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Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development
P.O. Box 30776,  Lansing, MI 48909 • 517-284-5771
FAX: 517-241-4640  www.michigan.gov/mda-feed

License Name:_____________________________________________________________

License Address:___________________________________________________________

City:________________________________________________ State:________________ 

County:_____________________ Zip:_______________ Country:____________________

Submitter name if different from above:__________________________________________  

Address:____________________________________ City:__________________________

State:______________ Zip:________________ Country:____________________________

Contact Name:_____________________________________________________________

Title:_____________________________________________________________________ 

Phone:(_____)______________________ Fax:(_____)_____________________________  

Email:_______________________________________________ Business Website www.___________________________________

      $100.00 per license                            $25.00 per license (if distributing in containers of ONLY 5lbs or less)

 Payment Method: Check/Money Order # _________________________________________  Amount enclosed: _______________

 Please make check/money order payable to the State of Michigan and submit to the address at the top of the page.

License Fees (Select only one box)                                       

In accordance with 1975 Public Act 120, as amended.

I hereby certify that the statements given above are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I agree to comply with the 
provisions of Act No. 120, P.A. of 1975 as amended and all regulations promulgated thereunder. 

Signature:__________________________________________________ Date:________________

Print name: _____________________________________________________________________

Title:___________________________________________________________________________                                                               
www.michigan.gov/mdard-licensing

Application continues 
on the back of this form

Commercial Feed Manufacturer/Distributor License Application

License Year Ending: June 30     Status:     New        Renewal       No Longer Needed  

Out-of-state fi rms must select one of the following:

       Michigan Resident Agent

Resident Agent Name:_____________________________________ Email:______________________________________________

Address:_________________________________________________________________________ Phone:(_____)______________

      In lieu of a resident agent, the fi rm will maintain and make feed records required by law available to MDARD and pay all costs 

incurred by MDARD in auditing the records if they are held at an out-of-state location.

 Manufacturer of Animal Feed (including ingredients)                 Distributor of Animal Feed

Types of Feed Products (check all that apply)   

       
  Livestock Feed                       Pet Food                              Medicated Feed          

  Specialty Pet Food                 Pet Treats              Food By-Products/Salvage Food                           
        

Manufacturing/Distribution Questions  (License will not be issued if incomplete.)

Failure to include this number may
delay the licensing renewal process.

If Renewal, License No. of Establishment: ______________

                        PI-134 (8/16)

Resident Agent  (Out-of-State Firms Only)

Business Information

Federal ID or EIN Number:

_____________________________

Business Type:  (check all that apply)

License - AOBJ: 0181    Late Fee - AOBJ: 0457



1. Complete the entire feed license application.

2. Submit a copy of the label for each product.  

3. Check payable to the State of Michigan.

4. Return ALL of the above items to:

Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development
Pesticide and Plant Pest Management Division
P.O. Box 30776 (if payment is due) Use P.O. Box 30017 for all other correspondence
Lansing, MI 48909 Use 525 W. Allegan, Lansing, MI 48933 for overnight delivery

Commercial Feed - means all materials or combination of materials, including feed ingredients that are 
distributed or intended for distribution for use as animal feed or for mixing in animal feed.

Manufacture - means to prepare, grind, mix, package, repackage, or relabel commercial feed for distribution. 

Distribute - means either of the following: (i) To offer for sale, hold for sale, sell, exchange, or barter commercial 
feed.  (ii) To supply, furnish, or otherwise provide commercial feed to a contract feeder or integrated operator.

Pet Food - means a commercial feed prepared and distributed for consumption by dogs or cats.

Pet Treat - means a commercial feed provided to an animal as a reward or snack and not intended as pet food.

Specialty Pet - means any noncanine or nonfeline domesticated animal kept as a pet and normally confi ned 
to and maintained in a cage or tank within the owner’s domicile, including, but not limited to, gerbils, hamsters, 
canaries, psittacine birds, mynahs, fi nches, tropical fi sh, goldfi sh, snakes, and turtles.

Resident Agent - someone who is appointed by the licensee to receive any documents, notices, or demands 
served upon the licensee. The resident agent must be a Michigan resident, a Michigan corporation, a foreign 
corporation with a certifi cate of authority to transact business in Michigan, a Michigan limited liability company or 
a foreign limited liability company authorized to transact business in this state.

Medicated Feed - is any animal feed containing an approved drug additive (i.e. Chlortetracycline, Tylosin, 
Monensin, etc.) for the intended use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease in 
animals, except man; or to affect the structure or a function of the animals body.

Defi nitions (P.A. 120 of 1975, as amended and effective October 1, 2015):

Important Information

•  All product labels MUST be approved by the Department prior to their distribution in Michigan.   

   Include all new/revised labels with your application.

•  Any incomplete applications will be returned and no license will be issued.   

•  All in-state locations that manufacture commercial feed are required to have a license. 

•  Specialty pet food manufacturers are now required to have a license. 

•  An inspection (tonnage) fee report of all feed manufactured and distributed in Michigan must be fi led annually.

•  For tonnage report, additional feed licensing, and other program information, please visit: 

www.michigan.gov/mda-feed

Instructions

New License Fees

Note: 
•  As of October 1, 2015, all commercial feed manufacturers (other than manufacturers selling in packages less
   than 5lbs only) are required to pay the $100 license fee.  Please visit www.michigan.gov/mda-feed for more
   details.  
•  The license fee will remain $25.00 per license for packaged feed in containers of 5lbs or less.


