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Understanding Your Rights to Confidential Health Services 

 
 
 
TERMS: 
A minor is a person 17 years of age or younger, according to Michigan law. 
Confidential means spoken or written in strict privacy, not to be shared with others. 
 
According to Michigan law, you have the right to receive confidential health care (from anywhere or 
anyone providing care to minors) without your parent/guardian s permission or knowledge. That 
health care is described below:  
 
Minors of any age may receive confidential advice, testing and treatment for the following without 
their parent s knowledge or permission:  
 

 drug use and abuse  

 sexually transmitted infections and HIV 

 pregnancy testing and prenatal (pregnancy) care 

 birth control 

 abortion (only with a court order from a judge)   
 

There is no specific age stated in the law, so this would apply to any minor who understands the nature 
and consequences of their actions, except if a minor is under 12 years old and is sexually active - this is 
considered child abuse and would not be confidential. 
  
Minors above the age of 14 years can also receive: 

 limited outpatient counseling (mental health) services not to exceed 12 visits over 4 months and 
not to include any medications. 

 
Health care is not confidential and a parent or guardian will be notified without permission if a health care 
professional learns that: 

 
 

 someone is hurting you 

 you are hurting yourself or someone else 

 you have a plan to hurt yourself or someone else 
 

In those cases, the health care professional will try to inform you of their duty to notify your parents before 
contacting them. 

 
 
 

Please note that all information included in this summary was taken from the document “Consent for Care and 
Confidential Health Information” developed by Denise Chrysler, at Michigan Department of Community Health 
who adapted the document from Henry Ford Health System.  The “Consent for Care and Confidential Health 
Information” document is available at www.michigan.gov/teenpregnancy under the “resources/websites” tab. 
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