
MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTH 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED  POLICY 
 

Public Act 280 of 1939, as amended, and consultation guidelines for Medicaid policy 
provide an opportunity to review proposed changes in Medicaid policies and procedures. 
 
Please review the policy summary and the attached materials that describe the specific 
changes being proposed.  Let us know why you support the change or oppose the change. 
 
Submit your comments to the analyst by the due date specified.  Your comments must be 
received by the due date to be considered for the final policy bulletin. 
 
Thank you for participating in the consultation process. 
 
 
 
Director, Program Policy Division  
Bureau of Medicaid Policy and Health System Innovation 

 
 
Project 
Number: 1334-PDN Comments 

Due:   8/29/2013 Proposed 
Effective Date:  10/1/2013 

 
Mail Comments to:  Anne Baker, RN, BSN 
 Bureau of Medicaid Policy and Health System Innovation 
 Medical Services Administration 
 PO Box 30479 
 Lansing, MI 48909 
 
Telephone Number: (517) 335-5246  Fax Number: (517) 241-8995 

   E-mail Address: bakera5@michigan.gov  
 
 
Policy Subject:  Change in Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) Codes for Private Duty 
Nursing (PDN), from Hourly to 15-Minute Increments  
 
 
Affected Programs:  Medicaid 
 
 
Distribution: PDN 
 
 
Policy Summary:  Effective October 1, 2013, the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) will 
require PDN services provided to Medicaid beneficiaries less than 21 years of age to be billed in 15-minute 
incremental units (1 unit = 15 minutes) utilizing HCPCS code T1000.  This code will require a modifier to 
delineate care rendered by a Registered Nurse (RN) (modifier TD) or Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 
(modifier TE) and services for more than one beneficiary (modifier TT).  Services by a PDN agency will require 
use of revenue code 0582.  Codes S9123 and S9124 will no longer be utilized after September 30, 2013. 
  
 
Purpose: This new policy permits PDN providers the flexibility to bill outside of whole hours when more or less 
than one-hour of care is rendered.   
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Michigan Department of Community Health 
Medical Services Administration 

 
 
 Distribution: Private Duty Nursing (PDN) 
 
 Issued: September 1, 2013 (Proposed) 
 
 Subject: Change in Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) Codes for PDN, 

from Hourly to 15-Minute Increments 
 
 Effective: October 1, 2013 (Proposed) 
 
 Programs Affected: Medicaid 
 
The purpose of this bulletin is to notify PDN providers that effective October 1, 2013, the Michigan Department of 
Community Health (MDCH) will require PDN services provided to Medicaid beneficiaries less than 21 years of 
age, to be billed in 15-minute incremental units (1 unit = 15 minutes) utilizing HCPCS code T1000.  This code will 
require a modifier to delineate care rendered by a registered nurse (RN) (modifier TD) or licensed practical nurse 
(LPN) (modifier TE) and services for more than one beneficiary (modifier TT).  Services by a PDN agency will 
require use of revenue code 0582.  Codes S9123 and S9124 will no longer be utilized after September 30, 2013. 
 
Although some material may be similar, this policy does not apply to beneficiaries 21 years of age or older 
receiving PDN as a waiver service under the MI Choice Waiver or Habilitation Supports Waiver.   
 
Billing & Reimbursement 
 
The chart below illustrates the codes and modifiers required for PDN claims submission on and after October 1, 
2013.  All claims will require use of HCPCS code T1000 and either modifier TD for an RN or TE for an LPN.  
Modifier TT is to be recorded when caring for more than one beneficiary.  If the PDN works for an agency, 
revenue code 0582 must be recorded. 
 

Description 

HCPCS code for 
PDN services on 

and after October 1, 
2013 

Modifier to delineate 
provider type for use 

with HCPCS code 
T1000 on and after 

October 1, 2013 

Modifier for more than 
one beneficiary on 

and after 
October 1, 2013 

Revenue Code for 
Agency PDN on 

and after 
October 1, 2013 

RN Private duty / 
independent nursing 

service(s) - licensed, up 
to 15 minutes, one 

beneficiary 

T1000 TD Not Applicable Not Applicable 

LPN Private duty / 
independent nursing 

service(s) - licensed, up 
to 15 minutes, one 

beneficiary 

T1000 TE Not Applicable Not Applicable 

RN Private duty / 
independent nursing 

service(s) - licensed, up 
to 15 minutes, more 
than one beneficiary 

T1000 TD TT Not Applicable 
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Description 

HCPCS code for 
PDN services on 

and after October 1, 
2013 

Modifier to delineate 
provider type for use 

with HCPCS code 
T1000 on and after 

October 1, 2013 

Modifier for more than 
one beneficiary on 

and after 
October 1, 2013 

Revenue Code for 
Agency PDN on 

and after 
October 1, 2013 

LPN Private duty / 
independent nursing 

service(s) - licensed, up 
to 15 minutes, more 
than one beneficiary 

T1000 TE TT Not Applicable 

RN Private duty / 
independent nursing 

service(s) - licensed, up 
to 15 minutes, Agency 

T1000 TD Not Applicable 0582 

LPN Private duty / 
independent nursing 

service(s) - licensed, up 
to 15 minutes, Agency 

T1000 TE Not Applicable 0582 

RN Private duty / 
independent nursing 

service(s) - licensed, up 
to 15 minutes, more 
than one beneficiary, 

Agency 

T1000 TD TT 0582 

LPN Private duty / 
independent nursing 

service(s) - licensed, up 
to 15 minutes, more 
than one beneficiary, 

Agency 

T1000 TE TT 0582 

 
 
Reporting Time in Units 
 
Time submitted on PDN claims will be reported in units with each unit equivalent to 15 minutes.  For example: 
 

15 minutes = 1 Unit 
30 Minutes = 2 Units 
45 Minutes = 3 Units 
1 Hour = 4 Units 
1 Hour and 15 Minutes = 5 Units, etc. 

 
Since 15-minute increments of care are authorized, only those units of care that entail a full 15 minutes of care 
may be billed. 
 
Service Log 
 
In order to maintain consistency with claims submission, the service log in each beneficiary’s record should also 
reflect the number of units provided in 15-minute increments.  For example:  4 hours = 16 units.  
 
Prior Authorization 
 
Prior authorization for PDN will be granted in 15-minute increments; 1 unit = 15 minutes.  Agency providers that 
currently request authorization of overall hours with HCPCS code S9123 will be required to use HCPCS code 
T1000 with modifier TD, and will continue to bill for RN and/or LPN services as per usual protocol utilizing the new 
code/modifier combinations.  
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Existing Authorizations 
 
For existing PDN authorizations with calendar dates extending to October 1, 2013 and beyond, providers must 
contact the entity that provided the authorization and give the beneficiary’s name, identification number, and prior 
authorization number, and specify that they are requesting conversion to the T1000 code with the appropriate 
modifier(s).  Providers should also report the remaining authorized hours that require conversion to units.   
 
For authorizations provided by the Program Review Division (PRD) for Medicaid fee for service beneficiaries, 
contact the PRD via fax at (517) 335-0075. 
 
For authorizations granted by a Prepaid Inpatient Health Plan (PIHP) or Community Mental Health Services 
Program (CMHSP), providers should contact the authorizing agent.   
 
Holiday Rates 
 
Holiday pricing is automatically calculated in CHAMPS and PDN providers will not need to report anything new on 
their claims to indicate a holiday.  Please refer to the Medicaid Provider Manual for recognized holidays.   
 
 


