A Message from the Director:

We know that tobacco is the number one preventable cause of
death and disease in Michigan, and that the majority of smokers
start before they are 18 years old. We also know that the earlier
a person starts using tobacco, the harder it is to quit. For these
reasons, the Michigan Department of Health and Human
Services (MDHHS) continues to focus its attention on the
prevention of tobacco sales to minors.

In an effort to help you comply with the Michigan Youth
Tobacco Act (YTA) we are providing you with our SMART
merchant’s tobacco package. We want to make it easy for you
to comply with this law. For your convenience, this compact
kit has examples of: a store policy, a management notice to
employees, tips for employee training, excerpts of the YTA,
and two sizes of required YTA signage.The law requires that
the Michigan YTA warning sign be displayed near each point of
sale. If you would like to receive a master template of

YTA documents, call the MDHHS Clearinghouse at
1-800-353-8227 or you may download signs from the website
at www.healthymichigan.com.

You are also invited to visit our youth access to tobacco
website at www.michigan.gov/saprevention and click on
“Youth Access to Tobacco and Synar” for a detailed merchant
education handbook, a PowerPoint presentation, guidance for
tobacco policy, underage vertical driver’s license identification,
materials, tips from the Food and Drug Administration, a
sample employee quiz, and other useful resource materials.

Finally, we are especially happy to offer a FREE online
certificated exam for you and your employees. Simply go to:
http://improvingmipractices.org/. After completion, you may
proudly display your certificate to show law enforcement
and your community that you are “all in” when it comes to
protecting youth.

For the past eleven (11) years, Michigan has been in
compliance with the federal regulation that at least 80 percent

of vendors refuse to sell tobacco products to youth under age 18.

Thank you for your diligence! Let’s continue our progress in
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Gretchen Whitmer, Governor
Robert Gordon, Director

Sincerely,

Robert Gordon, Director
Michigan Department of Health and
Human Services

Why Care About Smoking?
Some tobacco use facts from the Center for Disease Control:

o Worldwide, tobacco use causes more than 6 million
deaths peryear; and current trends show that
tobacco will cause more than 8 million deaths
annually by 2030.

e Tobacco is responsible for about one infive
deaths annually (e.g., more than 480,000
deaths per year; estimate 41,000 result of
secondhand smoke exposure).

e Onaverage, smokers die 10 years earlier than nonsmokers.

e Smoking causes cancer, heart disease, stroke, and lung diseases
(including emphysema and chronic bronchitis).

e Forevery person who dies from a smoking-related disease at least
30 people live with a serious smoking-related illness.

¢ Smoking-related illness costs more than $156 billion in lost
productivity; nearly $170 billion in direct medical care for adults.

e Secondhand smoke costs more than $5.6 billion in lost productivity.

o Approximately 68% of smokers want to quit completely.
e Approximately 55% of smokers attempted to quit in 2010.

e Each day, nearly 3,200 persons younger than 18 years of age smoke
their first cigarette.

e Each day, about 2,100 youth and young adults become new
daily cigarette smokers.

The National Response:

In July 1992, Congress enacted the Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental
Health Administration Reorganization Act (P.L. 102-321), which includes an
amendment (section 1926) aimed at decreasing youth access to tobacco. The
Synar amendment was named for its sponsor, Congressman Mike Synar of
Oklahoma. It requires all states to:

1) Enact and enforce laws prohibiting the sale or distribution of tobacco
products to individuals under the age of 18.

2) Conduct formal Synar surveys (random, unannounced inspections).

3) Achieve and maintain a youth tobacco sales rate of 20 percent or less.

Do Your Part to
Keep
Tobacco Away

from Kids

The penalty for a state exceeding the 20% retailer sales rate is loss of up to 40
percent of its Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant
funds. In Michigan’s case this could be as much as $22.2 million.

An introductory guide for SMART
business people...

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Behavioral Health and Developmental DisabilitiesAdministration
Office of Recovery Oriented Systems of Care
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The State Response:

Youth Tobacco Act (YTA)

The purchase of tobacco products
by a minor under 18 years of age and
the provision of tobacco products
to a minor are prohibited by law.

A minor unlawfully purchasing
or using tobacco products is
subject to criminal penalties.
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Michigan’s response has been to fortify
the existing Youth Tobacco Act of 1918,
making it inclusive of the following key
components:

e A person who sellstobacco
products at retail shall post, in a place close to the point of sale and
conspicuous to both employees and customers, a sign produced
by the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
(MDHHS) that includes the following statement: “The purchase of
tobacco products by a minor under 18 years of age and the
provision of tobacco products to a minor are prohibited by law. A
minor unlawfully purchasing or using tobacco products is subject
to criminal penalties.”

e The MDHHS must produce signage and provide free copies of the
sign to tobacco vendors.

e ltisillegal to sell, give, or furnish a tobacco product to a person
under the age of 18.

e A person under the age of 18 shall not possess or use a tobacco
product in a public place of business or amusement. Other
requirements for this offense may include participation in a
health promotion and risk reduction program, and court ordered
community service.

e A person who sells tobacco products at retail shall not sell a
cigarette separately from its package — [“loosies”].

YTA Exceptions:

1) Compliance checks may be conducted under the direction of a
substance abuse coordinating agency [Prepaid Inpatient Health Plan]
as defined in section 6103 of the public health code, 1978 PA368,
MCL 333.6103, and with the prior approval of the state police or a
local policeagency.

2) Does not apply to the handling or transportation of a tobacco
product by a minor under the terms of that minor’s employment.

YTA History: 1915, Act 31, Eff. Aug. 24, 1915 ;-- CL 1915, 5186 ;-- CL 1929, 12827 ;-- CL 1948, 722.642 ;-- Am.
1972, Act 29, Imd. Eff. Feb. 19, 1972 ;-- Am. 1988, Act 314, Eff. Mar. 30, 1989 ;-- Am. 2006, Act 236, Eff. Sept. 1,

2006

SMART Tobacco Vendors Guidance:

SMART merchants proactively and consistently
assert themselves as managers and community
leaders. Their businesses are welcomed as assets
not frowned upon as a neighborhood deficit. In
the case of tobacco, they practice the following

5 healthy habits: display Signage, have a clear
Manager’s Policy, request Age Verification,
Require Legal Compliance, and provide
Training for all employees.

Signage b

v If signis 6 feet or more from the point of sale, bost 81/2" by51/2”
YTAssignage in 36-point boldfaced type.

v If sign is less than 6 feet from the point of sale, post the 2” by 4” sign
with required YTA language in 20-point boldfaced type.

v Valid signage for state law enforcement must be produced by the
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, other
signage is considered optional by the State of Michigan.

Manager’s Policy

MANAGEMENT NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES SHOULD INCLUDE:

Studies show that minors easily buy tobacco products even though state
law prohibits sales to anyone under the age of 18. To stop the sale of
tobacco to minors, and to comply with state law, the following policy is
effective immediately:

> This company will not sell cigarettes, chewing tobacco, smokeless
tobacco, e-cigarette liquid or devices, or smoking paraphernalia to
anyone under the age of 18.

> You must request valid photo identification for anyone attempting
to purchase tobacco products who appears to be under the age of
30.

> A clerk who sells tobacco products to a minor is subject to fines of
up to S50 for each offense, plus court costs and attorney fees.

> |f a customer complains about this policy, please explain that state
law prohibits the sale of tobacco products to those under the age of

18, and therefore we refuse to sell to minors.

> |f you have any questions, please confer with your supervisor.

> Failure to adhere to store policy will result in disciplinary action.

SMART Tobacco Vendors

Guidance: (continued)

Age Verification
ENHANCED A
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v  If under 18 or no ID, do not sell
tobacco to them.

Denial Clauses:

e “Sorry, | can’t sell to you”

LANSING, MI 48918-0000
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e “| can be fined” SoNGHw

DD 1234567890123 Rev 01-23-2009

e “It's my company policy”

e “| could be fired”

Required Legal Compliance

The unlawful sale or purchase of tobacco products is a misdemeanor
punishable by fines from $50 to $500 for each offense + court costs +
attorney fees. Penalties apply to the seller not the owner.

Training
Prior to selling tobacco employees should:

e Complete tobacco trainingcourse at
https://www.improvingmipractices.org

e Pass test with passing grade of 80%
e Review tobacco policy and procedures with manager
e Review requiredsignage

e Sign statement that they have read and understand policy

It is an affirmative defense that an employer showed diligence by having written
policy and training in force at the time of an alleged sale to a minor.

ATTENTION: If your store also sells alcohol, violations of the Youth
Tobacco Act can lead to notification of the Liquor Control Commission
and additional fines. If your store sells lottery tickets, the Lottery
Commission may also be notified.
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