

Michigan Department of Education Office of Special Education 2/26/24 – v2

Special Education Teacher Approval Renewals

Michigan Law

Michigan law requires schools to hire and employ properly certified and endorsed teachers (MCL 380.1231 and 380.1233). In order to systematically address needed exceptions to law, the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) has established Administrative Rules in accordance with R 340.1783 of the Michigan Administrative Rules for Special Education (MARSE). A school district or nonpublic school may choose to utilize the alternate route through the approval process as defined in the Federal Regulation 34 C.F.R. § 300.156(c)(2) to employ an individual or teacher who does not hold the appropriate endorsement. This approval process is considered an alternative route in these federal regulations.

Application

All applications for Special Education Teacher Approval renewals are processed and managed through the <u>Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS)</u>. Educators themselves cannot apply for approvals; only the employing school (or contracted third party agency) can apply for approvals to employ non-endorsed individuals. For detailed guidance on applying for approvals, please review the <u>Special Education Teacher Approvals - How They Work</u> document.

Please note the application **must** be approved, and the fee paid, before the approval is considered valid for an assignment.

Renewing a Special Education Teacher Approval:

- 1. Verify the candidate possesses a valid Michigan Teacher Certificate or 1-Year Temporary Teacher Certificate. Special Education Approvals cannot be issued to candidates without a valid Michigan teaching certificate or Temporary Teaching Certificate.
- 2. A minimum of 6 semester credit hours or equivalent hours of credit toward the appropriate endorsement or full approval between August 31 of the current school year and September 1 of the next school year. The Candidate's teacher preparation institution must verify this within the MOECS system for renewal.

- 3. Evidence of enrollment in a state approved teacher preparation program leading to certification. Please review ProPrep for approved programs.
- 4. A fee of \$50 must be paid by the employing district for all continuing temporary approvals (renewals) in teaching positions (see Public Act 339 of the Public Acts of 1988). The continuing temporary approval will be issued once the fee has been paid.
- 5. Continuing temporary approval is not transferable from one school district to the next.
- 6. An approval shall not be granted for more than 3 years, but may be renewed up to 2 times for the same placement.

Additional Information

To better understand the designed uses and the differences between approvals, please reference the <u>Special Education Approvals Website</u> and guidance documents. For options outside of approvals, such as permits, please reference the <u>Special Education Assignments</u> guidance document or the <u>permits and placement</u> page.

Contact

For more information contact the MDE Office of Special Education:

608 W. Allegan Street Lansing, MI 48933

E-Mail: MDE-OSE@michigan.gov