


 

 
 

BACKGROUND AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING 
KNOWN OR SUSPECTED OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE REPORT 

 
 As a result of Executive Orders No. 1996-1, 1996-2 and 2003-18 and Part 56 of P.A. 368 of 1978, a physician, 
hospital, clinic or employer must report known or suspected cases of occupational diseases or workplace aggravated 
health conditions to the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth within 10 days after discovery of the 
disease or condition on a report form furnished by the department.  This requirement does not apply to occupational 
injuries. 
 
 This report is furnished by the Department of Labor and Economic Growth in accordance with Section 5611(4) of 
P.A. 368 of 1978 and is required to be completed and submitted to the Department of Labor and Economic Growth at the 
address below for all such cases to fulfill the statutory mandate prescribed by Section 5611 or Part 56 of the Act. 
 

Instructions for Completing Report 
 

General: 
 Multiple reports on the same individual for the same illness should not be submitted.  The employer should return 
this form only if the employee is not referred to a physician, hospital, or clinic.  If a physician returns the form indicating a 
suspected occupational disease and at a later date confirms this occupational disease, an updated form confirming their 
diagnosis and causative agent should be submitted. 
 
Employers: 
 If an employer is submitting the form, all questions, with the exception of those indicated for physicians only, 
should be completed.  The form should be completed by the employer at the time of onset, discovery, or suspected 
occurrence of the employee’s illness and returned directly to Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth. 
 
 If the employee is referred to a physician, hospital, or clinic, the employer should complete the forms as stated 
above and the form should then accompany the employee for completion by the medical personnel. 
 
Physician, Hospital or Clinic: 
 The questions on the form, with the exception of those indicated for physicians only, may be completed by the 
employer at the time of onset, discovery, or suspected occurrence of the employee’s illness.  The form should then 
accompany the employee at the time of referral to a physician, hospital, or clinic for medical evaluation where the 
remainder of the form should be completed and submitted to the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth.  
If the employee is seen by the physician without a referral from the employer, and the physician diagnoses a suspected 
or confirmed occupational illness, the entire form is to be completed by the physician and submitted to the Michigan 
Department of Labor and Economic Growth. 
 
 It is the responsibility of the employer and of physicians, hospitals, and clinics to ensure that the form is properly 
completed, signed and submitted to the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth within 10 days after the 
onset of the disease, suspected occurrence of the disease, or a workplace aggravated health condition.  The form must 
be completed for all suspected or actual occupational diseases or health conditions aggravated by workplace exposure, 
including death of the employee as a result of the disease or health condition aggravated by workplace exposure. 
 
 Completion of this report form does not relieve the employer of the requirements of notification fatalities and 
catastrophes and to maintain records of each recordable occupational injury or illness pursuant to the requirements of 
Public Act 154 of 1974, as amended, the Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Act. 
 

ADDITIONAL REPORT FORMS ARE AVAILABLE FROM THE MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND ECONOMIC GROWTH 
 

Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth 
Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration 

Management and Technical Services Division 
7150 Harris Drive, P.O. Box 30649 

Lansing, Michigan 48909-8149 
(517) 322-1851 
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Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth  Management and Technical Services Division
Known or Suspected Occupational Disease Report

(Information will be held confidential as prescribed in Act.)

EMPLOYEE AFFECTED
Name (Last, First, Middle) Age Sex           Race:          White   Black  Hispanic

M F     Other

Street City State Zip

Home Phone Number Social Security Number

CURRENT EMPLOYER
Current Employer Name Worksite County

Worksite Address City State Zip

Business Phone If Known, Indicate Business Type (products manufactured or work done)

Number of Employees
        <25          25-100           100-500           >500

Employee's Work Unit/Department Dates of Employment
From: ____________________ To:____________________
                 Mo   Day   Year                Mo    Day     Year

Employee's Job Title or Description of Work

ILLNESS INFORMATION
Nature of Illness or Health Condition (Examples: Headache, Nausea, Difficulty Breathing, Cough, etc.) Date of Diagnosis

___________________
Mo     Day     Year

Suspected Causative Agents (Chemicals, Physical Agents, Conditions) Did Employee Die? If Yes, Date of Death
Yes              No    ___________________

Mo     Day     Year

If Physician, Indicate Clinical Impression for Suspected Occupational Disease, or Diagnosis of Confirmed Occupational Disease

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

REPORT SUBMITTED BY
If Report Submitted by Non-Physician, Did Employee See a Physician?
If yes, record information below. Yes               No               Don't Know
Physician's Name Phone

Office Address City State Zip

Name of Person Submitting Report
Physician           Non-Physician   

Address City State Zip

Signature Phone Date

The Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth is an equal opportunity, affirmative action employer, service provider and buyer.

Return completed form to:

Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth
Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Management and Technical Services Division
7150 Harris Drive,  P.O. Box 30649

Lansing, MI  48909-8149

MIOSHA-MTSD-51  (12/03)

             Authority: P.A. 368 of 1978
Completion: Required
Penalty: Misdemeanor



Excerpts from the Michigan Public Health Code 
 

Article 5.  Prevention and Control of Diseases and Disabilities 
 
Part 56.  Occupational Diseases 
 
Sec. 5601.  
 (1)  As used in this part, “occupational disease” means an illness of the human body arising out of and in the course 
of an individual’s employment and having one or more of the following characteristics: 

(a) It is caused by a frequently repeated or continuous exposure to a hazardous substance or agent or to a specific 
industrial practice which is hazardous and which has continued over an extended period of time. 

(b) It is caused by an acute exposure to a hazardous substance or agent. 
(c) It presents symptoms characteristic of an occupational disease known to have resulted in other cases from the 

same type of specific exposure. 
(2)  In addition, article 1 contains general definitions and principles of construction applicable to all articles in this 

code and part 51 contains definitions applicable to this part. 
 
Sec. 5611. 
 (1)  A physician, hospital, clinic, or employer knowing of an individual having a case of occupational disease or a 
health condition aggravated by workplace exposures shall report the case to the department within 10 days after the 
discovery of the occupational disease or condition. 
 (2)  A physician, hospital, clinic or employer knowing of a suspected case of occupational disease or a health 
condition aggravated by workplace exposures shall report the case to the department within 20 days after the discovery 
of the occupational disease or condition. 
 (3)  The report shall state the name and address of the individual, the name and business address of the employer, 
the business of the employer, the place of the individual’s employment, and length of time of employment in the place 
where the individual became ill, the nature of the disease, and other information required by the department. 
 (4)  The department shall prepare and furnish the report forms and instructions for their use to physicians, hospitals, 
clinics, and employers. 
 
Sec. 5613. 
 (1)  The department, upon receiving a report under section 5611 or believing that a case or suspected case of 
occupational disease exists in this state, may investigate to determine the accuracy of the report and the cause of the 
disease. 
 (2)  To aid in the diagnosis or treatment of an occupational disease, the department shall advise the physician in 
charge of a patient of the nature of the hazardous substance or agent and the conditions of exposure of the patient as 
established by the investigation.  In so doing the department shall protect the confidentiality of trade secrets or privileged 
information disclosed by the investigations in accordance with section 13 of Act No. 442 of the Public Acts of 1976, being 
section 15.243 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 
 
Sec. 5621. 
 (1)  Reports submitted to the department under section 5611 are not public records and are exempt from disclosure 
pursuant to section 13(1)(d) of Act No. 442 of the Public Acts of 1976. 
 (2)  The bureau of worker’s disability compensation and the compensation appeal board in the department of labor 
shall have access to the record of an actual case of occupational disease in a compensation case before it. 
 
Sec. 5623. 
 (1)  Not less than once each year, the department shall compile statistical summaries of all occupational diseases 
reported and accepted as covering true occupational diseases, and the kinds of employment leading to the occurrence of 
the diseases. 
 (2)  The department shall disseminate to appropriate employers in this state appro-instructions and information to 
prevent the occurrence of occupational diseases. 
 
Sec. 5639. 
A physician, hospital or clinic administrator, or employer who fails to make a report or who willfully makes false statement 
in a report required by section 5611(1) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $50.00. 



Michigan Law Requires the 
Reporting of Known or Suspected 

Occupational Noise-Induced Hearing Loss (NIHL) 
 

Reporting can be done by: 
 

Internet 
www.oem.msu.edu 

 
E-Mail 

ODREPORT@ht.msu.edu 
 

FAX 
517.432.3606 

 
Telephone 

1.800.446.7805 
 

Mail 
MIOSHA-MTS Division 

P.O. Box 30649 
Lansing, Michigan 48909-8149 

 
Audiograms are also required to be reported. Audiogram results may be 
submitted over the internet at the above address or hard copies may be 
mailed in with the reporting form. All information submitted over the 
internet is transmitted and stored securely. 

 
Suggested Criteria for Reporting Occupational NIHL 

 
1. A history of significant exposure to noise at work; AND 
 
2. A STS of 10 dB or more in either ear at an average of 2000, 3000 & 4000 Hz, and the 

employees total hearing level is 25 dB or more at the same three frequencies. OR 
 
3. A fixed loss.* 
*Suggested definitions for a fixed loss are: a 25 dB or greater loss in either ear at an average of: 
500, 1000 & 2000 Hz; or 1000, 2000 & 3000 Hz; or 3000, 4000 & 6000 Hz; or a 15 dB or 
greater loss in either ear at an average of 3000 & 4000 Hz. 




