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      May 31, 2012 
 
 
 
TO ALL MICHIGAN GRAIN DEALERS: 
 
On May 30, 2012, legislation signed by Governor Rick Snyder (Public Acts 887 and 888 
of 2012, immediate effect) updating the Michigan Grain Dealers Act, PA 141 of 1939, as 
amended, and the Farm Produce Insurance Act, PA 198 of 2003, as amended, went 
into effect.  The legislation is available at www.michigan.gov/graindealers. 
 
The legislation will increase restricted revenue for the Michigan Department of 
Agriculture and Rural Development (Department) Producer Security Program by 
approximately $300,000.  Approximately, of that, $100,000 is from increased licensing 
fees, and $200,000 in Farm Producer Insurance Fund assessments.  This revenue is 
necessary to recover the loss of general fund revenue that is no longer appropriated for 
the program.  Governor Snyder’s office stated that the legislation ensures sufficient 
funds for producer security programs, without reliance on general fund dollars.   
 
In addition to the new fee structure, Senate Bill 887 would reduce bailment bond costs 
by eliminating warehouse, grain bank, and open storage bond requirements.  Key 
provisions of the Grain Dealers Act legislation, which may impact your daily operations 
include:            
  

1) Sec. 8. (1) A grain dealer shall pay a license fee to the department with an 
application for a license or renewal of a license.  The license fee is the sum of all of 
the following that apply to the grain dealer: 

 
(a) For each receiving point of the grain dealer that has total bushel capacity of:  

(i) 100,000 or less...............................................................................$ 500.00 
(ii) More than 100,000 and 200,000 or less.........................................$ 625.00 
(iii) More than 200,000 and 300,000 or less.........................................$ 750.00 
(iv) More than 300,000 and 400,000 or................................................$ 875.00 
(v) More than 400,000......................................................................$ 1,000.00 

(b) For vehicles owned by a farm produce trucker: 
(i) For 1 vehicle...................................................................................$ 500.00 
(ii) For each additional vehicle.............................................................$ 200.00 

(c) For a grain merchandiser’s license....................................................$ 1,000.00 
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2) Section 8(5) and Section 27 are repealed, which would drop the requirement for a 

warehouse, grain bank, or open storage bond under the Grain Dealers Act.  Bond 
requirements for truckers, merchandisers, and deficiency bonds for net allowable 
asset requirements have not changed. 

 
Key provisions of the Farm Produce Insurance Act, which may impact your daily 
operations include: 
 

1) Section 10 (2) allows the Farm Produce Insurance Authority board to initiate an 
administrative premium assessment on the net proceeds from all farm produce 
sold by a producer to a grain dealer beginning in calendar year 2013.  The 
premium is to be calculated as a percentage of the net proceeds from all farm 
produce sold and would have to reflect the board's determination of the amount of 
funds needed to reimburse the Department for producer security activities.  

 
2) Section 10 (4) A grain dealer licensee will be required to deduct the premium from 

the proceeds when purchasing farm produce, and forward premium collections to 
the Authority for deposit in the Farm Produce Insurance Fund within 30 days of the 
close of each calendar year quarter.  The licensee will be required to keep a record 
of these premium collections for at least three years and the Department would be 
required to verify their accuracy.  A grain producer that had paid an administrative 
premium may request and receive a refund of that premium, but in doing so would 
become ineligible for participation in the insurance program.  

 
3) Section 10 (5) If the board established, adjusted, or eliminated an administrative 

premium for a calendar year, the board is required to notify the Department in 
writing of that action at least 120 days before January 1 of that year, and the 
Department by first class mail shall notify each licensee of the requirements at 
least 90 days before January 1 of that Calendar Year.  

 
If you have any questions, please contact Jeff Haarer at (517) 241-2865 or 
haarerj@michigan.gov. 
 
      Sincerely, 
 

       
      Gina Alessandri, Director 
      Pesticide and Plant Pest Management Division 
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