
 

Michigan Civil Service Commission 
RETIREE BENEFITS BULLETIN 

 
DATE: October 2008 GIS 03-2008R 
CONTACT: TELEPHONE NO.: 

MI HR Service Center (517) 335-0529  Lansing Area 
(877) 766-6447  Toll-Free 

SUBJECT: 
IMPORTANT  INSURANCE  INFORMATION  FOR 

STATE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION RETIREES 
 
 
OCTOBER 2008 INSURANCE RATES 
 
Change in Health Premium Sharing Effective October 1, 2008  
 
The total premium for the State Health Plan PPO administered by Blue Cross Blue Shield of 
Michigan (BCBSM) will not increase for the 2008-2009 fiscal year. Your cost continues to be 
based on your total years of state service (see attached rate sheet). This reflects the 
premium sharing changes being implemented for state employees.  The State Employees 
Retirement Act requires premium sharing for state retirees in the same proportion as for 
health insurance for active employees.   
 
For all HMOs, the State’s premium share continues to be based on your total years of state 
service. However, the State’s share will not exceed the amount it pays for BCBSM PPO; the 
retiree’s share is the remainder.  When reviewing an HMO plan, be sure to review the HMO 
Postal Code List available at http://www.michigan.gov/mdcs or by calling MI HR Service 
Center at the above number. 
 
 
Dental and vision rates will remain the same for the 2008-2009 fiscal year.  Enclosed for your 
information is an insurance rate chart which is effective October 1, 2008. Premiums shown on 
the attached chart will be reflected in your October pension check. 
 
 
Prescription Drug Plan Changes Effective October 1, 2008 
 
Co-pays at a retail pharmacy for a one-month supply will be: 
• Generic drugs:   $10 
• Preferred brand drugs:   $20 
• Non-preferred brand drugs:  $40  
 
Co-pays through mail order for a three-month supply will be: 
• Generic drugs:   $20 
• Preferred brand drugs:   $40 
• Non-preferred brand drugs:  $80  
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The Generics Preferred1 and Step Therapy2 programs will also be added effective October 1, 
2008. 
1. Generics Preferred Program: Under the Generics Preferred Program, if a generic drug is available 

and the prescription is written as DAW (dispense as written), your doctor will need to provide medical 
justification supporting the brand name drug. If there is no justification why you cannot take the 
generic, you can still receive the brand name drug but will pay the applicable brand name co-pay and 
the cost difference between the generic and the brand-name prescription. 

2. Step Therapy: In Step Therapy, the covered drugs you take are organized into a series of “steps” with 
your doctor approving and writing your prescriptions throughout the process. The program usually 
starts with generic drugs in the “first step,” while more expensive brand name drugs are usually 
covered in the “second step” of treatment. If you have previously used a “first step” prescription drug 
and the drug has proven to be ineffective, a “second step” prescription drug may be used. 
 

NOTE:  The prescription drug plan changes apply only to those members enrolled in the 
State Health Plan PPO or the Medicare Plus Blue Group Plan.  It does not apply to members 
enrolled in an HMO.  Express Scripts, Inc. (ESI) will be mailing more information on the 
programs.  For additional questions, call ESI at (800) 296-6032. 
 
Health Plan Changes Effective January 1, 2009 
 

• In-network office visits under the State Health Plan PPO and office visits under the 
Medicare Plus Blue Group such as physician office, office consultation, chiropractic 
spinal manipulation, urgent care, and hearing care will be subject to a $15 co-pay. 

 
• A $50 emergency room co-pay will be required if the State Health Plan PPO or 

Medicare Plus Blue Group member is not admitted to the hospital. 
 

• The in-network deductible for non-Medicare, State Health Plan PPO members will be 
$300 per individual and $600 per family.  The out-of-network deductible will be $600 
per individual and $1,200 per family. 

 
• The deductible for Medicare members in the Medicare Plus Blue Group plan will be 

$300 per individual.   
 
 
RETIREES AND DEPENDENTS WHO ARE MEDICARE ELIGIBLE 
 
Medicare Parts A and B 
Once you become eligible for Medicare, you will be enrolled in the Medicare Plus Blue Group.  
Medicare automatically enrolls you in Parts A and B.  You must remain enrolled in Medicare 
Parts A and B to continue your health care coverage as a retiree.  If you decline Medicare 
Part B, you may be financially responsible for up to 80% of your health care claims.  Be 
sure to submit a copy of your Medicare card to the Office of Retirement Services (ORS). 
 
HMO Enrollments 
When you or your dependent become eligible for Medicare, you will need to submit an 
application for your HMO’s Medicare Advantage plan, if you wish to remain enrolled in your 
HMO.  If your HMO does not offer a Medicare Advantage plan; or if a Medicare Advantage 
plan is not available in your area, you may select the BCBSM’s Medicare Plus Blue Group 
Plan. 
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CHANGING INSURANCE CARRIERS 
 
If you wish to make changes to your State Health, Dental or Vision plans, use the following 
forms available on the ORS website at www.michigan.gov/ors.  Please send your completed 
form to ORS.   

• Use the insurance application to enroll in the State Health Plan BCBSM PPO, State 
Dental plan or Vision plan or to add or delete dependents on your insurances. 

 
To enroll in a HMO, request the enrollment form directly from the HMO.  HMO contact 
information is included with this mailing.  Send your completed form to ORS.   
 
As a retiree, you are not restricted to an open enrollment window for making changes to your 
health insurance plan. Changes are subject to a “rolling enrollment window” with the following 
changes subject to a six-month waiting period: 
 

A. The retiree is enrolled in an HMO and wants to enroll in the State Health Plan PPO. 
B. The retiree does not notify ORS within 30 days of the date of event (marriage, 

death, divorce or involuntary loss of coverage). 
C. The retiree is currently not enrolled in any insurance plan. 

 
The six-month waiting period is waived when: 
 

A. The retiree is enrolled in the State Health Plan PPO and wants to enroll in an 
HMO. 

B. The retiree is currently in an HMO and wants to transfer to a different HMO. 
C. The retiree is enrolled in an HMO and is moving out of the service area.  
D. The retiree notifies ORS within 30 days of the date of event (marriage, death, 

divorce or involuntary loss of coverage). 
 

ADDITIONAL STATE HEALTH PLAN PPO AND MEDICARE PLUS BLUE GROUP 
INFORMATION 
 
Durable Medical Equipment and Prosthetic and Orthotic Devices 
Through these programs, you can obtain durable medical equipment, medical supplies, and 
prosthetic and orthotic devices.   
 
For non-Medicare State Health Plan PPO Members - SUPPORT Program (800) 321-8074 
Benefits are covered at 100% within the Michigan network.  Out-of-state benefits are covered 
at 90%. 

 
For Medicare Plus Blue Group Plan Members - DMEnsions  (888) 828-7858 
Benefits are covered at 100% at DME facilities that accept the Medicare Plus Blue Group 
card.   
 
Blue Health Connection  
This disease management program provides health educational materials, online health 
resources, a smoking cessation program and a 24-hour nurse help line. 
For non-Medicare State Health Plan PPO members call (800) 775-2583. 
For Medicare Plus Blue Group members call (877) 922 9355. 
CuraScript for Specialty Drugs  (888) 773-7376   
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CuraScript is the provider for oral and injectable specialty medications.  You will have a 
dedicated Patient Care Coordinator to make sure you receive optimum care.  Drugs can be 
delivered directly to your home or to your physician’s office.  Express Scripts will continue as 
your mail order provider for your non-specialty prescription drugs.  
 
ACCESSING INFORMATION ON-LINE 
 
To view the Benefit Guide for the State of Michigan Retirees’ State Health Plan PPO on-line, 
go to www.michigan.gov/mdcs.  From the links at the left, click on “Employee Benefits”, 
“Benefit Booklets”, “State Health Plan Benefit Information”, then “Retirees State Health Plan 
PPO” from the list of options in the center of the page.   
 
To view information regarding Medicare Plus Blue Group, go to www.michigan.gov/mdcs.  
From the links on the left, click on “Employee Benefits”, then “Medicare Plus Blue Group (for 
State of Michigan Retirees) from the list of options in the center of the page. 
 
To view information about an HMO, go to www.michigan.gov/mdcs.  From the links at the left, 
click on “Employee Benefits”, “Benefit Booklets”, “State Health Plan Benefit Information”, and 
then “Health Maintenance Organization Plans” from the list of options in the center of the 
page and select an HMO plan to view. 
 
QUESTIONS 
Questions regarding the information in this bulletin can be directed to MI HR Service Center 
toll-free at (877) 766-6447 or in the Lansing area at (517) 335-0529.

 

STATE SPONSORED GROUP INSURANCE PLAN 
BENEFIT ADMINISTRATORS FOR RETIREES 

BLUE CROSS BLUE SHIELD OF MICHIGAN 
State Health Plan PPO 
BCBSM State of Michigan Service Center 
(800) 843-4876 
www.bcbsm.com
Medicare Plus Blue Group  
(888) 322-5557 
 

MANAGED PHARMACY/MAIL SERVICE 
PRESCRIPTION DRUG PROGRAM 
Express Scripts 
(800) 505-2324 
www.express-scripts.com

STATE VISION PLAN 
BCBSM State of Michigan Service Center 
(800) 843-4876 
www.bcbsm.com

DURABLE MEDICAL EQUIPMENT 
(For State Health Plan PPO Members Only) 
SUPPORT - (800) 321-8074 
(For Medicare Plus Blue Group Members Only) 
DMEnsions - (877) 922 9355 

STATE DENTAL PLAN  
Delta Dental Plan of Michigan 
(800) 524-0150 
www.deltadentalmi.com

MENTAL HEALTH/SUBSTANCE ABUSE 
SERVICES 
Magellan Behavioral of Michigan 
(866) 503-3158 
www.magellanassist.com  
 

HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATIONS (HMOs) 

http://www.michigan.gov/mdcs
http://www.bcbsm.com/


Blue Care Network, Great Lakes 
Blue Care Network, Mid-Michigan 
Blue Care Network, East Michigan-Flint 
Blue Care Network, East Michigan-Saginaw 
Blue Care Network, Southeast Michigan 
(800) 662-6667 
BCN Advantage 
(800) 450-3680 
www.mibcn.com 

Physicians Health Plan of Mid-Michigan 
(Lansing) 
(800) 832-9186 or (517) 364-8500 
www.phpmm.org 
 
 
 
 
 

HealthPlus of Michigan 
Flint (800) 332-9161 
Saginaw  (800) 942-8816 
HealthPlus Senior 
(800) 332-9161 
www.healthplus.com

Priority Health, West 
Priority Health, East 
Priority Health, South 
(800) 446-5674 or (616) 942-1221 
PriorityMedicare 
(888) 389-6648 or (616) 464-8820 
www.priority-health.com

Health Alliance Plan 
(800) 422-4641 or (313) 872-8100 
HAP Senior Plus 
(800) 801-1770 or (313) 664-7015 
www.hap.org

 

STATE OF MICHIGAN 

Office of Retirement Services
P.O. Box 30171 
Lansing, MI 48909 
(800) 381-5111 

Employee Benefits Division
P.O. Box 30002 
Lansing, MI 48909 
(800) 505-5011 

Notice of Creditable Prescription Drug Coverage 
For Medicare-Eligible Employees, Retirees, and Dependents 

Enrolled in the State of Michigan Health Plans 
October 1, 2008 

 
 
This notice is for all current State employees, retirees, and dependents with 
prescription drug coverage under a health plan offered by the State of Michigan 
[including the State Health Plan PPO, Medicare Plus Blue Group and approved 
Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs)] who are Medicare-eligible or will become 
Medicare-eligible within the next 12 months. 

IF YOU ARE NOT MEDICARE-ELIGIBLE AND WILL NOT BECOME MEDICARE-ELIGIBLE IN THE 
NEXT 12 MONTHS, YOU MAY DISREGARD THIS NOTICE. 

 
 
If you are eligible for Medicare, you can enroll in a Medicare Part D prescription drug 
plan (Part D Plan) when you first become eligible for Medicare and each year 
thereafter between November 15 and December 31.  All Part D Plans provide at least 
a standard level of coverage set by Medicare.  You must decide whether to enroll in a 
Part D Plan or keep your State Health Plan prescription drug coverage.  This notice 
gives important information to help you decide: 
 
1. The State of Michigan has determined that the prescription drug coverage 
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provided under its health plans is, on average for all plan participants, expected 
to pay out at least as much as the standard Medicare prescription drug coverage 
and is, therefore, considered creditable coverage. 

 
2. Because the prescription drug coverage under the State health plans is 

creditable coverage, you can keep your State Health Plan prescription drug 
coverage; you do not have to enroll in a Part D Plan.   

 
3. If you decide to enroll in a Part D Plan, you will not have to pay a penalty to 

enroll for Part D Plan coverage, unless you do not join the Part D Plan within 63 
days after your State health plan prescription drug coverage ends.   

 
4. Your current State Health Plan coverage pays for other health expenses 

(hospitalizations, doctor visits, etc.) in addition to prescription drugs.  You will still 
be eligible to receive these other benefits if you choose to enroll in a Part D Plan. 

 
5. If you decide to enroll in a Part D Plan, your prescription drug coverage under 

the State health plan will stop and we cannot guarantee that you will be 
eligible to restore coverage if you later discontinue your Part D Plan.   

 
6. You do not need to take any action if you wish to continue your 

prescription drug coverage under your current State health plan. 
 

Please keep this Notice.  If you enroll in a new Part D Plan approved by 
Medicare, you may be required to provide a copy of this Notice to avoid paying 
a higher premium amount.   

 
 

 
This Notice of Creditable Coverage is provided by the Michigan Civil Service 
Commission, Employee Benefits Division, P.O. Box 30002, Lansing, MI 48909. 
 
For questions regarding this notice only (and not general Medicare information), 
please call the MI HR Service Center at (517) 335-0529 or (877) 766-6447 or TDD 
for the hearing impaired (517) 241-8046.   You will receive this notice annually.  You 
also may request a copy from the Employee Benefits Division or print a copy of this 
notice from the Employee Benefits section of the Michigan Civil Service Commission 
website at www.michigan.gov/mdcs.  
 
 

WHERE TO GET MORE INFORMATION ABOUT MEDICARE PART D: 
 
More detailed information about Medicare plans that offer prescription drug coverage 
is in the “Medicare & You” handbook. You will get a copy of the handbook in the mail 
every year from Medicare.  You may also be contacted directly by Medicare 
prescription drug plans. For more information about Medicare prescription drug plans: 
 

1. Visit www.medicare.gov for personalized information.  The “Medicare & 
You” booklet is also available for download on this site. 

 
2. Call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227) or 1-877-486-2048 (TTY). 
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3. Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program for personalized 

help.  Michigan residents may call 1-800-803-7174.  For other states, look 
in the “Medicare & You” handbook for telephone numbers. 

 
 
For people with limited income and resources, extra help paying for Medicare 
prescription drug coverage is available.  Information about this extra help is available 
online from the Social Security Administration (SSA) at www.socialsecurity.gov or by 
phone at 1-800-772-1213 or 1-800-325-0778 (TTY). 
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