
 

 

         
 

 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 

Bureau of EMS, Trauma, and Preparedness 
Emergency Medical Services 

P.O. Box 30437 
Lansing, MI  48909 

(517) 241-0179 
 
 
 
 

 

NATIONAL REGISTRY STATUS 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

Authority:  Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended. 
If this form is not complete a license will not be issued. 

 

 

State Office Use Only 
License Number 
 
Date of Licensure 

 
You may apply for licensure by National Registry status if you meet all of the following requirements: 

 

 At least 18 years of age;  
 Currently Nationally Registered; 
 Not currently licensed in another State 
 Did not complete a Michigan education course within the last 2 years (use Michigan Course Completion 

Application) 
 

NOTE: ALL MFR AND EMT BASIC APPLICANTS MUST PROVIDE VERIFICATION OF MICHIGAN 
EDUCATION TOPICS EXCEEDING NATIONAL REGISTRY STANDARDS.  
Please complete the attached Verification of Education form. 
 

I AM APPLYING FOR THE FOLLOWING LEVEL OF LICENSURE: 

Medical First Responder – Fee: $150.00 
 

Emergency Medical Technician (Basic) – Fee:  $175.00 
 

Specialist-AEMT – Fee: $175.00   
 

 

Paramedic – Fee:  $175.00   
 

 

Make checks or money order payable to the STATE OF MICHIGAN.  DO NOT SEND CASH. 
Fees are deposited upon receipt and in general are NON-REFUNDABLE 
 
First Name 

 
 

Middle Name Last Name 

U.S. Social Security Number 

 
 

Date of Birth

Street Address 

 
 

City/State 

 
 

ZIP Code Daytime Phone Number 

All Previous Names and/or Birth Name Used (If Applicable) 

 
 

Email Address 
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Check the appropriate answer to each of the following questions. 

 
 

Once you are licensed, you are required to complete the continuing education mandated by the State of Michigan.   Being 
Nationally Registered does not exempt you from complying with the continuing education requirements for renewal of 
your Michigan license.  Refer to EMS Personnel Continuing Education Form (BHPPA-EMS-127) for category and 
lecture/practical requirements, which can be found at www.michigan.gov/ems. 

 
 

 

CERTIFICATION 
 

I certify that I am the person named on this application and that all statements are true and correct.  Once licensed, I will comply with 
all applicable state laws and rules. 
 
I understand that it is the policy of this agency to secure a criminal conviction history as part of the pre-licensure screening process, and 
I authorize the agency to use the information provided in this application to obtain a criminal conviction history file search from the 
Central Records Division of the Michigan Department of State Police, or other law enforcement or judicial record keeping organization. 
 
I further consent to the release of information to this agency regarding any discipline investigations conducted by a similar licensure, 
registration, or specialty certification board of this or any other state of the United States, military branch of the federal government, or 
any sovereign nation. 
 
I have not withheld information which might affect the decision to be made on this application.  In signing this application, I am aware 
that a false statement or dishonest answer may be grounds for denial of my application or revocation of my license and that such 
misrepresentation may be punishable by law. 
 
Signature 

 
 

Date 

 
The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, 
national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs.  If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans 
with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency. 

 www.michigan.gov/ems  
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1.  Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, other than minor traffic violations?       
      

     NOTE:  Attach Criminal Conviction History Form (EMS-252) for a Yes answer 
      

 
 

Yes 

 
 

No 

2.  Have you ever had a federal or state health professional license or registration revoked, 
suspended, or otherwise disciplined, been denied a license or currently have disciplinary 
action pending against you? 

   

     NOTE:  Attach a detailed explanation for a Yes answer 
 

 
Yes 

 
No 



 

 

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
Bureau of EMS, Trauma, and Preparedness 

Emergency Medical Services Section 
Fax (517) 335-9434 

 

VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION  
Authority:  Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended. 

 
 

PART I – To be completed by MFR and EMT-Basic applicants. 
 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Social Security Number 

 
 

Date of Birth
 

Daytime Telephone Number 

Street Address City/State/Zip
 

Email Address 

All Previous Names and/or Birth Names Used (if applicable) 
 

Level of Licensure 
 
          MFR                         EMT 

 

 

PART II – To be completed by Military facility OR Michigan Program Sponsor.  
 

     Completed Military Education                                                           Completed Michigan Education 
 

By checking the boxes below you are verifying the applicant has completed the following education requirements 
exceeding National Registry standards.  
 

 

EDUCATION TOPICS REQUIRED FOR MFR  
 
            
           Spinal Immobilization                      
      
           Epi-Pen®        

                            
           Narcan® Administration 

 

EDUCATION TOPICS REQUIRED FOR EMT  
 
 
 

        Supraglottic Airway (e.g., combitube, king) 
 
        CPAP 
 
        Albuterol® 
 
        Epi-Pen® 
 
        Narcan®  Administration 
 

 

MILITARY EDUCATION CERTIFICATION 
Military Facility Name and Branch  Phone Number Date 

Name and Title of Military Representative  Signature  

 

MICHIGAN EDUCATION CERTIFICATION 
 

Michigan Program Name and Sponsor Number  Phone Number Date 

Course Coordinator Name Course Coordinator Signature  

Instructor-Coordinator Name  Instructor-Coordinator Signature 

 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national 
origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs.  If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, 
you may make your needs know to this agency 
 
EMS-254 (11/2015) 



 

 

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
Bureau of EMS, Trauma and Preparedness 

Emergency Medical Services Section 
P.O. Box 30437 

Lansing, Michigan 48909 
(517) 241-0179 

 
CRIMINAL CONVICTION HISTORY FORM 

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended 
 

If you have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, please complete this form and mail it to the address above or fax it to: (517) 
335-9434.  If you have applied for licensure, processing of your application will be delayed until this information is received. 

NOTE: The back of this form may be used if you have more than two convictions 

CERTIFICATION 
I hereby certify that the above facts and any attached statements are true, accurate, and complete about any and all convictions, and 
further make application for licensure in Michigan. 
 
Signature of Applicant/Licensee Date 

 

 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, 
marital status, disability, or political beliefs.  If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you may make your 
needs known to this agency. 
 
EMS-252 (11/2015) 
 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

U.S. Social Security Number Drivers License Number Type of license you are applying for 

 
Conviction #1 Information 

  
Conviction #2 Information 

Briefly state the nature of the conviction 

 

 Briefly state the nature of the conviction 

Date of Violation  Date of Violation 

Date of Conviction  Date of Conviction 

County, State, & Court of Jurisdiction 

 

 County, State, & Court of Jurisdiction 

Sentence 

 

 Sentence 

Please check, if applicable and give date: 
 
□ Expunged on: ____/____/____ 
 
□ Annulled on: ____/____/____ 

 Please check, if applicable and give date: 
 
□ Expunged on: ____/____/____ 
 
□ Annulled on: ____/____/____ 
 


