

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

BRIAN J. WHISTON STATE SUPERINTENDENT

RICK SNYDER Governor

MEMORANDUM

- DATE: December 14, 2017
- **TO:** Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents Public School Academy Directors
- **FROM:** Susan Broman, Deputy Superintendent
- **SUBJECT:** Grant Opportunity for the 2018-2019 21st Century Community Learning Centers Grant Program

The Michigan Department of Education is pleased to announce the 21st Century Community Learning Centers (21st CCLC) grant program opportunity. The purpose of the 21st CCLC grant program is to create community learning centers for those times when school is not in session. Programs must provide students with academic enrichment opportunities as well as additional activities designed to complement their regular academic program. These funds will be awarded through a competitive process to Local Education Agencies (LEAs), Community-Based Organizations (CBOs), Faith-based Organizations (FBO), and other public or private entities, or a consortium of these entities to provide comprehensive community learning center services.

A Notice of Intent to Apply is required no later than January 24, 2018 to allow Michigan Department of Education staff to provide login and access information to the online application. Submission of this notice is a prerequisite for this application. However, it does not obligate the organization to submit an application.

Attendance at the Request for Proposal (RFP) Technical Assistance Workshop on January 31, 2018 is strongly suggested to determine if your organization qualifies for the grant program and to better understand all existing/new/revised aspects of the RFP.

Links for the required Notice of Intent to Apply and registration for the RFP Technical assistance workshop and additional information regarding the 21st CCLC grant program can be found at <u>www.michigan.gov/21stcclc</u>.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – CO-PRESIDENT • RICHARD ZEILE – CO-PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER NIKKI SNYDER – NASBE DELEGATE • PAMELA PUGH LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY • EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER