Reporting Hepatitis B Surface Antigen-Positive (HBsAg-positive)
Pregnant Women to the Local Health Department

One of the primary goals of the Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program (PHBPP) is to identify all
pregnant women who test positive for HBsAg prenatally so that their newborns can receive appropriate
prophylaxis. Therefore, it is very important that health care providers who offer prenatal services report all
HBsAg-positive test results (for every pregnancy) within 24 hours of discovery or diagnosis to the local
health department (LHD) in the county where the patient resides. (Even if they were reported for a
previous pregnancy).

Directions:

To ensure all HBsAg-positive pregnant women are identified and their lab results are reported in a timely
manner, VERIFY pregnancy status of HBsAg-positive women, and do one of the following:

e FAX acopy of HBsAg test results to LHD/Communicable Disease Unit in the county where
patient resides along with pregnancy status. (optional: Fax Cover Sheet)

e REPORT all HBsAg-positive results electronically into “Enter Lab Data” option on New Case
Entry screen in Michigan Disease Surveillance System (MDSS). Include pregnancy status. (If
you are not currently enrolled in MDSS, please contact your LHD/Communicable Disease Unit.)

e CALL your LHD directly with HBsAg-positive lab results and pregnancy status. (Directory of
Michigan Health Departments by County, see page 2)

Other considerations:

e IDENTIFY who is responsible and accountable for communicable disease reporting in your
practice.

e REVIEW Reportable Diseases in Michigan with all staff and post Hepatitis B Testing in Pregnant
Women as a quick reference tool.

If you have any questions please call the PHBPP staff at 517-284-4893. In southeast Michigan, call 313-
456-4432.

Communicable Disease Rules, Section 333.5111, Act No. 368, Public Acts of 1978, as amended in R325.171, R325.172, and R325.173. In R325.173, Rule
3 (1), a physician shall report each case of a serious communicable disease specified in R325.172, except for human immunodeficiency virus infection and
acquired immunodeficiency syndrome which is governed by MCL 333.5114, within 24 hours of diagnosis or discovery, to the appropriate health department.

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA): Sharing of public health information (PHI) with public health authorities is addressed in
§164.512(b): (1) Permitted disclosures: A covered entity may disclose protected health information for the public health activities and purposes to: (i) A
public health authority that is authorized by law to collect or receive such information for the purpose of preventing or controlling disease, injury, or disability,
including but not limited to, the reporting of disease, injury, vital events such as birth or death, and the conduct of public health surveillance, public health
investigations, and public health interventions.
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http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/20HBsAgPositiveLabResultinaPregnantWomanFaxCoverSheet081506_277461_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/Reportable_Diseases_Michigan_by_Condition_478488_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/Reportable_Diseases_Michigan_by_Condition_478488_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/Reportable_Diseases_Michigan_by_Condition_478488_7.pdf

