
CHAPTER 9:  NURSING HOME RESPONSIBILITIES REGARDING COMPLAINTS OF 
ABUSE, NEGLECT, MISTREATMENT AND MISAPPROPRIATION 

 
9.1. PURPOSE 

Effective protection of residents in long term care facilities from abuse, neglect, or 
misappropriation requires a joint effort by the Bureau, long term care providers and 
concerned citizens.  We encourage reasonable and appropriate facility responses to 
actual or potential cases of resident abuse, neglect, or misappropriation.  We also 
encourage facility efforts to prevent resident abuse, neglect, or misappropriation 
from occurring. 
 
This chapter identifies the specific internal steps that long-term care facilities must 
take in response to resident and family complaints of actual and potential resident 
abuse, neglect, or misappropriation situations.  It also provides facilities with specific 
recommendations on steps that can be undertaken to minimize the occurrence of 
resident abuse, neglect, or misappropriation in the first place.  Finally, it presents the 
requirements placed on the nursing home for reporting, investigation, and protective 
and corrective actions. 

 
9.2. LEGISLATION RELATED TO COMPLAINTS 
 

A. Section 21723, Michigan Public Health Code 
 (Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended) 

 
(1) A nursing home shall post in an area accessible to residents, 

employees, and visitors the name, title, location, and telephone 
number of the individual in the nursing home who is responsible for 
receiving complaints and conducting complaint investigations and a 
procedure for communicating with that individual. 

 
(2) An individual responsible for receiving complaints and conducting 

complaint investigations in a nursing home shall be on duty and on site 
not less than 24 hours per day, 7 days a week. 

 
(3) The individual described in subsection (2) who receives a complaint, 

inquiry, or request from a nursing home resident or the resident's 
surrogate decision maker shall respond using the nursing home's 
established procedures pursuant to R 325.20113 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code. 

 
(4) To assist the individual described in subsection (2) in performing his or 

her duties, the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) 
shall post on its internet website all of the following information: 
(a) Links to federal and state regulations and rules governing the 

nursing home industry.  
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(b) The scheduling of any training or joint training sessions 
concerning nursing home or elderly care issues being put on by 
MDCH. 

(c) A list of long-term care contact phone numbers including, but 
not limited to, the MDCH complaint hotline, the BHS Division of 
Nursing Home Monitoring, any commonly known nursing home 
provider groups, the state long-term care ombudsman, and any 
commonly known nursing home resident care advocacy groups.  

(d) When it becomes available, information on the availability of 
electronic mail access to file a complaint concerning nursing 
home violations directly with MDCH.  

(e) Any other information that MDCH believes is helpful in 
responding to complaints, requests, and inquiries of a nursing 
home resident or his or her surrogate decision maker.  

 
(5) A nursing home receiving reimbursement pursuant to the medicaid 

program shall designate 1 or more current employees to fulfill the 
duties and responsibilities outlined in this section.  This section does 
not constitute a basis for increasing nursing home staffing levels. As 
used in this subsection, "medicaid" means the program for medical 
assistance created under title XIX of the social security act, chapter 53, 
49 Stat. 620, 42 U.S.C. 1396 to 1396f, 1396g-1 to 1396r-6, and 1396r-
8 to 1396v. 

 
B. Michigan Nursing Home Rules 

 
R 325.20113.  Adoption of written procedures to implement patient rights and 
responsibilities policy. 
 
Rule 113. 
 
(1) A home shall adopt written policies and procedures to implement 

patient rights and responsibilities as provided by section 21765 of the 
Code.  Before and following the patient's admission, such policy and 
procedures shall be available, upon request, to all the following: 
(a) The patient. 
(b) Attending physician. 
(c) Next of kin. 
(d) Member of the family. 
(e) Guardian. 
(f) Designated representative. 
(g) Person or agency responsible for placing and maintaining the 

patient in the home. 
(h) Employees of the facility. 
(i) Public. 
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(2) The procedures shall include a procedure for the initiation, 
investigation, and resolution of complaints, subject to department 
approval, and, at a minimum, all of the following: 
(a) A statement that a patient may have the alternative to complain 

either to the home or the department about any condition, event, 
or procedure in the home without citing a specific violation of the 
code or these rules. 

(b) A procedure for submitting written complaints to the home 
identifying potential violations of law or rule, including a 
procedure to assist a complainant in reducing an oral complaint 
to writing when such oral complaint is not resolved to the 
satisfaction of the complainant.  If a standard form is used for 
complaints, a copy of the form shall be provided to each patient 
at the time of admission and additional forms shall be available 
on request. 

(c) The name, title, location, and telephone number of the individual 
in the home who is responsible for receiving complaints and 
conducting complaint investigations and a procedure for 
communicating with that individual. 

(d) A requirement that all complaints be investigated within 15 days 
following receipt of the complaint by the home, and a 
requirement that, within 30 days following receipt of the 
complaint, the home shall deliver to the complainant a written 
report of the results of the investigation or a written status report 
indicating when the report may be expected. 

(e) A mechanism for appealing the matter to the administrator of 
the home if the complainant is not satisfied with the investigation 
or resolution of the complaint. 

 
(3) A home shall maintain for 3 years written complaints filed under its 

complaint procedure and all complaint investigation reports delivered 
to each complainant, and such records shall be available to the 
department upon request. 

 
B. Criminal Background Checks 
 

Michigan Public Health Code, Section 20173. 
 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (2), a health facility or 
agency that is a nursing home, county medical care facility, or home 
for the aged shall not employ, independently contract with, or grant 
clinical privileges to an individual who regularly provides direct services 
to patients or residents in the health facility or agency after the 
effective date of the amendatory act that added this section if the 
individual has been convicted of 1 or more of the following: 
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(a) A felony or an attempt or conspiracy to commit a felony within 
the 15 years immediately preceding the date of application for 
employment or clinical privileges or the date of the execution of 
the independent contract.  

(b) A misdemeanor involving abuse, neglect, assault, battery, or 
criminal sexual conduct or involving fraud or theft against a 
vulnerable adult as that term is defined in section 145m of the 
Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.145m, or a state 
or federal crime that is substantially similar to a misdemeanor 
described in this subdivision, within the 10 years immediately 
preceding the date of application for employment or clinical 
privileges or the date of the execution of the independent 
contract.  

 
(2) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection and subsection (5), a 

health facility or agency that is a nursing home, county medical care 
facility, or home for the aged shall not employ, independently contract 
with, or grant privileges to an individual who regularly provides direct 
services to patients or residents in the health facility or agency after the 
effective date of the amendatory act that added this section until the 
health facility or agency complies with subsection (4) or (5), or both.  
This subsection and subsection (1) do not apply to an individual who is 
employed by, under independent contract to, or granted clinical 
privileges in a health facility or agency before the effective date of the 
amendatory act that added this section.  

 
(3) An individual who applies for employment either as an employee or as 

an independent contractor or for clinical privileges with a health facility 
or agency that is a nursing home, county medical care facility, or home 
for the aged and has received a good faith offer of employment, an 
independent contract, or clinical privileges from the health facility or 
agency shall give written consent at the time of application for the 
department of state police to conduct a criminal history check under 
subsection (4) or (5), or both, along with identification acceptable to the 
department of state police.  If the department of state police has 
conducted a criminal history check on the applicant within the 24 
months immediately preceding the date of application and the 
applicant provides written consent for the release of information for the 
purposes of this section, the health facility or agency may use a copy 
of the results of that criminal history check instead of obtaining written 
consent and requesting a new criminal history check under this 
subsection, and under subsections (4) and (5), or both.  If the applicant 
is using a prior criminal history check as described in this subsection, 
the health facility or agency shall accept the copy of the results of the 
criminal history check only from the health facility or agency or adult 
foster care facility that previously employed or granted clinical 
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privileges to the applicant or from the firm or agency that independently 
contracts with the applicant.  

 
(4) Upon receipt of the written consent and identification required under 

subsection (3), if an applicant has resided in this state for three or 
more years preceding the good faith offer of employment, an 
independent contract, or clinical privileges, a health facility or agency 
that is a nursing home, county medical care facility, or home for the 
aged that has made a good faith offer of employment or an 
independent contract or clinical privileges to the applicant shall make a 
request to the department of state police to conduct a criminal history 
check on the applicant.  The request shall be made in a manner 
prescribed by the department of state police. The health facility or 
agency shall make the written consent and identification available to 
the department of state police.  If there is a charge for conducting the 
criminal history check, the health facility or agency requesting the 
criminal history check shall pay the cost of the charge. The health 
facility or agency shall not seek reimbursement for the charge from the 
individual who is the subject of the criminal history check.  The 
department of state police shall conduct a criminal history check on the 
applicant named in the request.  The department of state police shall 
provide the health facility or agency with a written report of the criminal 
history check conducted under this subsection.  The report shall 
contain any criminal history record information on the applicant 
maintained by the department of state police.  As a condition of 
employment, an applicant shall sign a written statement that he or she 
has been a resident of this state for three or more years preceding the 
good faith offer of employment, independent contract, or clinical 
privileges.  

 
(5) Upon receipt of the written consent and identification required under 

subsection (3), if an applicant has resided in this state for less than 
three years preceding the good faith offer of employment, an 
independent contract, or clinical privileges, a health facility or agency 
that is a nursing home, county medical care facility, or home for the 
aged that has made a good faith offer described in this subsection to 
the applicant shall comply with subsection (4) and shall make a 
request to the department of state police to forward the applicant's 
fingerprints to the federal bureau of investigation.  The department of 
state police shall request the federal bureau of investigation to make a 
determination of the existence of any national criminal history 
pertaining to the applicant.  An applicant described in this subsection 
shall provide the department of state police with 2 sets of fingerprints.  
The department of state police shall complete the criminal history 
check under subsection (4) and, except as otherwise provided in this 
subsection, provide the results of its determination under subsection 
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(4) to the health facility or agency and the results of the federal bureau 
of investigation determination to MDCH within 30 days after the 
request is made.  If the requesting health facility or agency is not a 
state department or agency and if a crime is disclosed on the federal 
bureau of investigation determination, the department shall notify the 
health facility or agency in writing of the type of crime disclosed on the 
federal bureau of investigation determination without disclosing the 
details of the crime. Any charges for fingerprinting or a federal bureau 
of investigation determination under this subsection shall be paid in the 
manner required under subsection (4). 

 
(6) If a health facility or agency that is a nursing home, county medical 

care facility, or home for the aged determines it necessary to employ or 
grant clinical privileges to an applicant before receiving the results of 
the applicant's criminal history check under subsection (4) or (5), or 
both, the health facility or agency may conditionally employ or grant 
conditional clinical privileges to the individual if all of the following 
apply: 
(a) The health facility or agency requests the criminal history check 

under subsection (4) or (5), or both, upon conditionally 
employing or conditionally granting clinical privileges to the 
individual. 

(b) The individual signs a statement in writing that indicates all of 
the following:  
(i) That he or she has not been convicted of 1 or more of the 

crimes that are described in subsection (1)(a) and (b) 
within the applicable time period prescribed by 
subsection (1)(a) and (b), 

(ii) The individual agrees that, if the information in the 
criminal history check conducted under subsection (4) or 
(5), or both, does not confirm the individual's statement 
under subparagraph (i), his or her employment or clinical 
privileges will be terminated by the health facility or 
agency as required under subsection (1) unless and until 
the individual can prove that the information is incorrect. 
The health facility or agency shall provide a copy of the 
results of the criminal history check conducted under 
subsection (4) or (5), or both, to the applicant upon 
request. 

(iii) That he or she understands the conditions described in 
subparagraphs (i) and (ii) that result in the termination of 
his or her employment or clinical privileges and that those 
conditions are good cause for termination. 

 
(7) On the effective date of the amendatory act that added this section, the 

department shall develop and distribute a model form for the statement 
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required under subsection (6)(b).  The department shall make the 
model form available to health facilities or agencies subject to this 
section upon request at no charge.  

 
(8) If an individual is employed as a conditional employee or is granted 

conditional clinical privileges under subsection (6), and the report 
described in subsection (4) or (5), or both, does not confirm the 
individual's statement under subsection (6)(b)(i), the health facility or 
agency shall terminate the individual's employment or clinical privileges 
as required by subsection (1).  

 
(9) An individual who knowingly provides false information regarding 

criminal convictions on a statement described in subsection (6)(b)(i) is 
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 
90 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both.  

 
(10) A health facility or agency that is a nursing home, county medical care 

facility, or home for the aged shall use criminal history record 
information obtained under subsection (4), (5), or (6) only for the 
purpose of evaluating an applicant's qualifications for employment, an 
independent contract, or clinical privileges in the position for which he 
or she has applied and for the purposes of subsections (6) and (8). A 
health facility or agency or an employee of the health facility or agency 
shall not disclose criminal history record information obtained under 
subsection (4) or (5) to a person who is not directly involved in 
evaluating the applicant's qualifications for employment, an 
independent contract, or clinical privileges.  Upon written request from 
another health facility or agency or adult foster care facility that is 
considering employing, independently contracting with, or granting 
clinical privileges to an individual, a health facility or agency that has 
obtained criminal history record information under this section on that 
individual shall share the information with the requesting health facility 
or agency or adult foster care facility.  Except for a knowing or 
intentional release of false information, a health facility or agency has 
no liability in connection with a criminal background check conducted 
under this section or the release of criminal history record information 
under this subsection.  

 
(11) As a condition of continued employment, each employee, independent 

contractor, or individual granted clinical privileges shall agree in writing 
to report to the health facility or agency immediately upon being 
arrested for or convicted of one or more of the criminal offenses listed 
in subsection (1)(a) and (b).  
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(12) As used in this section:  
(a) "Adult foster care facility" means an adult foster care facility 

licensed under the adult foster care facility licensing act, 1979 
PA 218, MCL 400.701 to 400.737.  

(b) "Independent contract" means a contract entered into by a 
health facility or agency with an individual who provides the 
contracted services independently or a contract entered into by 
a health facility or agency with an organization or agency that 
employs or contracts with an individual after complying with the 
requirements of this section to provide the contracted services 
to the health facility or agency on behalf of the organization or 
agency.  

 
C. Michigan Adult Protective Services Act 

In addition to the state licensure and federal requirements shown above, the 
Adult Protective Services Act, 1982 PA 519, requires health professionals and 
employees of health care facilities to report any incident of suspected abuse, 
neglect, or misappropriation of a patient or resident. 
 
Any facility or facility employee who suspects or has reasonable cause to 
believe that an adult has been subjected to abuse, neglect, or 
misappropriation as defined by the Adult Protective Services Act, must make 
a report to the Department of Human Services (formerly the Family 
Independence Agency) or County Department of Social Services. 

 
9.3. COMPLAINT PROCESS REQUIREMENTS 

Michigan Compiled Law MCL 333.21723 and Nursing Home and Nursing Care 
Facilities’ Rule 325.20113 require a nursing home to adopt a written patient rights 
and responsibilities policy that includes the creation of a procedure for filing 
complaints by nursing home residents and other interested parties.  Nursing home 
procedures must include a procedure for the initiation, investigation and resolution of 
complaints subject to Departmental approval.  The information below has been 
developed to assist nursing homes and is based on the statutory requirements and 
departmental recommendations.  Nursing homes may adopt this procedure or 
initiate their own procedure that includes the minimum statutory requirements. 
 
Caution:  The procedures described below are in addition to abuse, neglect 
and misappropriation investigation and reporting required by Public Act 368 of 
1978, Section 21771 and the Code of Federal Regulations, 42 CFR 
483.13(c)(12).  Facilities are responsible for meeting the MDCH reporting 
requirements for abuse, neglect and misappropriation as set forth in statute.  

 
A. Complaint Staff 

Designate a facility staff person on each shift to be responsible for receiving 
complaints and conducting complaint investigations.  The facility must ensure 
that an individual is on duty and on site not less than 24 hours per day, 
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seven (7) days a week for this purpose.  The designated staff person must 
be clearly identified for residents and family members.  It is recommended 
that the facility establish a monthly schedule showing the designated 
individual for each shift on each day of the month. 
 

B. Facility Complaint Procedure 
Establish a procedure for submission and resolution of in-house written or 
oral complaints to include the following: 
 
1. Facility Process 

A facility process for the receipt of complaints in person, by telephone, 
or in writing by residents, employees and visitors.  The facility should 
assist residents in reducing their oral complaint to writing when such 
oral complaint is not resolved to the satisfaction of the complainant.  
The Resident Assistance Form (Appendix E) with instructions may be 
used for this purpose.  A facility may create its own form provided it 
meets the requirements of MCL 333.21723 and R 325.20113. 
 

2. Timeframe 
A timeframe that is responsive to the complainant as well as the 
15-day investigation requirement set forth in R 325.20113(2)(d).  
MDCH recommends the following timeframes from receipt of complaint 
to initiation of investigation:  
a. Immediately (no later than 8 hours) – for abuse, neglect or 

misappropriation. 
b. As Soon As Possible but Within five (5) Days – for anything 

that has caused actual harm. 
c. As Soon As Possible but Within 15 Days – for any other 

concern. 
 

3. Written Report Procedure 
A process for delivering to the complainant a written report of the 
results of the investigation as soon as possible after investigation or 
within 30 days following receipt of the complaint, or a written status 
report indicating when the report may be expected. 
 

4. Procedure 
A mechanism for appealing the matter to the administrator of the home 
if the complainant is not satisfied with the investigation or resolution of 
the complaint. 
 

5. MDCH Complaint Procedure 
A process for informing a resident or other interested party that they 
may contact the Michigan Department of Community Health to file a 
complaint as an alternative, if not satisfied with the results of the 
appeal to the nursing home administrator. 
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6. Complaint Records 
Maintaining written complaints filed under its complaint procedure and 
all complaint investigation reports given to each complainant for three 
years, and making records available to the Michigan Department of 
Community Health upon request.  Investigation reports should include 
the resolution of the complaint. 
 

7. Follow Up Procedure 
A process for following up with the resident to determine if the 
complaint was resolved to resident’s satisfaction. 
 

8. Utilization of Complaint Findings 
A process for utilizing the findings of the complaint investigation as part 
of a facility Quality Improvement Program. 
 

9. Post Complaint Information 
Post the following information in an area accessible to residents, 
employees, and visitors: 
● The name, title, location, and telephone number of the 

individuals in the nursing home who are responsible for 
receiving complaints and conducting complaint investigations.  It 
is recommended that the monthly schedule developed in Step 1 
be posted to meet this requirement. 

● A procedure for communicating with that individual.  This should 
be a summary of the process described in 2.A of this procedure 
and should include the Resident Assistance Form (Appendix E) 
or its equivalent.   

 
10. Facility Complaint Policy and Procedure 

Make available to all of the parties listed below, upon admission and 
upon request, the facility’s complaint policy and procedure. 
● The resident. 
● Attending physician. 
● Next of kin. 
● Member of the family. 
● Guardian. 
● Designated representative. 
● Person or agency responsible for placing and maintaining the 

resident in the home. 
● Employees of the facility. 
● Public. 
 

9.4. ABUSE, NEGLECT, MISTREATMENT AND MISAPPROPRIATION REQUIREMENTS 
This section contains facility requirements for the prevention of abuse, neglect, 
mistreatment, misappropriation and for the reporting of incidents that may occur. 
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A. Written Policies and Procedures 
Appendix P of the CMS State Operations Manual contains the protocol for 
nursing home surveys.  Task 5G Abuse Prevention Review requires 
surveyors to review facility policies and procedures for: 
● Screening of potential employees. 
● Training of employees (both for new employees, and ongoing training 

for all employees). 
● Prevention policies and procedures. 
● Identification of possible incidents or allegations that need 

investigation. 
● Investigation of incidents and allegations. 
● Protection of residents during investigations. 
● Reporting of incidents, investigations, and facility response to the 

results of their investigations. 
 

B. Screening of Potential Employees 
Michigan Public Act 303 of 2002 added Section 20173 to the Public Health 
Code effective May 10, 2002.  Section 20173 requires pre-employment 
criminal history checks for individuals regularly providing direct services to 
residents in nursing homes and county medical care facilities.  A facility is not 
required by F225 or 42 CFR 483.13(c)(1)(ii) and (iii) to perform a criminal 
background check prior to employment; however, the state law prevails. 
 
The federal requirements state that a certified long term care facility must not 
employ an individual who has been found guilty of abusing, neglecting or 
mistreating residents by a court of law; or who has had a finding entered into 
the State Nurse Aide Registry concerning abuse, neglect, mistreatment of 
residents or misappropriation of their property.  The facility must report any 
knowledge it has of actions by a court of law against an employee, which 
would indicate unfitness for service as a nurse aide or other facility staff to the 
State Nurse Aide Registry or licensing authorities.  These reports may be 
made to the Bureau of Health Professions, Complaint and Allegation Division, 
P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, MI 48909, or by calling (517) 373-9196. 
 
In addition, a facility must maintain documentation that it has inquired from 
the State Nurse Aide Registry or licensing authorities about the individual they 
wish to hire.  If a facility receives information that an applicant for employment 
or an employee has been found guilty of abuse, neglect or mistreating 
residents by a court of law it must report the individual to the State Nurse Aide 
Registry or licensing authorities. 
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C. Reporting Allegations and Findings  
Each long-term care facility should adopt and implement written policies and 
procedures for reporting and responding to incidents of suspected resident 
mistreatment, abuse, neglect, misappropriation, or injuries of unknown 
source.  At a minimum, these policies and procedures should ensure that: 
 
1. Immediate Reporting of Alleged Incidents 

All alleged/possible incidents are reported immediately to the facility 
administrator along with immediate telephone notification to the 
Complaint Hotline (1-800-882-6006).  Immediate completion and 
submission of the Facility Incident Report–24 Hours (BHS-OPS-362, 
Appendix C) to the State Agency is also required.  "Immediate" means 
as soon as possible, but not more than 24 hours after the discovery of 
the incident.   
 

2. Investigation Findings  
Investigation findings are reported to the administrator and to the State 
Survey Agency (BHS) by completing and submitting the Facility 
Investigation Report – 5 Working Days (BHS-OPS-363, Appendix C1) 
form within 5 (state) working days of the incident. 
 

3. Available Information 
Any and all available information that may be relevant to an 
investigation of any case of suspected resident abuse, neglect, or 
misappropriation is made available to the Bureau upon request.  
 

4. Potential Witnesses 
Reasonable efforts are made to facilitate Bureau attempts to interview 
any and all potential witnesses who may have information that is 
relevant to the issues involved in the investigation. 

 
D. Abuse Prevention Program 

In order to prevent abuse, neglect, or misappropriation to the maximum extent 
possible, each long-term care facility should provide supervision of staff and 
residents, regular orientation, and in-service training programs for all facility 
personnel that emphasize the following: 
● Techniques for management of difficult residents. 
● Identification of factors that contribute to, or escalate, hostile behavior. 
● Assessment of personnel responses to aggressive or hostile behavior. 
● Identification of employee and resident coping behaviors, and 

reinforcement of positive and adaptive behaviors. 
● Use of intervention techniques, including verbal responses and safe, 

non-injurious physical control techniques, as therapeutic tools for 
hostile residents. 

● Close observation of new employees during orientation. 
● Interdisciplinary program planning for residents. 
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E. Adoption and Implementation of Preventative Administrative Policies 
In addition to the specific abuse prevention program requirements described 
in Section 5220, facilities should adopt and implement administrative, 
management, and personnel policies and practices that include: 
● Careful interviewing of employee applicants and verification of 

employee competency and credentials. 
● Close examination of applicant references prior to hiring. 
● Cooperation with other facilities in providing information about an 

employee's ability to handle difficult residents to prospective 
employers. 

● Staff support programs and education on their reporting responsibilities 
and the consequences of failure to report. 

● Close scrutiny of incident reports. 
● Careful admission assessment of the risk for resident abuse, neglect 

and misappropriation of property. 
● Development of care plans which include approaches to dealing with 

residents who may provoke hostile behavior by staff members or fellow 
residents where applicable. 

● Provision of relevant information regarding difficult or emotionally 
unstable residents, and approaches to be used in caring for them, on a 
systematic basis. 

● Termination, pursuant to 42 CFR 483.13(c)(1)(ii), of an employee when 
there is a substantiated finding of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation 
recorded in the Nurse Aide Registry. 

● Check sex offender registry. 
 

F. Investigation 
Each long term care facility must review any and all situations or incidents in 
which a resident may have suffered physical or other harm for reasons that 
are unknown, unclear or not adequately explained.  The facility must 
investigate allegations of abuse, neglect, misappropriation, mistreatment or 
injuries of unknown source and report findings to the Bureau within 5 (state) 
working days of the incident. 
 
A nursing home administrator or nursing director is expected to immediately 
conduct a thorough in-house investigation to determine what happened and 
do the following: 
 
1. Incident Report 

Complete a detailed incident report with the investigation findings and 
retain it at the facility.   
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2. State Notification 
Notify the Bureau of the investigative findings within 5 (state) working 
days of the incident through completion and submission of Facility 
Investigation Report – 5 Working Days (BHS-OPS-363) form. 

 
3. Protective and Corrective Actions 

During and subsequent to its investigation the facility must take 
protective and corrective actions to protect residents from current 
abuse, neglect, or misappropriation and prevent further incidents.  
Such protective and/or remedial action must not be delayed solely 
because the Bureau may not have completed its own investigation. 
 
Facilities that are cited for abuse, neglect, mistreatment or 
misappropriation subsequent to a Bureau investigation must submit 
plans of correction that include taking any and all protective and/or 
remedial actions reasonably necessary to prevent further harm to that 
resident and/or all other residents. 

 
F. Incidents That Need To Be Reported to the Bureau 

Facilities must report as soon as possible but not more than 24 hours after 
receipt of an allegation involving resident mistreatment, neglect, abuse, 
misappropriation of resident property or an injury of unknown source by 
telephone notification to the complaint hotline and by completing and 
submitting information on the Facility Incident Report – 24 Hours 
(BHS-OPS-362) form within 24 hours of all alleged/possible incidents. 
 

G. Report of Findings to the Bureau 
Findings from an investigation involving alleged resident mistreatment, 
neglect, abuse, misappropriation of resident property or an injury of unknown 
source must be reported to the Bureau within 5 (state) working days of the 
incident by completing and submitting the Facility Investigation Report – 
5 Working Days (BHS-OPS-363) form. 

 
H. Waiver of Civil Fines Against Facility Which Reports Timely 

In the interest of timely self-reporting and to encourage the reporting of 
incidents which may in turn result in fines against the facility, the Bureau 
waives any civil fines due the department under Section 21799c that might 
otherwise be assessed against the facility for resident rights violations.  Any 
amount payable to the resident will still be assessed. 

 
I. How to Report 

Facility reported incidents and investigation findings are required by law to be 
reported. The telephone numbers for these reports are 1-800-882-6006 or 
517-241-4712, the fax number is 517/241-0093.  The Facility Incident 
Report-24 Hours (BHS-OPS-362) form is available online at 
http://www.michigan.gov/bhs. 
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Facilities should complete the Facility Incident Report – 24 Hours (BHS-OPS-
362) form (Appendix D) or similar form with the same information, and submit 
it by fax or overnight mail within 24 hours of an incident to report the incident.  
The Facility Investigation Report – 5 Working Days (BHS-OPS-363) form 
should be received by BHS within 5 (state) working days of the alleged 
incident to report the investigation findings.  Faxes may be received off hours, 
after 5:00 p.m. and on weekends and holidays. 

 
J. Content of Reports 

Facilities must report the information required by the Facility Incident Report – 
24 Hours (BHS-OPS-362) form and the Facility Investigation Report – 
5 Working Days (BHS-OPS-363) form.  Use of these forms is optional, 
reporting of the requested information is mandatory.  Facilities should be 
prepared to submit as much of the information as is available at the time of 
reporting.   
 

K. Reporting Examples 
 

1. Immediate Reporting 
The facility should report these situations immediately (as soon as 
possible): 
a. Elopement of a resident from the facility. 
b. An elopement that occurs outside the facility during an 

outing as soon as elopement is known. 
 

2. Within 24 Hours 
The following are examples of situations that must be reported to the 
Bureau within 24 hours after the facility becomes aware of the 
incident, regardless of whether the facility investigation has been 
concluded: 
a. An injury or incident involving a death or potential criminal 

activity under investigation by a state or local law enforcement 
agency. 

b. Abuse with or without injuries. 
c. Injuries of unknown source that result in interference with 

physiologic functions that are an immediate threat to life or have 
a strong potential to become an immediate threat to life. 

d. Resident-to-resident physical altercations by a resident. 
e. Serious injury that is life-threatening to the resident. 
f. Sexual assault. 
g. An allegation of failure to re-admit a resident. 

Important:  The Bureau also operates a 24-hour Emergency Hotline for 
nursing homes to report certain emergency events, including some of 
the incidents included above.  Any such incidents reported to the 24-
hour Emergency Hotline must also be reported to the Complaint Hotline. 
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L. Procedure for Reporting Under the Adult Protective Services Act 
In addition to licensure requirements, the Adult Protective Services Act, 1982 
PA 519, requires health professionals and employees of health care facilities 
to report any incident of suspected abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of a 
resident's property.  This law provides that any facility or facility employee 
who suspects or has reasonable cause to believe that an adult has been 
subjected to abuse, neglect, or misappropriation as defined by the Adult 
Protective Services Act, shall make a report to the Department of Human 
Services (formerly the Family Independence Agency).   
 
Incidents of resident abuse, neglect, or misappropriation that occur while a 
resident is on leave from the facility should be reported to the Adult Protective 
Services Unit in the county Department of Human Services (formerly the 
Family Independence Agency) office.  Information reported should include: 
a. Any and all information the reporting individual may have about the 

location, nature and extent of the alleged abuse, neglect, or 
misappropriation. 

b. The circumstances under which the reporting individual became aware 
of the alleged abuse, neglect, or misappropriation. 

c. The age of the resident. 
d. Information about any treatment provided to the resident in question. 
e. Any other available information which may be helpful in establishing 

the cause of the alleged abuse, neglect, or misappropriation, or in 
identifying the person or persons responsible for that alleged abuse, 
neglect, or misappropriation. 

 
NOTE:  Facilities that report to the Bureau incidents that occur within 
the facility do not need to also report these same incidents to the 
Department of Human Services. 

 
M. General Actions 

The Bureau utilizes all available statutes, rules, and certification requirements 
to enforce legal reporting requirements including civil fines, ban on 
admissions, and other remedies against facilities who are found to have 
violated statutory reporting requirements and the right of each resident or 
resident to a safe and healthful environment. 
 

N. Failure to Report 
The failure of a facility to report pursuant to Section 21771 is considered in 
the assessment of any civil fines pursuant to the Michigan Public Health Code 
Section 21799c (4). 
 
The Bureau cites facilities that fail to report immediately (as defined above) 
even if they voluntarily report later.  

 
O. Failure to Report Under Adult Protective Services Act 
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The mandatory reporting of suspected abuse, neglect or misappropriation 
under the Adult Protective Services Act is actively monitored and enforced by 
the Bureau in facilities as part of licensure and certification programs. 

 
P. Requirement for Protective Action While Allegations of Abuse, Neglect, 

Mistreatment or Misappropriation are Investigated 
 

The facility must have evidence that all alleged violations of abuse, neglect, 
mistreatment, misappropriation of resident property or injury of unknown 
source are reported and investigated; and must prevent further potential 
abuse, neglect, mistreatment; misappropriation or injury while the 
investigation is in process. 


