Registering to Vote

Who can register to vote?

You are eligible to vote if:

- ✓ you are at least 18 years old by election day;
- ✓ you are a US citizen and a resident of the city or township where registering.

How and when do I register?

You must register **at least 30 days prior** to an election. You can register in person at any Secretary of State (SOS) branch office or your local clerk's office, or by mail. To get a registration form, go to www.michigan.gov/vote and click on the "Register to Vote" button.

What if I've moved since the last election?

In Michigan, the address on your driver's license and voter registration must match. If you updated your driver's license with your new address, your voter registration has been updated too. If not, you can do this in person at any SOS branch office or your city, township or County Clerk's office. You can also re-register by mail.

Voting at the Polls

Where do I vote?

To find your polling place, consult your voter registration card, check with your city or township clerk, or go to www.michigan.gov/vote.

When are the polls open?

From 7:00 am to 8:00 pm on Election Day. All qualified voters in line at 8:00 pm must be allowed to vote.

What if my name doesn't appear on the local clerk's list of registered voters?

Don't give up! If you have your voter registration card, show it and you can vote. If you don't have your card, ask the election worker to help you make sure you're in the right precinct.

How can I vote for someone whose name is not on the ballot (a write-in candidate)?

Space is provided on the ballot for you to write in the name of someone who is not listed. Write-in votes will be counted only if that person has filed a declaration of intent to be a write-in candidate.

Do I have to show photo ID to vote?

Only if you are voting for the first time and failed to provide a copy of your identification with your mail-in registration. All other voters are asked to present an acceptable current photo ID, including:

- ✓ Driver's license or government-issued ID;
- ✓ US passport;
- ✓ Military ID card with photo;
- ✓ Student ID with photo from a high school, college or university;
- ✓ Tribal ID card with photo.

If you do not have your ID with you, you can sign an affidavit and you will be allowed to vote.

May I take campaign literature or wear campaign clothing into the polling place?

If you wear a button or shirt bearing electionrelated images or slogans, you will be asked to cover or remove it. You may carry literature for personal use only. You may not distribute it, display it or leave it at the polling place.

Can I vote while in jail or prison?

If you are in jail or prison awaiting trial, you are eligible to vote. You must vote by absentee ballot. Anyone serving a sentence in jail or prison after conviction cannot vote while incarcerated.

Can I vote if I'm unemployed or have been through foreclosure?

Yes. Employment and home foreclosure status do not affect your eligibility as a voter.

May I ask for help with voting?

Yes. Two inspectors (one from each political party) will help you. Election inspectors cannot

suggest how you should vote. If you cannot read English, you can ask anyone to help you (except your employer, an agent of your employer or an officer or agent of your union).

Also, Michigan law entitles persons with disabilities to receive reasonable accommodations for voting, which may include having someone read the ballot. You cannot be denied access to a polling place because of a disability. Contact your local clerk, or the SOS Bureau of Elections at 1-800-292-5973 (TTY: 517-241-4320) for more information.

Voting By Absentee Ballot

Who can vote by absentee ballot?

If you are registered and have previously voted in person, you may vote absentee if ANY of the following apply:

- ✓ You are age 60 or older;
- ✓ You will be absent from the community on Election Day;
- ✓ You are unable to go and vote without help;
- ✓ Religious beliefs prevent you from voting:
- ✓ You have been appointed an election inspector in a precinct other than your own;
- ✓ You are in jail awaiting arraignment or trial.

How do I request an absentee ballot?

You must request an absentee ballot in writing from your city or township clerk (you cannot ask over the phone). Your written request must include your name, date of the election, the address where you are registered to vote, the reason you need an absentee ballot, the address where you want your ballot sent, your signature and the date of your request. **This request must be submitted by 2:00 pm on the Saturday before the election.** You can also request to vote by absentee ballot in person at your local clerk's office during regular business hours.

Myths & Facts About Voting in Michigan

MYTH	FACT
I can't vote without showing a photo ID	If you do not have a photo ID with you, you can sign an affidavit and vote.
I can't vote because I'm a college student living on campus	College students can keep their voter registration at their parents' address or reregister at their college address. The address on your voter registration and driver's license must match, so changing one, changes both.
If I change my address to vote at college, I lose access to my parents' insurance.	Insurance eligibility is not affected by voter registration.
If I lose my voter registration card, I can't vote.	Your voter registration card is not required for voting.
I can't vote if I've been in jail.	Michigan residents can register and vote even if they've been convicted of a state or federal crime, unless they are currently incarcerated.
I can't vote if I'm behind on my child support or have been through foreclosure	Financial challenges do not affect your right to vote as long you are registered at the correct address.

Get Help On Election Day

If you have problems or need assistance on Election Day, **first contact your city, township or county clerk**.

To find the correct contact information, go to: www.michigan.gov/vote or call the Michigan Bureau of Elections at 1-800-292-5973 and ask for the phone number of your clerk's office.

If your problem isn't resolved, contact the Election Protection Coalition at 1-866-OUR-VOTE (1-866-687-8683) or www.866ourvote.org and ask for help.

For more information on voting rights or to file a complaint after the election:

Michigan Department of Civil Rights 1-800-482-3604 TTY: 1-877-878-8464 www.michigan.gov/mdcr

U.S. Department of Justice Voting Section Toll-Free: 1-800-253-3931

http://www.justice.gov/crt/voting-section

Michigan Bureau of Elections 1-800-292-5973 TTY: 1-517-241-4320 www.michigan.gov/vote

Understanding Your Right to Vote



