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QA1) What is a QA certification? 
The QA, or Quality Assurance, certification refers to an outdated interpreter assessment 
system that the Division on Deaf and Hard of Hearing used in the past. The Division 
discontinued its use several years ago, but has been permitting those who held QA 
certification at that time to renew it annually until the rules passed and the certification 
itself was no longer recognized. That has now taken place.   
 
QA2) When does my QA expire? 
Pursuant to recently promulgated Michigan Administrative Rule 393.21(1)(a)(I), the QA 
certification will not be recognized in this state after October 6, 2014. The Division has 
extended until October 6, 2014, all QAs that would have expired before that date if they 
were valid on June 4, 2014 (the date the rules passed). Therefore, ALL Michigan QA 
certifications will expire on October 6, 2014. 
 
QA3) Can I renew or extend my current QA? 
If it expired prior to October 6, 2014, your QA has been extended until October 6, 2014. 
You will not be able to extend or renew your QA beyond October 6, 2014.  
  
QA4) Can I use my QA after October 6, 2014? 
No. Your QA certification will no longer be recognized in Michigan, and a QA does not 
make a person eligible for employment as a qualified interpreter. A QA cannot be 
accepted by an appointing authority and you may not in any way hold yourself out as a 
“qualified interpreter.” If you were employed for the 2014-15 school year prior to July 7, 
2014, it may be possible for the school to permit you to complete the school year 
pursuant to an exception to the rule requiring that interpreters be qualified (see #6 
below).   
  
QA5) Can I get in trouble for interpreting after October 6, 2014? 
If you do not have at least one of the “acceptable certifications” listed in Rule 21, 
Michigan Common Law Section 393.508b provides: “(1) A person who knows that he or 
she does not meet the definition of qualified interpreter under this act and misrepresents 
himself or herself as a qualified interpreter is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by 
imprisonment for not more than 90 days or a fine of not less than $500.00 or more than 
$1,000.00, or both.” 
 
QA6) If I had/have both a valid QA II or III and a job with a school on July 7th, do I 

lose my job on October 6, 2014?   
Possibly not. Pursuant to Rule 26(6), a school may retain a QA II or QA III who was 
hired for the 2014-15 school year before the rule’s effective date of July 7, 2014. A QA 
II/III may thus continue to perform the duties of that job until the end of the school year. 
The QA of a person employed pursuant to this provision still expires on October 6, after 
which he or she is not recognized as a “qualified interpreter” in Michigan. He or she is 



permitted to continue in the position because the rules allow the school an exception to 
the requirement that the position be held by a qualified interpreter. No such exception is 
provided for the QA I certification.   
 
QA7) Does a school’s QA II/III exception specifically require that the employment 

contract signed by the school?  
No. If the school hires through an agent (like an employment or interpreter agency), the 
school would still have the exception, but only if the employment agreement is for a 
specific position with defined and assigned duties, as opposed to a fill-in, substitute or 
as-needed type position.  
 
QA8) Does a school’s QA II/III exception apply to substitute interpreters?  
No. The exception applies only to a specific position and the particular individual who 
held a valid QA II or QA III when they were retained to fill it. In effect, the rule says a 
school need not fire someone whose certificate expires from a job they held before the 
rules’ effective date, but the school may not hire them or assign them to a different 
position.    
  
 


