Lead Training Application
Environmental Investigator for Lead Poisoned Children

This application is intended for local health department employees only. Michigan’s Lead Abatement Act of 1998
requires that any person performing an environmental investigation in the home of a lead poisoned child must be
certified with the State of Michigan as a Lead Risk Assessor. For initial certification and 3-year re-certification, a
pre-requisite Lead Inspector course is also needed. Upon approval, this application will allow for free lead training.
Training courses will be fully paid for by the Healthy Homes Section directly to the training provider.

Please complete this application and other information requested on the instruction sheet.
Return to: Sonya Adams, MDCH - Healthy Homes Section, PO Box 30195, Lansing, M1 48909;
ph: 517-335-8466; toll free ph: 866-691-LEAD; fax: 517-335-8800.

Name Title

Agency

Address

City City ZIP
Phone Fax Email

Lead training course type: (Check one box only)

D Inspector/Risk Assessor Initial Combination (5 days; can be separated into 3 days and 2 days)

] Inspector/Risk Assessor Refresher Combination (for 3-year re-certification) (2 days)

I'have read the Summary of Accreditation and Certification Requirements on the back of this application, and believe
that the applicant meets the education and/or experience needed for the course(s) chosen above. The applicant will be
required to take a third-party exam within 6 months of the training course dates; passing the exam can be attempted 3
times within this period for one fee. The cost of the exam will be the responsibility of the applicant and/or the
employer. During the applicant’s employment at a local health department, all application and certification fees will
be waived by the Michigan Department of Community Health. If the third-party exam is not taken within the 6 month
period, the applicant cannot request further training under this program, and will be responsible for reimbursement of
traming costs incurred. The applicant and/or employer is responsible for payment of all travel and lodging costs
associated with the training course. The applicant will be performing environmental investigations for lead poisoned
children and their families upon certification.

Applicant Signature Date

Direct Supervisor

Print Signature

Title Phone
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1))

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7)

8)

Lead Training Application Instructions for the EBL Environmental Investigator

Review the Summary of Accreditation and Certification Requirements to ensure that the applicant
has the appropriate education and/or experience requirements for the course(s) that certification is
being sought.

For the Risk Assessor, examples of experience in a related field include lead, asbestos,
environmental remediation work or construction. Professional registration includes being
certified as an industrial hygienist, professional engineer or registered architect or being certified
in a related engineering, health, or environmental field. Public health nursing and environmental
health specialist activities are considered appropriate experience.

Complete the training application and obtain the supervisor signature. Provide a copy of
education degrees obtained and complete the Certification of Work Experience (Form DCH-
1039). Submit all materials to the Healthy Homes Section (HHS). Keep a copy of the work
experience form, as it will need to be submitted again in Step 5.

If approved, the applicant will receive a letter. Information about training course companies and
the certification application will be included. If the application is denied, a letter will be sent with
an explanation for the denial.

Contact the training company to register for the approved course. Bring your approval letter to
the course instructor as proof that the training cost will be paid directly by HHS.

Upon passing the course test, submit the following to HHS:

Lead Professional Certification Application (Form DCH-0047)

Copy of training course certificate(s)

Certification of Work Experience (Form DCH-1039)

A check or money order payable to the State of Michigan for the third-party exam

All application and certification fees will be waived for applicants employed by local health
departments.

Upon approval of the certification application, HHS will send a certification exam notice to take
the third-party exam and a date and time will be listed. The exam location and directions will be
included.

Upon passing the third-party exam within the 6 month period, HHS will mail a certification card
with photo identification to the certified applicant.

Certification renewal notices will be sent annually. Certification fees are waived for health
department staff.

Questions? Contact us! Mention that you are seeking assistance with a training application.

Michigan Department of Community Health, Healthy Homes Section
PO Box 30195, Lansing, MI 49909
Toll-free 1.866.691.LEAD or 517.335.9390



Michigan Department

: Comuunity Heedih Healthy Homes Section
: PO Box 30195
c" Lansing, M| 48909
Ph: 517-335-8466

. g N . Fax: 517-335-8800
Certification of Work Experience

The information herein will be used to determine qualifications of lead professional certification applicants, in accordance with the
Lead Abatement Act of 1998 .

Discipline for which application is being made:

(Risk Assessor, Environmental Investigator)

Name of Individual seeking certification:

Home Address:

Home phone. ( ) Email Address:

Please provide the following information as completely and accurately as possible. Any misrepresentation may
result in denial or revocation of certification and associated privileges, and/or assessment of a penalty, as specified
in the Lead Abatement Act.

DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( )
City Zip Work phone
Work description
DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( )
City Zip Work phone

Work Description

Additional information may be entered on the reverse side of this form.



Michigan Departmenr
of .Community Health

DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( )
City Zip Work phone

Work Description

DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( )
City Zip Work phone
Work description
DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( )
City Zip Work phone

Work Description

| hereby certify that the above is a true representation of my work history.

Signature date
Submit this completed form with your Lead Professional Application.
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SUMMARY OF ACCREDITATION AND CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

Healthy Homes Section

201 Townsend St
Lansing, MI, 48913

toll-free (866)-691-LEAD or (617) 335-9390

Training Provider NA NA NA NA 1year | $100+ $265
$475/ each
course | course

Training Manager Bachelor degree in science, management, or technology or

' ' NA NA 2 yrs teaching workers/adults or 2 yrs managing a training program NA NA NA
and
Experience, training or education in construction industry
Principal Instructor Completion of NA Safety, health, building Teaching workers or adults
course they will trade and and NA NA NA
instruct (Experience...)) Work in abatement, safety or health
Contractor Employ only certified NA NA Current Workers’ Compensation 1 year $100 + $220
individuals for lead insurance $220
Worker Worker course State administered $25 + $25
16hrs/8 hands-on MIOSHA lead rules Worker exam None None 3 years $25
$75
Supervisor Supervisor course State administered 1 year as lead abatement worker or $25 + $50
32hrs/8 hands-on MIOSHA lead rules Supervisor exam None 2 years in related field, or building 3 years $50
S $75 trade
Inspector Inspector course State administered High School Diploma or None $50 +
24hrs/6 hands-on Inspector exam $75 GED 3years | $300 $300
Inspector/Risk Inspector - Bachelor degree and 1 year experience in related field, or $25 + $150
State administered : . .
Assessor and . Associates degree and 2 years experience in related field or 3 years $150
. Combined Inspector . ) X .
Risk Assessor : High school diploma and 3 years experience in related field or
Risk Assessor : . . .
16hrs/6 hands-on course Professional registration (sanitarian, CIH, etc.)
exam$125
Project Designer Supervisor Bachelors degree in 4 years in building construction $25 + $150
and Project None engineering, architecture, or or design 3 years $150
8:hrs Designer course or related field

DCH-0589 (rev. 5/10)

Authority: P.A. 368 of 1978




