
Blank Space
For Offi cial Use Only

Payment Method: Check/Money Order No. _________________________________________  Amount enclosed: _____________

Please make check/money order payable to the State of Michigan (see instructions on back of form).

Signature:_________________________________________________ Date:___________________

Please print your name here:__________________________________________________________

Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development
P.O. Box 30776,  Lansing, MI 48909-8276 • 517-284-5653

Name:____________________________________________________________________

Home Address:_____________________________________________________________

City:__________________________________________________ State: ______________ 

County:________________________________________________  Zip:_______________ 

Phone: (_____)_______________ Cell Phone: (_____)______________________________ 

Email:_____________________________________________________________________

Date of Birth: ____/____/______    Social Security Number:_______-____-____________

1a. Are you applying for reciprocity?:   Yes    What state __________________     No    

1b. Are you certifi ed in, and a resident of, that state?:   Yes         No  

Employer Information

Employer Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________________

Street Address of Employer:____________________________________________________________________________________

City:______________________________________________ State: _______  County: _____________________Zip:_____________

Phone: (_____)_____________  Fax: (_____)_______________ Email:_________________________________________________

Application Fees (Non-refundable) 

Pesticide Applicator Certifi cation/Registration Application

In accordance with 1994 Public Act 451, Part 83
 

www.michigan.gov/mdard-licensing

 PI-232 (5/17)

Exams/Categories (Please check all that apply for certifi cation) 

Instructions on the
back of this form

By signing below I certify that the foregoing is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief and that I will comply 
with the provisions of 1994 Public Act 451, Part 83, as amended, and all regulations promulgated thereunder.

First, middle initial, last

Include apartment number if applicable

MM    DD       YYYY

8
Public Health
Pest Mgmt.

9
Regulatory
Pest Mgmt.

10
Demo &

Research
Pest Mgmt.

Commercial
Core

Registered
Core

  Commercial Applicator   $75 

  Private Applicator   $50 

AOBJ: 0188

AOBJ: 0343

This certifi cation will NOT be issued without the above signature and date!

Private
Core

AOBJ: 0187

  I am adding categories to my current certifi cation.  Certifi cation Number:________________________
        Application fee for adding categories is same as above.  

1D
Livestock

Pest Mgmt.

2
Forest

Pest Mgmt.

2A
Wood 

 Preservation

3A
Turfgrass 

Pest Mgmt.

7B
Wood 

Destroying
Pest Mgmt.

Fumigation

3B
Ornamental

Pest Mgmt.

  Commercial Registered Applicator   $45       Private Registered Applicator   $50 

4
Seed

Treatment

5
Aquatic

Pest Mgmt.

5A
Swimming

Pools

5B
Microbial

Pest Mgmt.

5C
Sewer Line
Pest Mgmt.

6
Right-of-Way
Pest Mgmt.

7A
General 

Pest Mgmt.

7D
Vertebrate
Pest Mgmt.

7E
Interior Plant
Pest Mgmt.

7F
Mosquito

Mgmt.

Aerial 

7G
Domestic 
Animal

Pest Mgmt.

1C
Fruit

Crops

1B
Vegetable

Crops

1A
Field
Crops

Applicant (Applicator) Information (Please print) 

      Application Fees Exemption for honorably discharged veterans of the Armed Forces of the United States (private 
       pesticide certifi ed applicators only).  A copy of your DD-214 must be submitted along with your application.



Be advised, it is a violation of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 Public Act 451, Part 83 to 
purchase or apply restricted use pesticides, or, to apply pesticides for a commercial purpose or during a work assignment, 
without a valid certifi cation credential. Applicators not subject to the business license requirement and who use a general-
use pesticide directly from its original container (ready-to-use) are exempt from certifi cation requirements.

Commercial and Registered Applicator - This certifi cation is intended for use by individuals who apply a pesticide in the 
course of their employment or other business activity. Commercial and registered applicators or fi rms that intend to apply 
pesticides for hire must also obtain a Commercial Pesticide Applicator License.

Private Applicator - This certifi cation is intended for use by individuals or their employees who apply or supervise the 
application of restricted use pesticides for the purpose of producing any agricultural commodity on property:
 A.  Owned or rented by an individual or his/her employer, or
 B.  On property of another for no compensation other than trading of personal services between producers.

To Qualify For Certifi cation/Registration Credential

1. Must be 18 years of age or older.

2. Submit appropriate fee and a completed application.

3. Commercial applicators must pass the commercial core exam and a minimum of one category exam in the   
applicant’s area of pesticide application. If the applicator applies for more than one category, all exams must be  
passed before a credential will be issued. An additional standard is required for individuals who intend to use fumigant 
pesticides or apply pesticides by aircraft.

  Registered applicators must pass the commercial core exam, and complete a Michigan Department of Agriculture 
and Rural Development (MDARD) approved training program coordinated by an MDARD approved trainer. The 
training program must be verifi able and category-specifi c. A Registered Applicator Verifi able Training form must be 
completed and returned to MDARD.

  Private applicators must pass the private core exam. An additional exam is required for individuals who intend to use 
fumigant pesticides or apply pesticides by aircraft.

4. All exams must be passed with a score of 70% or better before a credential will be issued.

5. Applicants who fail their exam(s) may schedule to retake the exam(s) without an additional application fee within six   
      months after the initial application date.  (Note: Computer-based exams have an additional fee per test).

Instructions for Completing the Application

1. Type or print in pen.

2. You must complete all the requested information on the application form.

3. Check yes if you are applying for reciprocity by another state. Indicate which state and if you are certifi ed and a

       resident there.  Reciprocity is only available for residents of Indiana, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

4. Check type of applicator certifi cation/registration required.

5. Check if you are adding category(ies) to your current credential.

6. Check the category(ies) in which you are seeking certifi cation/registration.

7. Check aerial or fumigation standards if you intend to apply pesticides by aircraft or use fumigant pesticides.

8. Sign and date the application form.

9. Schedule online at www.michigan.gov/pestexam or call 1-800-292-3939 for paper-based exams. Schedule online at
       www.metrosignup.com for computer-based exams. (Note: Computer-based exams have an additional fee per test). 

10. Take this application with a check or money order payable to the “State of Michigan” in the appropriate amount to a
       paper-based exam site. Credit cards and cash are not accepted. If you are testing exclusively at computer-based   
       exam sites, mail the application and fee to the address at the top of the application. The application fee is non- 
       refundable.

11. You must pass all the exams for the pesticide applicator categories you designate on your application within six
       months after the initial application date.  

A certifi cation/registration card will be issued within six weeks to each person who completes the requirements for 
certifi cation/registration. The applicator must have the card in his/her possession when purchasing restricted use 
pesticides or applying any pesticides. The fee for a replacement credential is $10.00.

An applicator’s credential expires December 31 of every third year. Individuals will receive a renewal application 
and information approximately three months prior to the expiration of their credential. Renewal may be obtained by 
accumulation of seminar credits or by taking renewal examination(s). More information about renewing and certifi cation 
may be found on our website at www.michigan.gov/mdardpestcert.

Pesticide Applicator Application Instructions


