
Ferret Health  
Advisory

In Michigan, ferrets over 12 weeks of age are required 
by law to have a current rabies vaccination given by a 
veterinarian.  
 
If a human is bitten by your ferret, you are required to report 
the bite to the local health department within 24 hours.  
 
The health department will guide you to any additional 
actions that may need to occur. 

Rabies Vaccination 

If you bring a ferret into Michigan from another state, that 
movement is considered importation, which has specific 
requirements. These requirements help us protect public 
health and prevent sick animals from coming into Michigan. 
Here is what you will need before importing your ferret:  

•	 Official interstate health certificate, signed by an  
accredited veterinarian, which includes a record  
of vaccinations. 

•	 Ferrets over six weeks of age are required to have a 
current distemper vaccination.

•	 Ferrets over 12 weeks of age also need a current  
rabies vaccination. 
 

A ferret less than six weeks of age cannot be imported 
into Michigan unless accompanied by its natural mother. 

Bringing Ferrets into Michigan

County, city, village or township 
governments may require licensing 
of ferrets, similar to the licensing 
that has been established for dogs. 
Check with your local government to 
see if this applies to you. 

Local Licensing of Ferrets

If you have any questions, contact the 
Michigan Department of Agriculture and 
Rural Development at 800-292-3939.

Veterinary Care and Vaccinations
Ferrets should receive routine health examinations 
from a veterinarian. Your veterinarian can provide you 
with information on preventative health care, including 
appropriate vaccinations. If you think your ferret is ill, 
contact your veterinarian immediately. 

Unless you are purchasing directly 
from a ferret breeder, you must 
receive a pet health certificate from 
the seller that states the ferret has 
been examined by a veterinarian 
within the last 30 days.

Buying a Ferret


