2894(1)(b) and (c).

DCH-0846 Rev 06/20/2003 MCL 333.2871(3) and 333.2891(9)(b)

PAYMENT - The fee for correcting or changing a Michigan
birth record is $26.00 and includes one copy of the record
with the changes made. Additional copies of the new
record are available for $5.00 each when ordered at the
same time. Payment must be made by check or money
order and made payable to the “State of Michigan.”

Application Fee $26.00 $26.00
(Non-Refundable)
Fee includes one (1)

certified copy of the record

$5.00 $
Each

Additional
Certified Copies

TOTAL ENCLOSED: $




