

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

GRETCHEN WHITMER
GOVERNOR

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: December 16, 2021

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Kyle L. Guerrant, Deputy Superintendent

Finance and Operations

SUBJECT: 35g – Innovative Community Library Grants

The Michigan Department of Education is announcing a grant to eligible school districts that have established innovative community libraries. Section 35g of the state school aid act (MCL 388.1635g) provides a total of \$1 million in competitive funding to be split among 20 grant awards. To be eligible, a district must have an established innovative community library that meets all of the following:

- The library provides for the engagement and connection of readers.
- The library provides for resources that are used to further reading skills.
- The library provides for the involvement of community volunteers and donations.

In addition, an eligible school district may partner with an existing library to provide an innovative community library and, for the purpose of this grant, an innovative community library does not need to be in a physical building.

Grants will be awarded in the following manner: 2 first-place grant awards, 2 second-place grant awards, 2 third-place grant awards, 2 fourth-place grant awards, 2 fifth-place grant awards, 2 sixth-place grant awards, 2 seventh-place grant awards, 2 eighth-place grant awards, 2 ninth-place grant awards, and 2 tenth-place grant awards.

The application is now open and will remain open until Tuesday, March 15, 2022. The application can be found at this <u>link</u>.

Questions regarding this grant should be directed to Shannon White at WhiteS29@michigan.gov.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance Confederation of Michigan Tribal Education Directors

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – PRESIDENT • PAMELA PUGH – VICE PRESIDENT TIFFANY D. TILLEY – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER JUDITH PRITCHETT – NASBE DELEGATE • ELLEN COGEN LIPTON NIKKI SNYDER • JASON STRAYHORN