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Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate

Facts-At-A-Glance:

> The Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate became available starting January
1, 2017

» Valid for up to 5 years and recognizes completion of an approved Teacher Leader
program or achieving National Board certification through the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards

» Recognizes highly effective annual evaluation ratings*

> Intended to be an indication of an educator’s advanced skills and training in
master teaching and/or teacher leadership

> Can be applied for at any time after receiving the Professional Teaching Certificate
(or even after the Professional Certificate’s expiration), as long as the
requirements have been met

» Education-related professional learning is not required for the initial Advanced
Professional Teaching Certificate, but are required for all subsequent renewals

» School districts approach assignments and benefits associated with the certificate
differently; therefore, we encourage you to talk with your school and district
leaders about your district’s approach

Requirements:

1. A Professional Teaching Certificate
2. Completion of an approved Michigan Teacher Leader program or certification
through the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards
3. Teacher Leader or National Board designation must be noted on the certificate
prior to submitting application for an Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate
4. Highly effective ratings for 3 out of the 5 most recent end-of-school-year annual
evaluations under MCL 380.1249%*
5. No ineffective ratings within the 5 most recent end-of-school-year annual
evaluations under MCL 380.1249%*
*For additional information on educator evaluations and ratings, please visit the
educator evaluations website or email questions to MDE-EdEvals@michigan.gov.

Application for Advanced Professional Certificate

» Itis also important to verify that the appropriate effectiveness ratings were
imported from the Registry of Education Personnel, database the schools use to
report educator effectiveness ratings
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» Questions regarding the ratings that are viewable (or not viewable) in an
individual’s Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) account should
be directed to the employing school or school district

> Once the requirements for the Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate have
been met, application is made through the MOECS.

Additional Information

Costs associated with obtaining an Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate
The National Board Teaching Certificate Programs and Teacher Leader programs are fee-
based programs. Additionally, the certificate has a state-issued application fee and five-
year renewal fees of $210.

Permanent, Life or Continuing Certificate Holders

Holders of these certificates types may select to obtain the Advanced Professional
Teaching Certificate. However, unlike the Permanent, Life or Continuing certificates, this
certificate requires criteria for renewal every five years. Obtaining this certificate will put
the holder on the renewal track requiring professional learning hours every five years.

Preschool or Nonpublic School Teacher Evaluations

Michigan’s educator evaluation law (MCL 380.1249) requires an evaluation for “an
individual who has a valid Michigan teaching certificate or authorization; who is
employed, or contracted for, by a school district, intermediate school district, or public
school academy; and who is assigned... to deliver direct instruction to pupils in any of
grades K to 12 as a teacher of record.” An individual must receive an evaluation and be
rated as described above to meet the eligibility requirement to apply for the Advanced
Professional Certificate.

In order to enable teachers who are not required to be evaluated under MCL 380.1249 to
qualify for the Advanced Professional Certificate, employers (including nonpublic schools
and early childhood settings) may opt-in to the requirements of educator evaluation law
to provide annual year-end evaluation labels to all certificate holders. If an employer
does not opt-in to the requirements of MCL 380.1249 for teachers who do not fall under
this law, those teachers will not be able to meet the eligibility requirements to apply for
the Advanced Professional Certificate, and will need to continue to renew their
professional certificate.

Multiple Ratings in a Single Year

The legal language for progressing to an Advanced Professional Certificate states that (in
addition to other criteria) an individual must be “...rated as highly effective ...for 3 out of
the 5 most recent school years [and]...has not been rated ineffective ...within the 5 most
recent school years.” An educator will not be able to progress to the Advanced
Professional Certificate if he/she has an ineffective rating. Put simply, the ratings defaults
to the lower rating.

National Board Certification
Additional information regarding National Board Certification and how it is recognized in
Michigan is available in this guidance document.
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