

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

BRIAN J. WHISTON STATE SUPERINTENDENT

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR

MEMORANDUM

DATE: January 28, 2016

- TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents Public School Academy Directors
- **FROM:** Kyle L. Guerrant, Deputy Superintendent
- SUBJECT: School Wellness Award

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) announces the launch of the 2016 School Wellness Award. The award encourages Michigan schools to promote physical activity, healthy eating, and tobacco-free lifestyles for students and staff. As part of the Michigan Health and Wellness 4 x 4 Initiative, the Michigan School Wellness Award recognizes and applauds schools working to create healthier school environments. Schools statewide are encouraged to create healthy school environments by establishing School Health Teams, completing the Healthy School Action Tools (HSAT), and implementing sustainable policy and environmental changes. The School Wellness Award will recognize schools committed to increasing student achievement with a healthier school community.

Award winning schools will be recognized during a ceremony at the state capitol in May 2016. Award winning schools will also receive, depending on award level, a display item to acknowledge their accomplishment.

The MDHHS, in collaboration with the Michigan Department of Education, United Dairy Industry of Michigan, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, Michigan Action for Healthy Kids, and the Michigan Health and Wellness Education Workgroup, invite schools to apply for the award by April 20, 2016. The online application can be found at http://swa.mihealthtools.org along with additional information about the award and creating healthy school environments.

Questions may be directed to Karen Krabill Yoder at MDHHS at <u>yoderk@michigan.gov</u> or 517-335-8908.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

JOHN C. AUSTIN – PRESIDENT • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – VICE PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • PAMELA PUGH – TREASURER LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY – NASBE DELEGATE • KATHLEEN N. STRAUS EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER • RICHARD ZEILE