Hepatitis B Testing in Pregnant Women

Michigan law requires prenatal care providers to:

Test all pregnant women during every pregnancy for hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAQ) status at the time of the woman’s initial
examination and after receiving consent for treatment.

Report every positive HBsAQg test result in a pregnant woman to the local health department within 24 hours of diagnosis or discovery.

It is recommended that prenatal care providers:

Retest high risk pregnant women, who initially test HBsAg-negative, in the last trimester or at delivery.
Send a copy of prenatal HBsAg test results, for the current pregnancy, with all forms to the delivering hospital.

Advocate that all infants receive hepatitis B (hepB) vaccine within 24 hours of birth and that all infants born to HBsAg-positive
women receive hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) and hepB vaccine within 12 hours of birth.

d Refer or provide medical evaluation and/or treatment to HBsAg-positive pregnant women.

Section 333.5123 of Michigan’s Public Health Code declares: A physician or an individual otherwise authorized by law to provide medical treatment to a pregnant woman shall take or cause
to be taken, at the time of the woman’s initial examination, test specimens of the woman and shall submit the specimens to a clinical laboratory approved by the department for the purpose of
performing tests approved by the department for venereal disease, HIV or an antibody to HIV, and for hepatitis B. Michigan’s Communicable Disease Rules, Section 333.5111, Act No. 368,
Public Acts of 1978, as amended in R325.171, R325.172, and R325.173. In R325.173, Rule 3 (1), a physician shall report each case of a serious communicable disease specified in R325.172,
except for human immunodeficiency virus infection and acquired immunodeficiency syndrome which are governed by MCL 333.5114, within 24 hours of diagnosis or discovery, to the
appropriate health department.

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA): Sharing of public health information (PHI) with public health authorities is addressed in §164.512(b): (1) Permitted
disclosures: A covered entity may disclose protected health information for the public health activities and purposes to: (i) A public health authority that is authorized by law to collect or
receive such information for the purpose of preventing or controlling disease, injury, or disability, including but not limited to, the reporting of disease, injury, vital events such as birth or
death, and the conduct of public health surveillance, public health investigations, and public health interventions.

If you have any questions, please call the Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program (PHBPP) at 517-284-4893 or 800-964-4487. In southeast
Michigan, call 313-456-4431 or 313-456-4432.
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