

# STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR SHEILA A. ALLES
INTERIM STATE SUPERINTENDENT

### **MEMORANDUM**

**DATE:** May 10, 2018

**TO:** Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

**Public School Academy Directors** 

FROM: Venessa A. Keesler, Ph.D., Deputy Superintendent

Division of Educator, Student, and School Support

**SUBJECT:** Alternative Education and Innovative Programs (Hours and Days)

Waivers 2018-19 Application Process and 2017-18 Required Report

The State School Aid Act, Section 101(9) [MCL 388.1701], permits the State Superintendent to waive the minimum number of hours and days of pupil instruction for alternative education programs or other innovative programs approved by the Michigan Department of Education (MDE). This waiver can only be granted for alternative education or innovative programs and is not intended for individual students. The State Superintendent will consider applications for waivers of hours for programs that will operate for less than the required 1,098 hours and/or less than the required 180 days during the 2018-19 school year. Before submitting the waiver to operate less than the required 1,098 hours of instruction or less than the required 180 days of instruction, consider very carefully the amount of instruction time needed to deliver the Michigan Merit Curriculum. The waiver application also allows a district to apply for a 50 percent attendance waiver, as indicated in Section 101(3)(h).

This initiative aligns with the Michigan Department of Education Top 10 in 10 Years Goal #2, which states, "Implement, with strong district and building leadership, high-quality instruction in every classroom through a highly coherent, child-centered instructional model where students meet their self-determined academic and personal goals to their highest potential."

#### 2018-19 Application Information

The application can be found <a href="https://example.com/here">here</a>. Submission instructions are included in the application. Please use the application rubric at <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/alted">www.michigan.gov/alted</a> as a guide when completing the application. The application deadline is August 24, 2018.

#### STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – CO-PRESIDENT • RICHARD ZEILE – CO-PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER NIKKI SNYDER – NASBE DELEGATE • PAMELA PUGH LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY • EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER

Page 2 May 10, 2018

Please be advised that by completing this application and participating in the Waiver of Minimum Number of Hours and Days of Pupil Instruction for Alternative Education or other innovative programs, you agree to comply with the reporting requirements established by the MDE.

## **2017-18 Reporting Requirements**

Any entity that received an Alternative Education/Innovative Programs (Hours and Days) Waiver in 2017-18 must complete the end of the year report. The report can be found <a href="here">here</a>. The reporting deadline is July 27, 2018. **The report is only required for entities that were approved for the waiver in 2017-18.** 

If you have any questions regarding the application or reporting processes for this waiver, please contact Eric Lipinski at 517-241-6895, or email at <a href="mailto:lipinskie@michigan.gov">lipinskie@michigan.gov</a>.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance