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The Department of Community Health has been asked to clarify the relationship between Michigan’s 
new licensure requirement for physical therapist assistants and the Center for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) eligibility requirement to be a provider under Medicare.  The two requirements are 
separate and distinct issues; one based on state law one based on federal regulations.  
 

State of Michigan Licensure Requirement 
 

Public Act 55 of 2009, which was effective June 25, 2009, requires physical therapist assistants 
practicing in Michigan to be licensed.  Although the Act was effective immediately, the Department, in 
consultation with the Board of Physical Therapy, is required to promulgate administrative rules, which 
typically takes a minimum of 12 months.  In order for physical therapist assistants to continue 
practicing while the rules are being promulgated, the Board of Physical Therapy has the authority to 
grant a limited license to an applicant who is a graduate of a physical therapist assistant education 
program accredited by the commission on accreditation in physical therapy education (CAPTE).  To 
provide adequate time for all potential licensees to complete the application process, the department 
established December 31, 2010 as the deadline for obtaining a limited license.  During this period an 
individual may be granted a limited license based on educational training only and will not be required 
to document successful passage of a national examination.  A limited license issued during this 
period is valid until December 31, 2011.  Starting January 1, 2011 or upon expiration of the limited 
license, an applicant for licensure will need to meet the requirements for full licensure established in 
the final rules.  

 
Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Eligibility Requirements 

 
According to recent clarifications from CMS, an individual who is granted a limited license to practice 
as a physical therapist assistant in Michigan on or before December 31, 2009 and who graduated 
from a 2 year, college level, American Physical Therapy Association approved program is an eligible 
provider under Medicare.  The individual would not be required to document successful passage of 
the national examination.  Further, according to CMS, as Michigan does not require a license to 
practice as a physical therapist assistant until January 1, 2011 the following requirements apply to 
qualify as a Medicare provider.  Those who completed an approved physical therapist assistant 
educational training program between January 1, 2008 and December 31, 2009 and were issued a 
limited physical therapist assistant license in Michigan after December 31, 2009 are required to 
document completion of the approved education training program and successful passage of the 
national examination.  An individual who graduated from an approved course prior to January 1, 2008 
would not be required to pass the national exam to qualify as a provider under Medicare in Michigan 
even if the limited license was not issued in Michigan until after December 31, 2009.  CMS requires 
all physical therapist assistants to meet all licensure requirements in Michigan by January 1, 2011 to 
qualify as Medicare providers.  Starting January 1, 2011, physical therapist assistants must meet the 
licensure requirements established by the Michigan Board of Physical Therapy in their Administrative 
Rules.  For further information about CMS’s Medicare requirements and Michigan physical therapist 
assistants you may visit the following website:  
http://www.wpsmedicare.com/part_b/publications/2010_0127_mipta.shtml 

 
For further information about Michigan’s licensed physical therapist assistants contact the Bureau of 
Health Professions at 517-335-0918.  
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