A Message from the Director:

We know that tobacco is the number one preventable cause of
death and disease in Michigan, and that the majority of smokers
start before they are 18 years old. We also know that the earlier
a person starts using tobacco, the harder it is to quit. For these
reasons, the Michigan Department of Community Health
(MDCRH) is focusing its attention on the prevention of tobacco
sales to minors.

In an effort to help you comply with the Michigan Youth
Tobacco Act (YTA) we are providing you with our smart
merchant tobacco package. Everyone benefits when vendors
comply with the law, and we want to work with you to make it
as easy as possible. Provided in this compact kit are examples
of: a store policy, a management notice to employees, tips for
employee training, excerpts of the YTA, and two sizes of the
required YTA signage. The law requires that the Michigan YTA
warning sign be displayed near each point of sale. This sign
has been included inside this kit for your convenience.

If you would like to order additional YTA stickers,

call 1-800-353-8227 or download signs from the MDCH
Clearinghouse website at www.healthymichigan.com.

You are also invited to visit our youth access to tobacco
website for a detailed merchant education handbook and
PowerPoint presentation, guidance for tobacco policy,
underage vertical driver’s license identification, materials
and tools from the Food and Drug Administration, a sample
employee quiz, and other useful resource materials.
Go to www.michigan.gov/saprevention and click on “Youth
Access to Tobacco and Synar.”

For the past seven years, Michigan has been in compliance with
the federal minimum rate of at least 80 percent of vendors not
selling tobacco products to youth under age 18. I appreciate
your continued attention to this important matter.

Sincerely,
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s Haveman, Director

Michigan Department
of Community Health

Michigan Department of Community Health

Rick Snyder, Governor

James K. Haveman, Director

Why Care About Smoking?

Some tobacco use facts from the Center for Disease Control:

e Smoking causes more than 5 million deaths per year;
it will cause more than 8 million deaths annually
by 2030.

e Tobacco is responsible for about one in five
deaths annually (e.g., more than 440,000
deaths per year; estimate 49,000 result of
secondhand smoke exposure).

e On average, smokers die 10 years earlier than nonsmokers.

e Smoking causes cancer, heart disease, stroke, and lung diseases
(including emphysema, bronchitis, and chronic airway obstruction).

e For every person who dies from a smoking-related disease, 20 more
suffer with at least one serious illness from smoking.

o Cigarette smoking costs more than $193 billion (i.e., $97 billion in
lost productivity plus $96 billion in health care expenditures).

e Secondhand smoke costs more than $10 billion (i.e., health care
expenditures, morbidity, and mortality).

e Approximately 69% of smokers want to quit completely.
o Approximately 52% of smokers attempted to quit in 2010.

e Each day, nearly 4,000 persons younger than 18 years of age smoke
their first cigarette.

e Each day, about 1,000 persons younger than 18 years of age
become new daily cigarette smokers.
The National Response:

In July 1992, Congress enacted the Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental

Health Administration Reorganization Act (PL. 102-321), which includes an
amendment (section 1926) aimed at decreasing youth access to tobacco. The
Synar amendment was named for its sponsor, Congressman Mike Synar of
Oklahoma, it requires all states to:

1) Enact and enforce laws prohibiting the sale or distribution of tobacco
products to individuals under the age of 18.

2) Conduct formal Synar surveys (random, unannounced inspections).

3) Achieve and maintain a youth tobacco sales rate of 20 percent or less.

Do Your Part
to Keep
Tobacco Awa

from Kids

The penalty for a state exceeding the 20% retailer sales rate is loss of up to 40
percent of its Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block
Grant funds. In Michigan's case this could be as much as $21.7million.

An introductory guide for SMART
business people . . .
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The State Response:

Youth Tobacco Act (YTA)

The purchase of tobacco products
by a minor under 18 years of age and
the provision of tobacco products
to a minor are prohibited by law.

A minor unlawfully purchasing
or using tobacco products is
subject to criminal penalties.

e
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Michigan's response has been to fortify
the existing Youth Tobacco Act of 1918,
making it inclusive of the following key
components:

e A person who sells tobacco
products at retail shall post, in a place close to the point of sale and
conspicuous to both employees and customers, a signh produced
by the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) that
includes the following statement: “The purchase of tobacco
products by a minor under 18 years of age and the provision
of tobacco products to a minor are prohibited by law. A minor
unlawfully purchasing or using tobacco products is subject to
criminal penalties.”

e The MDCH must produce signage and provide free copies of the
sign to tobacco vendors.

e |tisillegal to sell, give, or furnish a tobacco product to a person
under the age of 18.

e A person under the age of 18 shall not possess or use a tobacco
product in a public place of business or amusement. Other
requirements for this offense may include participation in a
health promotion and risk reduction program, and court ordered
community service.

e A person who sells tobacco products at retail shall not sell a
cigarette separately from its package — [“loosies”].

e Harboring minors for the purpose of indulging in the use of tobacco
products is a misdemeanor.

YTA Exceptions:

1) Compliance checks may be conducted under the direction of a
substance abuse coordinating agency as defined in section 6103 of
the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.6103, and with the
prior approval of the state police or a local police agency.

2) Does not apply to the handling or transportation of a tobacco
product by a minor under the terms of that minor’s employment.

YTA History: 1915, Act 31, Eff. Aug. 24, 1915 ;-- CL 1915, 5185 ;-- CL 1929, 12826 ;-- CL 1948, 722.641 ;-- Am.
1972, Act 29, Imd. Eff. Feb. 19, 1972 ;-- Am. 1988, Act 314, Eff. Mar. 30, 1989 ;-- Am. 2006, Act 236, Eff- Sept. 1,
2006

SMART Tobacco Vendors Guidance:

SMART merchants proactively and consistently
assert themselves as managers and community
leaders. Their businesses are welcomed as assets
not frowned upon as a neighborhood deficit. In
the case of tobacco, they practice the following
5 healthy habits: display Signage, have a clear
Manager’s Policy, request Age Verification,
Require Legal Compliance, and provide
Training for all employees. Here are some
examples:

Signage

v’ If sign is 6 feet or more from the point of sale, post 8 1/2” by 5 1/2”
YTA signage in 36-point boldfaced type.

v’ If sign is 6 feet or less from the point of sale, it shall be 2” by 4” with
required YTA language in 20-point boldfaced type.

v’ Valid signage for state law enforcement must be produced by the
Michigan Department of Community Health, other signage should
be considered unofficial.

Manager’s Polic
MANAGEMENT’S NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

Studies show that minors easily buy tobacco products even though state
law prohibits sales to anyone under the age of 18. To stop the sale of
tobacco to minors, and to comply with state law, the following policy is
effective immediately:

» This company will not sell cigarettes, chewing tobacco, smokeless
tobacco, or smoking paraphernalia to anyone under the age of 18.

» You must request valid photo identification for anyone attempting
to purchase tobacco products who appears to be under the age of
30.

» A clerk who sells tobacco products to a minor is subject to fines of
up to $50 for each offense, plus court costs and attorney fees.

» If a customer complains about this policy, please explain that state
law prohibits the sale of tobacco products to those under the age of
18, and therefore we refuse to sell to minors.

» If you have any questions, please confer with your supervisor.

» Failure to adhere to store policy will result in disciplinary action.

SMART Tobacco Vendors

Guidance:

Age Verification
v’ Ask for ID from ANYONE who appears T

v" If under 18 or no ID, do not sell

(continued)
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tobacco to them.

Denial Clauses:
e “Sorry, | can’t sell to you”
e “It's the law”
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e “|can be fined”

e “It’'s my company policy”

e “l could be fired”

Required Legal Compliance

The unlawful sale or purchase of tobacco products is a misdemeanor
punishable by fines from $50 to $500 for each offense + court costs +
attorney fees. Penalties apply to the seller not the owner.

Training

Prior to selling tobacco employees should:

Complete tobacco training course

Pass test with passing grade of 80%

Review tobacco policy and procedures with manager
Review required signage

Sign statement that they have read and understand policy

1t is an affirmative defense that an employer showed diligence by having written
policy and training in force at the time of an alleged sale to a minor.

ATTENTION: If your store also sells alcohol, violations of the Youth
Tobacco Act can lead to notification of the Liquor Control Commission
and additional fines. If your store sells lottery tickets, the Lottery
Commission may also be notified.



