
  

 
Bulletin 

   
   

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 

 
 Bulletin Number: MSA 15-20 
 
 Distribution: Nursing Facilities, County Medical Care Facilities, Hospital Long-Term Care Units, 

Ventilator-Dependent Care Units 
 
 Issued: June 1, 2015  
 
 Subject: Update to the Nursing Facility Certification, Survey & Enforcement Appendix on 

Nursing Facility Voluntary Closure  
 
 Effective: As Indicated 
 
 Programs Affected: Medicaid, Healthy Michigan Plan  
 
 
The purpose of this bulletin is to update the Nursing Facility Certification, Survey & Enforcement Appendix of the 
Michigan Medicaid Provider Manual to coincide with an update to the Code of Federal Regulations at 
42 CFR 483.12(a)(8), 42 CFR 483.75(r) and 42 CFR 483.75(s).  This update requires that written notification and 
a plan for closure must be given at least 60 days prior to closure.  This change occurred in April 2014.  The 
Voluntary Withdrawal from Participation in the Medicaid Program or Voluntary Nursing Facility Closure Section of 
the Nursing Facility Certification, Survey & Enforcement Appendix will be updated to read as follows: 
 
Voluntary Withdrawal from Participation in the Medicaid Program or Voluntary Nursing Facility Closure 
 
A provider may choose to close voluntarily, not as a result of regulatory action.  A provider may also choose to 
continue operating as a nursing facility, but withdraw from participation in the Medicaid Program.  In both 
situations, the nursing facility must follow established guidelines, per federal law, to assure safe and appropriate 
care of residents. 
 
When a provider decides to close voluntarily, the administrator of the nursing facility must provide written 
notification prior to the impending closure to the: 
 

• State Survey Agency (SSA),  
• State Medicaid Agency/LTC Services Section, 
• Long-Term Care (LTC) Ombudsman,  
• Residents of the nursing facility, and  
• Legal representatives of such residents or other responsible parties.   

 
Written notice must be provided at least 60 days before the date of closure.  Note:  In cases where the 
Secretary terminates the facility’s participation in either the Medicare and/or Medicaid programs, notice must be 
provided no later than the date that the Secretary determines appropriate for such notification.   
 
This 60 day notice requirement begins before any attempt to transfer a resident out of the facility in anticipation of 
a facility closure/withdrawal.  The provider must ensure that no new residents are admitted on or after the date on 
which such written notification is submitted.   
 
The written notice of a voluntary closure must include the plan for closure.  The plan must be approved by the 
SSA and State Medicaid Agency (SMA)/LTC Services Section prior to notification of residents of the closure.  The 
plan must outline the transfer and adequate relocation of residents that assures placement in the most 
appropriate facility or other setting in terms of quality, services, and location, taking into consideration the needs, 
choice, and best interests of each resident. 
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Upon approval of the plan by the SSA and SMA/LTC Services Section, actual notice of closure must be given, 
which means that the notice must be given to the resident and a family member or legal representative in a form 
that they can understand and must be explained to them as needed.  The notice must include the plan as 
approved by the State for the transfer and adequate relocation of the residents by the date specified by the State 
prior to closure.  It must also include assurances that the residents would be transferred to the most appropriate 
facility or other setting in terms of quality, services, and location, including home or community based settings, 
taking into consideration the needs, choice, and best interests of each resident.  The notice must include contact 
information for the LTC Ombudsman and Area Agency on Aging. 
 
In the event of a voluntary closure, the nursing facility remains Medicaid-certified until all residents are relocated.  
 
Manual Maintenance 
 
Retain this bulletin until the information is incorporated into the Michigan Medicaid Provider Manual. 
 
Questions 
 
Any questions regarding this bulletin should be directed to Provider Inquiry, Department of Health and Human 
Services, P.O. Box 30731, Lansing, Michigan 48909-8231, or e-mail at ProviderSupport@michigan.gov.  When 
you submit an e-mail be sure to include your name, affiliation, and phone number so you may be contacted if 
necessary.  Providers may phone toll-free 1-800-292-2550. 
 
Approved 
 
 
 
Stephen Fitton, Director 
Medical Services Administration 
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