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Laboratory Responsibilities for Reporting 
Hepatitis B Surface Antigen-Positive  

(HBsAg-positive) Results 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
*Local Health Department contact information:  http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,1607,7-132--96747--,00.html  

 
Michigan’s Communicable Disease Rules, Section 333.5111, Act No. 368, Public Acts of 1978, as amended in R325.171, R325.172 and 
R325.173.   

 
 

Notify Local Health Department 
(LHD) 

 
• REPORT all HBsAg-positive results 

(including repeat testing, even if the 
results have been previously reported) 
within 24 hours to the LHD* in the 
county where the patient resides. 

 
• Include PREGNANCY STATUS for 

all HBsAg-positive results for women of 
childbearing age (10 - 60 years of age).   
 

• REPORT all HBsAg and hepatitis B 
surface antibody (anti-HBs) – (positive, 
negative and indeterminate) results for 
children 5 years of age and younger 

 
• ELECTRONICALLY submit (or hand 

enter) lab results in the Michigan Disease 
Surveillance System (MDSS), or 

 
• FAX results to the LHD 

 
 

 

Notify Ordering Physician 
 

• Report all HBsAg results 
(including repeat testing, even if 
the results have been previously 
reported) to the ordering 
physician’s office. 
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