Conditional Exemptions

In certain conditions, exemptions to the approved disposal methods for dead animals apply. Conditional exemptions apply to carcasses of wild animals that were "road kill" or were taken under the authority of a damage and nuisance animal control permit, including:

- raccoons, opossums, porcupines, or other small mammals
- wild deer or other wild cervidae
- birds

Conditional exemptions also apply to animals kept in secured, temporary cold or frozen storage.

Temporary Cold Storage Options

Dead animals may be stored temporarily for up to seven days in secured, temporary cold storage at a maximum of 40 degrees Fahrenheit. If longer temporary storage is required, dead animals may be frozen and securely stored at 0 degrees Fahrenheit or below for a maximum of 30 days. At the end of the maximum storage period, carcasses must be disposed of in one of the approved methods listed in this brochure.

Human and Animal Health and Environmental Protection

If the director of MDARD suspects that the disposition of animal carcasses or the residue from burning a carcass would produce a toxicological contamination threat to human or animal health, or to the environment, the director may determine and require an alternative disposal method, at the owner's expense.

Complaints

If you believe someone is not properly disposing of dead animals and the individual is not a licensed renderer, you are advised to contact your local animal control or police. If you wish to file a complaint against a renderer, contact MDARD at 800-292-3939.

Violations

A person who violates the Bodies of Dead Animals Act, or the rules promulgated under this act, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a minimum fine of \$300 or imprisonment for a minimum of 30 days, or both.

Three or more convictions for violating this act is a felony punishable by imprisonment for a maximum of one year or a fine of up to \$2,000, or both.

For More Information

Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development
Animal Industry Division
P.O. Box 30017
Lansing, MI 48909
Ph: 800-292-3939 Fx: 517-241-1560
www.michigan.gov/mdard

For information on air use permits or for a list of landfills licensed to accept residues from burning animal carcasses, contact the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy, Environmental Assistance Division, at 800-662-9278.

Michigan Department of & Rural Development Proper Disposal of Animal Carcasses in Michigan An Industry Guide to the Bodies of Dead Animals Act www.michigan.gov/mdard

January 2021, 1,000 copies at \$0.27 per copy

Proper Disposal of Animal Carcasses in Michigan

The Bodies of Dead Animals Act, Public Act 239 of 1982, as amended, establishes guidelines for the proper disposal of dead animals in order to protect human, animal, and environmental health. This brochure explains the proper methods for the safe and legal disposal of dead animals in Michigan. The information in this brochure refers to the disposal of dead animals that are not intended for human food.

Approved Disposal Methods

In general, all dead animals must be disposed of within 24 hours after death. The following methods of disposal are allowed by law: burial, burning, composting or rendering. Alternatively, you can contact your local landfill to see if they accept dead animals.

Burial of Animal Carcasses

Burial of animal carcasses is permitted under the following conditions:

- All body parts must be buried at least two feet beneath the natural surface of the ground, and in accordance with local ordinances.
- Animal carcasses may only be buried with the landowner's permission.
- Buried animal carcasses must not come in contact with the Great Lakes or any surface bodies of water (including inland lakes, streams, rivers, open drains), or groundwater.
- Animal graves must not be located within 200 feet of any existing groundwater well used to supply potable drinking water.

Animal carcasses may be buried in individual graves or common graves under the following conditions:

Individual Graves

- No more than 100 individual graves per acre are allowed, with a total combined weight of no more than five tons per acre.
- Individual animal graves must be separated by a minimum of 2-1/2 feet.

Common Graves

- The total animal carcass weight in a common grave cannot exceed 5,000 pounds per acre.
- If there is more than one common grave per acre, each common grave within that acre must be separated by a minimum of 100 feet.
- Animal carcasses in a common grave must be covered with at least one foot of soil within 24 hours of burial.
- A common grave cannot remain open for more than 30 days and must receive at least two feet of soil as final cover.

Composting

For composting requirements, contact Dale Rozeboom, Ph.D. at 517-355-8398 or rozeboom@msu.edu, or to access the Composting Operational Standards at www.michigan.gov/animaldisposal.

Exemptions

An owner may request an exemption to the total number of individual or common graves per acre or the total weight of carcasses in an individual or common grave. Exemptions may be granted by the director of the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD) upon concurrence with the director of the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE).

Burning Animal Carcasses

Burning of animal carcasses is permitted under the following conditions:

- Burning must take place in a location that does not cause a public nuisance and is in accordance with local ordinances and the Michigan Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act (an air use permit from EGLE may be required).
- Residues from the burning process must be buried as outlined in this brochure, land-applied at agronomic rates, or properly disposed of in a landfill licensed by EGLE.

Rendering

Rendering of animal carcasses is permitted under the following condition:

 Rendering services must be provided by a licensed dead animal dealer, rendering plant, or animal food manufacturing plant.

NOTE: Under the Bodies of Dead Animals Act, a dead animal dealer procures and transports animal carcasses to or from a rendering facility. A rendering plant processes dead animals into products that are not intended for human consumption.

For a list of licensed renderers, go to www.michigan.gov/rendering and click on "Directory of Licensed Transporting and Disposal of Dead Animal Dealers."