
Michigan Medical Marihuana Registry ID Card 
Renewal Application Information 

 
 
 
The renewal application form should be downloaded from our website at
www.michigan.gov/mmp approximately 60 days prior to the patient's registry ID card
expiration. 
 
Pursuant to the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act and General Rules, all renewal 
applications will be approved or denied within 15 days of receipt.  If approved, your new 
registry ID card will expire one year from this approval date. 
 
If you do not submit a renewal application prior to the expiration of your current registry 
ID card, your card will be NULL and VOID as of the expiration date.  After the expiration 
date, you can no longer submit a renewal application.  You can, however, submit a new 
application.  
 
The following must be submitted with each renewal application: 

 RENEWAL Application Form for Registry Identification Card. 
 New Physician Certification (required). 
 New Caregiver Attestation and copy of caregiver’s current photo ID. 

o Required if patient is designating a new caregiver or continuing with their 
current caregiver. 

 Copy of patient’s current photo ID. 
 $100.00 application fee or $25.00 application fee if patient submits the 

appropriate supporting documents. 
 

For patients receiving Social Security Benefits, only these documents will 
be accepted to determine eligibility for the reduced fee: 

 
 Copy of patient’s Social Security Disability Award Letter. 
 Copy of letter from Social Security Administration stating patient is 

currently receiving disability benefits. 
o Document must include the patient’s name and verification of 

disability. 
 Copy of “Notice of Fully Favorable Decision” from the Social Security 

Administration. 
o Document must include the patient’s name and include the last 

page that verifies the decision of disability. 
 Copy of patient’s Supplemental Security Income (SSI) Award Letter. 
 Copy of letter from Social Security Administration stating patient is 

currently receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits. 
 

No other documents from Social Security will be acceptable. 
 



For patients receiving Medicaid Benefits, only these documents will be 
accepted to determine eligibility for the reduced fee: 

 
 Verification that you are currently eligible and receiving FULL Medicaid 

(not Medicare) benefits. 
 Copy of MI Health Card or other current Medicaid health plan card. 

 
THE FOLLOWING CANNOT BE USED TO QUALIFY FOR THE REDUCED 
REGISTRATION FEE: 
  

    Medicare card. 
    Bank statements. 
 Social Security IRS Form 1099. 
 Social Security Yearly Benefits Statement. 
    Veteran’s disability. 
 Enrollment in the Medicaid Adult Benefit Waiver (ABW) program. 
 Participation in the Medicaid spendown program. 
 Receipt of social security retirement benefits. 

 
 

NOTE:  If you do not submit acceptable documentation with your renewal 
application, your application will be denied.  You will be able to reapply for 
the registration by submitting acceptable supporting documents or submit 
the full $100.00 application fee. 

 
 


