MICHIGAN RURAL DEVELOPMENT FUND BOARD MEETING

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Village of Mackinaw City 102 Huron Street Mackinaw City, Michigan

Board Members Present:

Margaret Minerick, RD Fund Board Member Fred Taccolini, RD Fund Board Member Peter Anastor, attending on behalf of Chair Gordon Wenk, MDARD

Board Members Absent:

Laura Braun, RD Fund Board Member

Other Attendees:

Heather Throne, MDARD Hugh Campbell, President, Village of Ellsworth

The meeting was called to order by Peter Anastor at 1:02 p.m.

Peter Anastor welcomed the Board to the meeting and everyone gave a brief introduction.

MOTION: Margaret Minerick moved to approve the March 19, 2018, meeting minutes as amended reflecting Peter Anastor chaired the meeting on behalf of Chair Wenk. Seconded by Fred Taccolini. Motion carried.

Hugh Campbell provided a presentation about the Village of Ellsworth's grant project to complete a feasibility survey for a municipal sanitary sewer system. The project is 90 percent complete and Mr. Campbell is hopeful the engineering firm will be at Village's next board meeting to present the completed survey.

Heather Throne provided an overview of the public comments received by the department on the Rural Development Fund Grants. A report was provided noting the public comment process and timeline, as well as the three comments received.

Heather Throne and Peter Anastor provided an overview of the draft guidelines for this year's grant cycle. The Board discussed the guidelines in reference to funding areas, eligible counties, required match, maximum grant funds requested, and preference counties.

MOTION: Fred Taccolini moved to approve the draft grant guidelines with no changes to the previous year's guidelines. Seconded by Margaret Minerick. Motion carried.

It was discussed that the next meeting be scheduled for <u>Thursday</u>, <u>February 7</u>, <u>2019 at</u> 1:00 p.m. in <u>Mackinaw City</u>. MDARD will reserve the conference room.

There was no public comment.

MOTION: Margaret Minerick moved to adjourn the meeting at 1:50 p.m. Seconded by Fred Taccolini.