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Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
Perinatal Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), Hepatitis B and Syphilis Testing and Reporting Guidelines 
For Prenatal Care (PNC), Labor and Delivery (L&D), and Emergency Department (ED) Medical Providers 

Physicians and other health care professionals providing medical treatment to pregnant women are required, at the time of initial prenatal screening and 
examination, and during the third trimester and at delivery in absence of previous testing results to test for HIV, Hepatitis B and Syphilis, unless the woman refuses 
to be tested or the provider deems the tests are medically inadvisable. (Per section 333.5123 of Michigan’s Public Health Code, Act No. 368 of the Public Acts of 
1978. Amended 12/2018).  
 
Health care facilities should have written policies and procedures, as well as standing orders in place to ensure that HIV, Hepatitis B and Syphilis testing are 
components of a health care facility’s clinical pathways.  
 
A separate consent form for an HIV test is not required. A test subject or his or her authorized representative who provides general informed consent for medical 
care is considered to have consented to an HIV test. Medical providers must document any declination of testing in the patient’s medical record (per section 
333.5133 of Michigan’s Public Health Code, Act No. 368 of the Public Acts of 1978. Amended 2018). 
 
A physician who orders a test or a health facility that performs a test shall provide accurate testing information to the test subject both before and after the test is 
administered.   
 

PRENATAL, L&D, ED TESTING HIV HEPATITIS B SYPHILIS 
All women in first trimester of 
pregnancy 

Women should be tested for Hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg), HIV (4th generation Ag/Ab assay) 
and Syphilis (treponemal and nontreponemal tests), as soon as possible in the first trimester of 
pregnancy, as part of routine prenatal care.  
 
(e.g., upon diagnosis of pregnancy at any healthcare facility; at the initial prenatal visit). 
 
All positive screening tests must be confirmed. 
 
Consult an infectious disease specialist, or experienced perinatal provider, promptly upon confirmation of a 
positive test result. 

All women in third trimester of  
pregnancy  

Test in the third trimester, and per MDHHS recommendations between 28-32 weeks, regardless of 
perceived risk and/or previous negative test result. MDHHS recommends that testing is performed 
as early in the third trimester (28 weeks) as possible to allow for adequate treatment and best 
outcomes for the infant. 
All positive screening tests must be confirmed. 
 
Consult an infectious disease specialist, or experienced perinatal provider, promptly upon confirmation of a 
positive test result. 
 
Consult a pediatric infectious disease specialist upon confirmation of HIV infection in a pregnant woman so that 
a care plan for the infant can be developed prior to the onset of labor. 
 
https://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp/pregnancy/docs/pregnancy-screening-recs-clinician-timeline-H.pdf 
 

Women who are at risk for high 
infection 
 
 For example, women who: 
- have a sexually transmitted disease (STD) 
during pregnancy 
- inject drugs 
- have a sex partner who injects   drugs 
- have a partner who has sexual   
  contact with a man 
- exchange sex for money or drugs 
- have an HIV-infected partner 
- have an HBsAg-positive household 
member or sex partner 
- have a new partner, or more than  
  one sex partner, during the   
  pregnancy 
 
 

Test at any time and as often as necessary regardless of previous negative test results. 
Test upon admission for delivery regardless of previous negative test results.  
 
Test women who have signs or symptoms consistent with acute HIV infection using a plasma RNA 
test in conjunction with an HIV antibody test. 
 
Consult an infectious disease specialist, or experienced perinatal provider, promptly upon confirmation of a 
positive test result. 
 
Consult a pediatric infectious disease specialist upon confirmation of HIV infection in a pregnant woman so that 
a care plan for the infant can be developed prior to the onset of labor. 

Women who present to L&D or ED with 
no available, documented test results 
or prenatal care 
 
For example, women who: 
- have no record of HBsAg testing 
- have no record of 3rd trimester HIV or 
Syphilis test result 
- have no prenatal care 
- present in the immediate  
  postpartum period (24 hours) 
 

Test STAT with rapid or expedited point of care testing.   
 
Every woman’s medical record should include documentation of testing or declination of testing 
and reason for refusal. 
 
All positive screening tests should be reviewed and confirmed promptly with an infectious disease 
specialist or HIV experienced perinatal provider. 
 
A pediatric infectious disease specialist should be notified about the pregnant woman’s treatment 
history and viral load so that a care plan can be initiated prior to delivery. 
 
All positive screening tests must be confirmed. 
 
Hospitals must have procedures in place to report the confirmatory test results and HIV infection 
status to all women they test.  
 

https://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp/pregnancy/docs/pregnancy-screening-recs-clinician-timeline-H.pdf
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A pediatric infectious disease specialist and the MDHHS Congenital Syphilis/Perinatal HIV 
Coordinator should be notified about any suspected HIV, Syphilis, or HBV infection in a pregnant 
woman so that a care plan for the infant can be developed prior to delivery. 
No mother should leave the hospital unless the maternal serologic status has been documented.         

Maternal Treatment Prenatal Care Providers:  
An appropriate antiretroviral treatment plan should 
be initiated promptly upon consultation with an 
infectious disease specialist or HIV experienced 
perinatal provider.   
 

L&D and ED:  
Hospitals must have mechanisms in place to 
provide immediate initiation of appropriate 
antiretroviral prophylaxis - antepartum, intrapartum 
and/or at the onset of delivery - on the basis of any 
reactive rapid or expedited HIV test result, without 
awaiting results of a confirmatory test.   
 

Additionally, women who test positive for HIV should 
receive education on HIV transmission and be 
advised not to breastfeed.      

Women who are 
HBsAg-negative 
but are at high risk 
of acquiring HBV 
should be offered 
the Hepatitis B 
(hepB) vaccine 
series.   
 
Women who are 
HBsAg positive, 
need to be referred 
to an infectious 
disease specialist for 
follow-up and care 

Women who test 
positive for Syphilis 
should receive 
penicillin G in 
accordance with 
current CDC STD 
Treatment 
Guidelines. 

Infant Treatment Rapid HIV testing is recommended for all infants 
whose biological mothers have not been tested.   
Inform the person legally authorized to provide 
consent for the infant, that rapid HIV testing is 
recommended for infants whose HIV exposure is 
unknown.  
 

HIV exposed infants should be started on single or 
multidrug antiretroviral prophylaxis as soon as 
possible after birth. Preferably within 6-12 hours of 
delivery.  
  

Postnatal infant prophylaxis is recommended, with 6 
weeks of antiretroviral medication(s).  
  

Hospitals must have mechanisms in place to: 
(1) provide ZDV/AZT, as well as nevirapine if 
indicated, in syrup form to HIV-exposed infants in-
house 
(2) ensure that antiretroviral medications in syrup 
form are available to the infant after discharge. 

All infants should 
receive hepB 
vaccine within 24 
hours of birth. 
 

Infants born to 
HBsAg-positive 
women should 
receive hepB 
vaccine and 
Hepatitis B immune 
globulin (HBIG) 
within 12 hours of 
birth, followed by 2-
3 more doses of 
hepB vaccine and 
post-vaccination 
serology 3-6 months 
after series 
completion. 

No infant should 
leave the hospital 
unless the maternal 
serologic status has 
been documented.  
 

Infants exposed to 
Syphilis should be 
evaluated 
(including a 
nontreponemal 
test), as they may 
need treatment with 
penicillin G, 
according to 
current CDC STD 
Treatment 
Guidelines, 
immediately after 
birth. 
 

Documentation Refusal to test, refusal to accept treatment, and a description of any required perinatal tests that 
were not performed for any reason, must be documented in the woman’s medical record.   
 

All test results and treatment should be recorded in both the mother’s and the baby’s medical 
records, along with the date of testing, result, or refusal.   

Reporting Women who test positive for HIV, Hepatitis B and/or Syphilis must be reported within 24 hours, of 
diagnosis or discovery, to the local health department in the county of which the patient resides.   
(Per section 333.5111 of Michigan’s Public Health Code, Act No. 368 of the Public Acts of 1978, as 
amended) 

Consultation concerning implementation of these guidelines can be obtained from: 

• Michigan HIV Consultation Program at Henry Ford Health System -- Urgent questions call: 313-575-0332                      
Non-urgent questions visit:  https://www.henryford.com/hcp/academic/medicine/divisions/id/hiv-consult       

• Midwest AIDS Training and Education Center-Michigan  
 Provider Education    313-962-2000 www.matecmichigan.org  

• National Perinatal HIV Consultation and Referral Service  1-888-448-8765 

• Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
 Perinatal HIV or Congenital Syphilis Questions      313-456-1330 
 Perinatal Hepatitis B Questions   517-241-0870 

• Michigan Law on HIV Testing Consent  
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2017-2018/publicact/htm/2018-PA-0535.htm 

• Michigan Law on Perinatal Testing  
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2017-2018/publicact/htm/2018-PA-0538.htm 
 

• CDC Perinatal Testing Recommendations  
https://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp/pregnancy/docs/pregnancy-screening-recs-clinician-timeline-H.pdf 

 
• Minerva Galang, MD Mercy Health Infectious Disease:     616-397-6586   

• Rosemary Olivero, MD Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital, Grand Rapids:   616-479-0883 

• Elizabeth Secord, MD Wayne State University Department of Pediatrics HIV Services:   313-461-5245 

• Theodore Jones, MD, FACOG Beaumont Health Maternal/Fetal Medicine:   313-503-1873   

• Mary Rose Forsyth, MA, MS MATEC Michigan:     313-408-3483 

https://www.henryford.com/hcp/academic/medicine/divisions/id/hiv-consult
http://www.matecmichigan.org/
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2017-2018/publicact/htm/2018-PA-0535.htm
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2017-2018/publicact/htm/2018-PA-0538.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp/pregnancy/docs/pregnancy-screening-recs-clinician-timeline-H.pdf
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